Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWM 16 problem


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Birdman79

Birdman79

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2007

Posted 12 June 2011 - 11:34 PM

Ok ,i have a customer whos swm 16 switch keeps blowing out his 8way swm splitters.He has 15 tuners ,13 hd ,and 1 hd dvr.all H/HR 24 series.

His power inserter comes off its own output from the switch,then you have 2 8 way spliter,1 from each output from multiswitch.System is grounded inside to
a copper strand inside of house.Any other suggestions out there to keep it from happening again

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,556 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 13 June 2011 - 04:01 AM

Possible electric trouble, Over A/C over voltage of the PI? (suggestions)

1.Test the Circuit with a Volt/Ohmn meter

2. Test the Grd -Where does the Copper "strand" go if into the A/C panel not correct.

3. Have the customer put the PI on a Ups
"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,864 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 June 2011 - 06:56 AM

Ok ,i have a customer whos swm 16 switch keeps blowing out his 8way swm splitters.He has 15 tuners ,13 hd ,and 1 hd dvr.all H/HR 24 series.

His power inserter comes off its own output from the switch,then you have 2 8 way spliter,1 from each output from multiswitch.System is grounded inside to
a copper strand inside of house.Any other suggestions out there to keep it from happening again

:confused:
If the PI is connected to the power only connector, there isn't any DC on SWiM #1 & #2 [from the SWiM].
What do you mean by "blowing out splitters"? :confused:
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 13 June 2011 - 07:34 AM

:confused:
If the PI is connected to the power only connector, there isn't any DC on SWiM #1 & #2 [from the SWiM].
What do you mean by "blowing out splitters"? :confused:


was wondering too, wonder about that ground going to strand inside of house. shouldn't it go to the actual house ground?
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#5 OFFLINE   Birdman79

Birdman79

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2007

Posted 13 June 2011 - 07:43 AM

The guy gets sfss on 1 or 2 of his hd boxes.So the tech goes out and replaces the splitters ,and the the problem is fixed for a bit then its out after a week or 2.

#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,864 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 June 2011 - 07:46 AM

The guy gets sfss on 1 or 2 of his hd boxes.So the tech goes out and replaces the splitters ,and the the problem is fixed for a bit then its out after a week or 2.

Then the installer is chasing other problems and "I bet" the splitters he's removing have no defect.
There is much more information needed to try to suggest what the real problem/cause is.
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,864 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 June 2011 - 08:32 AM

He has 15 tuners ,13 hd ,and 1 hd dvr.all H/HR 24 series.

This seems fairly straight forward, but make sure the output that has the DVR doesn't also have seven other tuners connected.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...