Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

h24 doesn't have whole home DVR as a menu option


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Awl910

Awl910

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2011

Posted 13 June 2011 - 11:41 PM

Frustrating! I have 2 hd DVRs connected to whdvr service and they see each other and share programming just fine. I purchased 2 H24 hd receivers off amazon and activated them tonight with DTV. I was told no deca's required as they are built in. Both say connected to the Internet when I check my network connection, but the whole home DVr option does not show up on the setup menu! I've tried resetting the receivers, resetting the older DVRs, resending authorizations, etc. Im at a loss....could it be the firmware is out of date? Software says 0x5703, last updated on 2/12. Seems pretty recent.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,028 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 13 June 2011 - 11:50 PM

Call DTV back and tell 'em Whole-Home is not activated.
DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR24-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#3 OFFLINE   Awl910

Awl910

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2011

Posted 13 June 2011 - 11:55 PM

Thanks, they said it was activated on my account and the other dvrs recognize that whole home service is authorized, it's just the new h24 machines that don't even have it as an option on the menu.

#4 OFFLINE   thedamaja

thedamaja

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2009

Posted 14 June 2011 - 06:54 AM

I recently had an H24 installed that wasn't connecting either. Turned out there was a clear plastic plug stuck in the Ethernet jack.

When I removed that and restarted the receiver everything worked correctly.

#5 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 14 June 2011 - 07:25 AM

you know I never would have thought about that.
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#6 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,996 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 14 June 2011 - 10:10 AM

The clear plug doesn't do anything. Whole-home won't show up on the menu until the receiver has been authorized for it. Call and have the CSR send an authorization to the receivers.

#7 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,988 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 14 June 2011 - 10:54 AM

Force a software update first (reboot receiver, hit 0 2 4 6 8 on startup screen and it should download the software). Then resend authorization to the H24s. Make sure there isn't any ethernet cables plugged into the ethernet ports on them (the blank plugs should be fine though unless there is an actual problem with the ethernet jack).
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#8 OFFLINE   Awl910

Awl910

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2011

Posted 14 June 2011 - 10:59 AM

Problem solved. Let it go overnight and it must have updated the software or something. Today the whole home is on the h24 menu and it's working fine.

#9 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 14 June 2011 - 11:28 AM

Sometimes it just takes a little bit before the receiver gets the the authorization.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#10 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,679 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 14 June 2011 - 12:29 PM

.... last updated on 2/12. Seems pretty recent.


I'll say! :eek2:

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#11 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,679 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 14 June 2011 - 12:33 PM

I recently had an H24 installed that wasn't connecting either. Turned out there was a clear plastic plug stuck in the Ethernet jack.

When I removed that and restarted the receiver everything worked correctly.


That's just a dust cover - putting it back in can only help, not hurt. There is no sort of switch on that piece plastic to let the DVR know it's there.

What happened for you was just coincidence.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#12 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,679 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 14 June 2011 - 12:37 PM

Sometimes it just takes a little bit before the receiver gets the the authorization.

- Merg


For others looking at this post with a similar issue, I believe you can send a re-authorization signal from your account on D*'s web site rather than call if you find that more convenient.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#13 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 14 June 2011 - 07:26 PM

For others looking at this post with a similar issue, I believe you can send a re-authorization signal from your account on D*'s web site rather than call if you find that more convenient.


You can do it from your on-line account, however, the authorization that that CSRs can do is different and sometimes will work when the on-line authorization does not.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





Protected By... spam firewall...And...