Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

3D Channels


  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   elove

elove

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2007

Posted 17 June 2011 - 10:10 AM

I just got a new Panasonic ST30 3D TV. I tried to watch 3net last night and the 3D picture was blurry. My 3D glasses were turned on, as a matter of fact,
I watched Avatar via the 3D bluray in 3D with no problems, so this leads me to believe their is something wrong the the Directv receiver and not my TV.

Any thoughts!

P.S. The other 3D channel was blurry also.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,600 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 17 June 2011 - 11:16 AM

You might want to review this thread.
http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=182213

Oh! I see you have!
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   mrsdrgn

mrsdrgn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2010

Posted 17 June 2011 - 11:25 AM

I think your tv is not compatible with Directv. Check out their 3D support.
http://www.directv.c...ooternavtype=-1

#4 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,234 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 17 June 2011 - 11:31 AM

He said in another thread he has a HR20 STB, those don't support 3D.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#5 OFFLINE   paakoridge

paakoridge

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 140 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2007

Posted 20 June 2011 - 10:44 AM

I just ordered a 55" Vizio 3D TV. I inquired of DirecTV if my HR22-100 would work for the 3D or would I need an HR24 or newer; they said that the HR22 will work. Does anyone have specific experience with the various HR receivers and 3D that would support or refute the DirecTV tech assertion?
Thanks.

#6 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,234 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 20 June 2011 - 10:47 AM

I've tried a HR21, HR23, HR24 and H21 on one or more 3D sets and they all have worked.

What some folks have had problems with is ESPN 3D since it uses 720p in a side by side format which some TV's have a problem with. Also some AVR's introduce problems if you route the signal through them, route the HDMI cable directly to the TV and it fixes that problem.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#7 OFFLINE   tacua

tacua

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2008

Posted 20 June 2011 - 09:27 PM

What is the resolution used for Dtv 3d channels #103 and 107,1080i or 1080p? Thanks for any reply

#8 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 20 June 2011 - 09:30 PM

I dont have 3D, but since DirecTv does not transmit anything is 1080p, I would assume its 1080i. What light is lit up on your receiver when you tune to it?

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#9 OFFLINE   tacua

tacua

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2008

Posted 20 June 2011 - 09:43 PM

Just the 1080i light,but I thought 3d was 1080p

#10 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 20 June 2011 - 09:51 PM

Just the 1080i light,but I thought 3d was 1080p


On Demand 3D might be. Not saying they couldnt broadcast 1080p, they just dont do it now.
Actually, I believe the actual resolution is 1/2 of what is transmitted, since they need to show both "eyes" in the same bandwidth.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#11 OFFLINE   mrsdrgn

mrsdrgn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2010

Posted 21 June 2011 - 04:35 AM

I have Directv 3D and my Samsung tv shows all the 3D channels are in 1080i.

#12 OFFLINE   tacua

tacua

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2008

Posted 21 June 2011 - 09:38 AM

Thanks,understood its 1080i for all 3 channels

#13 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,234 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 21 June 2011 - 09:39 AM

ESPN 3D, channel 106, is 720p in side-by-side format which some TV's can't handle.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#14 OFFLINE   Mr_A1

Mr_A1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 21 June 2011 - 09:53 AM

RAD is correct; all the channels are broadcast in 1080i except ESPN 3D, which is broadcast in 720p. My TV verified this when I checked the channels. My HR24-100 shows that 720p, 1080i, 1080p/24, 1080p/30, and 1080p/60 are the only supported 3D resolutions.

Setup:
HR44-500(CE 0x0a4a direct connected from Slimline-3SWM Dish & very limited Internet at my current location.

Connection: HR44 -HDMI-> Yamaha YSP-3000 -HDMI-> Samsung 4K UHD JU6500 TV.


#15 OFFLINE   Dr_J

Dr_J

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2007

Posted 16 July 2011 - 09:04 PM

I tried to watch ESPN 3D tonight, and I got an error message saying that my TV doesn't support 720p resolution (error code 797). Well, it most certainly does. It supports every single resolution from 480p to 1080p. It's a 2011 LG plasma 3D TV, and the receiver is a HR24-500, which I just got today. How can this TV possibly not be compatible? All the other 3D channels work.

#16 OFFLINE   Satelliteracer

Satelliteracer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,042 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2006

Posted 16 July 2011 - 09:14 PM

I tried to watch ESPN 3D tonight, and I got an error message saying that my TV doesn't support 720p resolution (error code 797). Well, it most certainly does. It supports every single resolution from 480p to 1080p. It's a 2011 LG plasma 3D TV, and the receiver is a HR24-500, which I just got today. How can this TV possibly not be compatible? All the other 3D channels work.


Are you using an AV Receiver? Some AV receivers for 3D do not support 720p in 3D. Just asking
DIRECTV employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#17 OFFLINE   Dr_J

Dr_J

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2007

Posted 17 July 2011 - 08:07 AM

Are you using an AV Receiver? Some AV receivers for 3D do not support 720p in 3D. Just asking


Yes. Pioneer Elite VSX-31.

http://www.pioneerel...eceivers/VSX-31

#18 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,369 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 17 July 2011 - 08:58 AM

Yes. Pioneer Elite VSX-31.

http://www.pioneerel...eceivers/VSX-31


Try bypassing the Pioneer with HDMI to the TV and optical or coax for audio. You won't lose sound quality.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#19 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,234 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 17 July 2011 - 09:01 AM

Yes. Pioneer Elite VSX-31.

http://www.pioneerel...eceivers/VSX-31


It's the Pioneer, pull it out of the signal path and it will work. I tried two different Pioneers, one being an Elite, both 3D compatible and both failed. Someone said they contacted Pioneer, they said they knew what the problem was and will fix it in 2011 models but won't in the 2010's.

Just use the coax digital audio output from the HR24, and HDMI directly to the TV, you're not going to miss anything quality wise by doing that.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#20 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,369 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 17 July 2011 - 09:08 AM

It's the Pioneer, pull it out of the signal path and it will work. I tried two different Pioneers, one being an Elite, both 3D compatible and both failed. Someone said they contacted Pioneer, they said they knew what the problem was and will fix it in 2011 models but won't in the 2010's.

Just use the coax digital audio output from the HR24, and HDMI directly to the TV, you're not going to miss anything quality wise by doing that.


Do we have a list of 3D friendly AV receivers here? I'll be upgrading my Yamaha soon.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#21 OFFLINE   FHSPSU67

FHSPSU67

    CE'er & Retired Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,560 posts
  • LocationWindber, PA
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 17 July 2011 - 09:12 AM

Do we have a list of 3D friendly AV receivers here? I'll be upgrading my Yamaha soon.

Not a list, but my Denon 1611 is working well with my Panasonic VT25.
Fred
DIRECTV since November 1995

#22 OFFLINE   Dr_J

Dr_J

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2007

Posted 17 July 2011 - 09:30 AM

Thanks for the responses. I upgraded my setup a month and a half ago with a small audiovisual company, and the downside is that I've lost control of everything. All the wires are tightly bound with cable ties, and the expensive, sophisticated universal remote has been programmed to turn the TV and other components on/off and run everything through the receiver. Bypassing the existing wiring with separate HDMI and digital audio wires sounds simple enough, but I just know I'm going to lose some functionality, particularly with the universal remote. Is it worth potentially disrupting a stable, uniform setup and have to add supplemantary wires and an additional remote control to watch a single 3D channel that only broadcasts intermittently when I can watch the same programming in sparkling 2D HD? Nope.

I did some research and found these threads on the DirecTV forums:

http://forums.direct...PostID=10812331

http://forums.direct...rtalPageId=1002

They're all about the incompatibility of these receivers to decode 720p side-by-side (SbS) 3D, which is not industry-standard. They also say that DirecTV could issue a firmware update to convert 720p SbS to industry-standard 1080i SbS and make the channel compatible with all receivers and TV's. If there is a firmware update, great. If not, I'm not going to lose sleep over ESPN 3D.

#23 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,234 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 17 July 2011 - 10:30 AM

Do we have a list of 3D friendly AV receivers here? I'll be upgrading my Yamaha soon.


Not that I know of, Denon AVR-891 works fine for me.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#24 OFFLINE   Satelliteracer

Satelliteracer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,042 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2006

Posted 17 July 2011 - 10:40 AM

Do we have a list of 3D friendly AV receivers here? I'll be upgrading my Yamaha soon.


Denon AR-1911 works great here.
DIRECTV employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#25 OFFLINE   Satelliteracer

Satelliteracer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,042 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2006

Posted 17 July 2011 - 10:41 AM

Yes. Pioneer Elite VSX-31.

http://www.pioneerel...eceivers/VSX-31


Doesn't work with 720

Here's the thing....don't go swapping it out just yet. Have some faith and just "trust me" on this one for a little while....a few months.
DIRECTV employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




Protected By... spam firewall...And...