Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

setting up a vip612 to a single dish need help


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rjphillips

rjphillips

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2011

Posted 23 June 2011 - 04:42 PM

I have no clue on where to find sat 119 or how to set anything up on my receiver. Can anyone help me with this?:(

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,691 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 23 June 2011 - 05:43 PM

Moving to the 612 forum where people who might be able to help can see your post.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#3 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 23 June 2011 - 05:57 PM

www.dishpointer.com is your friend. So is the receiver manual if you have one. If not, download it here.

Or just call Dish and have a tech come set it up for you.

#4 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 566 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 23 June 2011 - 06:29 PM

www.dishpointer.com is your friend. So is the receiver manual if you have one. If not, download it here.

Or just call Dish and have a tech come set it up for you.


^ I agree with dishpointer.com, it's very helpful.

To the OP: I know you said single dish, so I'm assuming you mean a Dish300 (only picks up one satellite). If you post your zip code, I can get the angles for you as well. Do you know what kind of LNB you have?

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#5 OFFLINE   rjphillips

rjphillips

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2011

Posted 27 June 2011 - 08:17 PM

^ I agree with dishpointer.com, it's very helpful.

To the OP: I know you said single dish, so I'm assuming you mean a Dish300 (only picks up one satellite). If you post your zip code, I can get the angles for you as well. Do you know what kind of LNB you have?

I have an oval dish. Is that a dish 300? On my vip 612 what do I set the dish type at? My zip is 56586

#6 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 566 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 27 June 2011 - 08:24 PM

Dish 300's are normally round. You probably have a 1000.X (.2 or .4)

How many "eyes" does the dish have

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#7 OFFLINE   rjphillips

rjphillips

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2011

Posted 27 June 2011 - 08:31 PM

What are eyes?

#8 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 566 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 27 June 2011 - 08:33 PM

1000.2 lnb
[attach]25876[/attach]


1000.4 lnb
[attach]25875[/attach]


Does the LNB look anything like these? When I say "eyes" I mean the LNB's white plastic covered part (e.g., the 1000.2 has 3 "eyes")

What shows up under "Switch" in menu-6-1-1-check switch after you run the test on that screen?

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#9 OFFLINE   rjphillips

rjphillips

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2011

Posted 27 June 2011 - 08:35 PM

no it has 1 lnb

#10 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 566 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 27 June 2011 - 08:40 PM

Probably a dish 300 then. dishpointer.com shows the following for zip 56586

Elevation: 32.1°
Azimuth (true): 210.6°
Azimuth (magn.): 208.0°

Keep in mind that only having 1 sat installed will not get you all of your channels

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#11 OFFLINE   rjphillips

rjphillips

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2011

Posted 27 June 2011 - 08:42 PM

it shows the sat i am on and the signal. Which is not very much.

#12 OFFLINE   rjphillips

rjphillips

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2011

Posted 27 June 2011 - 08:44 PM

I was only wanting 119.

#13 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 566 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 27 June 2011 - 08:44 PM

Select check switch on the right, then test.

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#14 OFFLINE   rjphillips

rjphillips

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2011

Posted 27 June 2011 - 08:56 PM

I do an get about 11 on the meter. Maybe 18 but that is the best.

#15 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 566 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 27 June 2011 - 09:21 PM

You should be should be shooting for 60-70 (Fargo, ND DMA averages are in the 70's)

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#16 OFFLINE   rjphillips

rjphillips

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2011

Posted 28 June 2011 - 04:19 AM

i know but I can't get an thing better than 18. That is why I figured I had something on the receiver set wrong.

#17 OFFLINE   rjphillips

rjphillips

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2011

Posted 28 June 2011 - 05:15 AM

]This is the dish I have It has 2 hook ups on the lnb

Attached Thumbnails

  • dish.jpg


#18 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 28 June 2011 - 08:29 AM

OK, obviously that is a DirecTV dish, but one that old I believe works like Dish Legacy equipment, so I think it should technically work. Someone else correct me if I'm wrong.

That being said, there are no settings on the receiver that will affect your signal strength. Either your dish is not aimed correctly or there is something blocking it's Line-Of-Sight (LOS).

Start by making sure the mast is plumb (level) in two directions. If it's not level than the dish settings are useless. Do you have a compass to confirm the direction it needs to aim? Are there any trees or other obstructions in that direction?

#19 OFFLINE   rjphillips

rjphillips

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2011

Posted 28 June 2011 - 09:18 AM

I put my compass on the dish this morning and at 208-210 I picked up sat 110?
I will check the post.

#20 OFFLINE   rjphillips

rjphillips

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2011

Posted 28 June 2011 - 09:39 AM

checked the post is looks great. I can put a meter on it and it shows a sat but when I check it inside I get no more than 18.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...