Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

International Cricket 2012-13


  • Please log in to reply
512 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   tellhigh

tellhigh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2009

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:10 AM

Nothing worked. Currently chatting with the CSR.

#127 OFFLINE   tellhigh

tellhigh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2009

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:42 AM

The initial rep was giving me crap that i dont have 129 sat, then i had to tell him i have Super dish. They transfered me to advance CSR,

"The engineers are aware of the issue and are working on getting it resolve now, I apologize for the inconvenience."

#128 OFFLINE   Pagali

Pagali

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: May 13, 2004

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:14 AM

The initial rep was giving me crap that i dont have 129 sat, then i had to tell him i have Super dish. They transfered me to advance CSR,

"The engineers are aware of the issue and are working on getting it resolve now, I apologize for the inconvenience."


Yes, that's what I was told by advanced tech support also, as I said in post #122, above. :)

#129 OFFLINE   prabs24

prabs24

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2011

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:32 AM

It worked for me. I tuned in at 6PM CDT as the TV Guide said for the repeat of the opening ceremony. But they showed only the last 30 minutes of the ceremony. But it was in HD. I think I got lucky with 476 then!

#130 OFFLINE   tellhigh

tellhigh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2009

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:37 AM

Well for now it is going to be on Neo.

#131 OFFLINE   rajmarie

rajmarie

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2012

Posted 04 April 2012 - 02:24 PM

Everybody who receives signal from TP32 on Sat 118 should be able to see channel 476 in their guide now. Please verify and check if you guys can watch the IPL in HD on 476.

#132 OFFLINE   Pagali

Pagali

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: May 13, 2004

Posted 04 April 2012 - 04:14 PM

Everybody who receives signal from TP32 on Sat 118 should be able to see channel 476 in their guide now. Please verify and check if you guys can watch the IPL in HD on 476.


476 is now showing up in my guide, but it doesn't show I've paid for it. If I try to select it, it tells me I need to subscribe.

[formerly Mary H]

#133 OFFLINE   satroy

satroy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 655 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2009

Posted 04 April 2012 - 07:05 PM

Ultimately I got channel 476 and subscribed HD package. I am watching now the replay on HD. Note that I don't subscribe any american HD package. I have only Hindi mega pack.

#134 OFFLINE   rajmarie

rajmarie

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2012

Posted 05 April 2012 - 06:21 AM

Ultimately I got channel 476 and subscribed HD package. I am watching now the replay on HD. Note that I don't subscribe any american HD package. I have only Hindi mega pack.


Congrats man. Enjoy ipl & watch kkr lift the ipl trophy this year in HD.

As I mentioned before....you or anybody else don't need to sub to any specific pack for ordering HD ppv from dish.

#135 OFFLINE   Pagali

Pagali

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: May 13, 2004

Posted 05 April 2012 - 10:17 AM

Today's game is delayed because of rain, already 2 hours late. Just curious... since there only seems to be one SD PPV channel and one HD, what are they going to do on the days when there are 2 games right after one another? (one at 4 PM IST, one at 8 PM IST)

This one could very easily end more than 4 hours from the scheduled starting time...

ETA: They just announced the game will start at 10:30 IST, and each team will play 12 overs.

Edited by Pagali, 05 April 2012 - 10:50 AM.


#136 OFFLINE   gireeshbhat

gireeshbhat

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 06 April 2012 - 09:32 PM

Watching the IPL in HD on PPV without any ads (in between overs or on half the screen during overs) is worth every penny of $59.99

If I watch that State Farm desi ad once more I am surely going to puke.:lol:

#137 OFFLINE   dilchahtahai

dilchahtahai

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 179 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2009

Posted 07 April 2012 - 06:19 PM

Only one issue though. I have 2 receiver and 2 different TV SET and I can watch IPL PPV only in 1 receiver. Dish Network has stupid contract that ppv event can be only transmitted to 1 receiver. What an idiotic thing. Person cant watch PPV in 2 room? WTF.

#138 OFFLINE   satroy

satroy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 655 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2009

Posted 08 April 2012 - 05:26 PM

I have asked willow tv about future series broadcast. They replied,
Dear Customer,

We regret for the delayed reply. We are now very pleased to inform you that Willow will broadcast all 76 matches of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2012 season.

We are working working on acquiring the broadcast rights for future series. Kindly keep visiting Willow Tv for the latest updates.

#139 OFFLINE   rwmair

rwmair

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2006

Posted 08 April 2012 - 10:01 PM

Only one issue though. I have 2 receiver and 2 different TV SET and I can watch IPL PPV only in 1 receiver. Dish Network has stupid contract that ppv event can be only transmitted to 1 receiver. What an idiotic thing. Person cant watch PPV in 2 room? WTF.


Take the standard-def output connection from your receiver #1, put it into an RF modulator, and feed it thru the house cable-TV wiring so then you can see the picture from your receiver #1 in any other room where you have a TV and cable-TV outlet on the wall. It will only be in SD, but its better than nothing - indeed, if your TV2 is a SD TV, its better this way. The Dish receivers generally have UHF remotes, so you can control receiver #1 from the other rooms while watching receiver #1.

#140 OFFLINE   Pagali

Pagali

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: May 13, 2004

Posted 10 April 2012 - 08:45 AM

I really don't understand how Dish thinks they can do a decent job of presenting the IPL tournament with only one HD channel. Twice now, that I know of, the early game has been delayed, once from rain and one from an electrical fire in the stadium. So today, for instance, the game starts about 20 minutes late. This makes it run over the scheduled starting time of the next game, 7:20 AM PDT. So they cut off the broadcast at the end of the game, skipping the interviews, summaries, presentations... but the strange thing is, they have yet to start the next scheduled game, and now it's 25+ minutes late too. The channel's just been sitting there with the DishHD logo for quite a while. How inefficient can they get? It worked so much better last year when they had 2 dedicated SD channels.

#141 OFFLINE   satroy

satroy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 655 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2009

Posted 10 April 2012 - 10:20 AM

Cricket is the lowest priority programming in USA on Dish or DirecTV.

#142 OFFLINE   rwmair

rwmair

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2006

Posted 10 April 2012 - 01:03 PM

You also have to assume the people putting the pictures on the air for DISH have no clue about the game, its timing, or schedules. They just open the tap when some pictures come down the line.

At least they didn't switch from the first game (with, say 2 overs to go) to go to the pre-game intros for the second game.

#143 OFFLINE   rwmair

rwmair

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2006

Posted 10 April 2012 - 01:09 PM

Willow website now lists West Indies in England series (mid May thru June) on their "Events" page as upcoming matches that will be viewable online.

No mention of it on the home page, and the Willow TV channel schedules don't go out that far.

#144 OFFLINE   Pagali

Pagali

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: May 13, 2004

Posted 10 April 2012 - 02:11 PM

Question -- is anybody here signed up for the IPL SD PPV? If so, are they also using just one channel? I would consider switching if they are managing that subscription better. HD's nice, but not absolutely required.

#145 OFFLINE   saisport

saisport

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 338 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2010

Posted 10 April 2012 - 03:08 PM

Question -- is anybody here signed up for the IPL SD PPV? If so, are they also using just one channel? I would consider switching if they are managing that subscription better. HD's nice, but not absolutely required.


Yes I do have SD PPV but let me tell you my frustration first of all they did cut the presentation part from first match and they started the second match after the 9th over from first inning so i didnot even watch till 9th over except those Dish PPV with some annoying music.agree with some people that they do not want to present the game in manner but they just want to milk the money from their customer.
really mad :mad:

#146 OFFLINE   Pagali

Pagali

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: May 13, 2004

Posted 10 April 2012 - 03:18 PM

Yes I do have SD PPV but let me tell you my frustration first of all they did cut the presentation part from first match and they started the second match after the 9th over from first inning so i didnot even watch till 9th over except those Dish PPV with some annoying music.agree with some people that they do not want to present the game in manner but they just want to milk the money from their customer.
really mad :mad:


OK, we did get the same treatment then. Really awful business decision.. and obviously not a popular enough item for them to care very much.

How about the Dish Neo Channel? Are they handling overlapping games any differently? (I know they supposedly won't show the finals, but anyway...)

#147 OFFLINE   dilchahtahai

dilchahtahai

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 179 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2009

Posted 10 April 2012 - 10:18 PM

Take the standard-def output connection from your receiver #1, put it into an RF modulator, and feed it thru the house cable-TV wiring so then you can see the picture from your receiver #1 in any other room where you have a TV and cable-TV outlet on the wall. It will only be in SD, but its better than nothing - indeed, if your TV2 is a SD TV, its better this way. The Dish receivers generally have UHF remotes, so you can control receiver #1 from the other rooms while watching receiver #1.


Sorry cant do it that way. 2nd TV in my other room has "separate Dish Receiver". Its because, 2nd TV is also HDTV. I get Neocricket channel in both TV, so I can watch match in SD, but then once you see anything in HD, who would like to see it in SD? :) Its okay, I am not complaining, as long as I can see it in one TV in HD Format. HD just ROCKS !!! I dont see anything in TV if it is not in HD.

#148 OFFLINE   rwmair

rwmair

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2006

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:28 AM

Sorry cant do it that way. 2nd TV in my other room has "separate Dish Receiver". Its because, 2nd TV is also HDTV. I get Neocricket channel in both TV, so I can watch match in SD, but then once you see anything in HD, who would like to see it in SD? :) Its okay, I am not complaining, as long as I can see it in one TV in HD Format. HD just ROCKS !!! I dont see anything in TV if it is not in HD.


I understand - the HD pictures are great, and its tough having cricket just in SD most of the time. I prefer to watch it on my older SD TVs, as the SD picture looks better there than on a HDTV!

As I've said before here, while the 24-hour/7-days cricket channels have some good points, one downside is the chances of cricket mostly in HD anytime soon are close to zero. I'm glad its up for the IPL via PPV - even tho I'm not an IPL fan.

There is new multi-media over coax which Dish uses to send HD pictures from its new Hopper DVR/receiver over the house coax cables to slave receivers in other rooms - but I don't know how you would set this up yourself with older receivers. But perhaps this concept is not far away.

#149 OFFLINE   jmukesh

jmukesh

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Apr 11, 2012

Posted 13 April 2012 - 06:53 AM

Dish Network is not advertising this but they're offering free IPL for all subscribers of any South Asian TV subscribers. Check this link:

go to dish.com 'back slash' redirects 'back slash' promotion 'back slash' ipl

They charge you and then issue the entire credit!!

#150 OFFLINE   negma

negma

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2010

Posted 13 April 2012 - 09:48 AM

T & C:

Free IPL offer: Valid for new DISH service activation with a qualifying South Asian package ($24.99/mo or higher), or existing customer upgrade to Hindi Mega Pack or Hindi Premium Pack, between 3/01/12 and 5/05/12.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...