Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Barebones HTPC For DISH Remote Access


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Jim148

Jim148

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 319 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2004

Posted 27 June 2011 - 01:06 PM

I am just wondering if anybody here is using a barebones HTPC for DISH Remote Access?

Edited by Jim148, 27 June 2011 - 01:06 PM.
Details


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,461 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 27 June 2011 - 01:12 PM

For what purpose?

I'm using my regular iMac...

But, do you mean just to access and set timers?

Or are you talking about for Sling?

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#3 OFFLINE   electro22

electro22

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2009

Posted 27 June 2011 - 03:30 PM

I'm using an Acer Aspire Revo R3610. Specs are here.
This box also runs Boxee software. Great little box, quiet, small, and has HDMI out. Perfect HTPC. It came with Win7 64bit and I'm still running that. You can sometimes find these used for a good price (never-mind eBay as they always sell for too much IMHO). The new version, R3700, is similar. You can find the R3700 refurb'd for $269.

Now, if only Sling had a plugin for boxee!!! :)

#4 OFFLINE   BodyshotsByDan

BodyshotsByDan

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: May 28, 2011

Posted 02 July 2011 - 01:39 AM

Just don't make the HTPC a linux box or you won't be able to sling to it.

Dang them. My laptop and HTPCs are all linux based, as are two of my desktops and all my servers. All slingboxes use imbedded linux, why can't they support linux on the front end?

/end rant :)
Dish Network 2x VIP722k,
1x VIP722, VIP625
Top 250 + HD/Platinum
Dish subscriber for 6+ years,
DirectTV DVRer before that, COX DVRer before that
Original ReplyTV owner, boy I miss that thing.

#5 OFFLINE   Jim148

Jim148

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 319 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2004

Posted 02 July 2011 - 08:25 AM

Thanks for the tip. I hadn't really thought about Linux, but now I know for sure.

#6 OFFLINE   BodyshotsByDan

BodyshotsByDan

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: May 28, 2011

Posted 02 July 2011 - 11:27 PM

Anytime :)

A linux box works Wonderfully for an HTPC setup. usually requires less horsepower to run full 1080p bluray movies, mkv's, etc, and you don't have to buy another M$ license :) (I also have a TechNet account so I get free windows lic's so that isn't a deciding factor for me, but reliability/power consumption/useability is). Works wonderfully as a DVR as well if you want to go that route (considering our dish tuners (and most 3rd party DVRs (TiVo's, cable co. boxes, etc) all run linux that says something).
Dish Network 2x VIP722k,
1x VIP722, VIP625
Top 250 + HD/Platinum
Dish subscriber for 6+ years,
DirectTV DVRer before that, COX DVRer before that
Original ReplyTV owner, boy I miss that thing.




spam firewall