Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

PVR501: Use to record OTA w/out subscription?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   vampirefish

vampirefish

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2004

Posted 27 June 2011 - 05:29 PM

Hi all.. I'm abouts to take the plunge- get rid of Dish and go with internet streaming (Hulu +, Netflix). I was thinking I'd also like to get OTA local channels (if possible in my area). Does anyone know that when I use an antenna and go thru the 501 (owned by be, not leased) if I can use it as a DVR without a Dish subscription? I know you can't do this with leased equipment but not sure about this...
ViP 622 w/ Hitachi 57XWX20B

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,694 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 27 June 2011 - 05:42 PM

No subscription = no recording. The 500 series DVRs won't record anything but off the satellite.

If you want to record OTA - look for the Channelmaster 7000 DVR. This is also the same piece as the Dish DTV PAL DVR.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#3 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,082 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 27 June 2011 - 05:47 PM

Or this one: http://www.solidsign...sku=87440900302

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#4 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,821 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 27 June 2011 - 05:56 PM

Washington can be kind of a sticky wicket when it comes to OTA. You either live in an area where many TV signals are substantially blocked (Seattle) or there aren't any stations at all.

If you live in or near The 'couv, there shouldn't be too much trouble. Anywhere else, it can be iffy.

A heads up on your zip code is pretty much imperative to making a recommendation.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,317 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 June 2011 - 07:10 PM

Or this one: http://www.solidsign...sku=87440900302


cheap one - no second tuner, no TVGOS ...

#6 OFFLINE   vampirefish

vampirefish

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2004

Posted 28 June 2011 - 09:45 AM

Thanks everyone- I'm going to try Hulu + free for a week to see if it's worth it (prior to shutting it all down).
ViP 622 w/ Hitachi 57XWX20B




spam firewall