Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Only getting PCM audio even though DD is set to 'on'


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,174 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 29 June 2011 - 01:15 PM

I noticed today that my 3 week old HR24-100 was only outputting PCM audio on the HD channels. At first I thought it was just the channel (247), but all HD channels I tried were only showing up as PCM on my AV receiver. I then switched inputs and confirmed my AV receiver is working OK as I was able to get DD 5.1 on a source different than D*. I then switched back to D* as the source and played a recorded movie from the HR24 that I know should be in DD but it was still only coming through as PCM.

I know the HR24 was outputting DD when I set it up 3 weeks ago, but I'm not sure when it stopped. The HR24 is connected to my AV receiver via HDMI only - no separate optical cable. I'm rebooting it right now to see if that fixes the problem. If it doesn't, what does that mean? Is the HR24 defective?
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,614 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 June 2011 - 01:22 PM

I had this problem when I changed my AVR.
"As it turned out", there was a setting in the AVR for HDMI that was causing this and reading through the manual sure didn't "jump out" at me that this was it. I messed with it for a long time and finally tried almost every change before I got it to work.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,174 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 29 June 2011 - 01:26 PM

Well the HR24 finished rebooting and now I'm getting DD on the HD channels again as expected. So something got screwed up with the DD output on the HR24. Any ideas what could have happened?
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#4 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,174 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 29 June 2011 - 01:28 PM

I had this problem when I changed my AVR.
"As it turned out", there was a setting in the AVR for HDMI that was causing this and reading through the manual sure didn't "jump out" at me that this was it. I messed with it for a long time and finally tried almost every change before I got it to work.

I've had this AVR for over a year and all was working fine with the my old HR21 and this new HR24 up until today. No changes to the AVR, just the HR24 had a hiccup as the reboot has fixed the problem (at least for now).
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,614 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 June 2011 - 01:28 PM

Any ideas what could have happened?

Nothing helpful :shrug:
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,174 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 29 June 2011 - 01:31 PM

I hope this isn't a sign of a defective HR24. I bought it new from an online retailer as I wanted to be assured of getting an HR24. I really don't want to have to roll the dice with D* in terms of getting a replacement should this prove to be a consistent problem.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#7 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,484 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 29 June 2011 - 02:25 PM

Probably just a "glitch".
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#8 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,174 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 29 June 2011 - 05:28 PM

I hope it's only a glitch. But it just finished rebooting itself about 20 minutes ago. Not sure why it rebooted itself only 4 hours after I rebooted it. That makes me a little worried to be honest. I thought maybe D* forced all of them to reboot to fix the channel change delay issue, but I don't see any other posts about HR2x spontaneously rebooting, nor did my other HR21 reboot, so I don't think that's the cause either.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#9 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,074 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 June 2011 - 06:12 AM

I hope it's only a glitch. But it just finished rebooting itself about 20 minutes ago. Not sure why it rebooted itself only 4 hours after I rebooted it. That makes me a little worried to be honest. I thought maybe D* forced all of them to reboot to fix the channel change delay issue, but I don't see any other posts about HR2x spontaneously rebooting, nor did my other HR21 reboot, so I don't think that's the cause either.


I've been getting random reboots on my 20-700s for a while. Not very often, but it does happen. I did have problems with a 500 turning itself on at odd times. Not rebooting, just turning on. Turned out to be a problem with the external drive. I've never seen an HR do what you have described with the DD 5.1 sound, but have gone thru the same thing VOS has with new AV receivers.

Rich

#10 OFFLINE   HDbruce

HDbruce

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Jun 30, 2007

Posted 30 June 2011 - 07:23 AM

I have my HR20 connected to my Sony receiver through an HDMI switch. Also routed through the switch is a Sony PS3. I've had this setup for years. This spring I ugraded to a Monoprice 5312 matrix hdmi switch. It worked flawlessly and we could watch either the PS3 or HR20 on any of our connected sets simultaneously. Then after 3 days I noticed I wasn't getting DD5.1 from the HR20, although the PS3 continued to work flawlessly. After another day or so there was no HDMI output from the HR20 at all. The PS3 continued to work perfectly. After various power resets I concluded that it was an HDMI interaction between the HR20 and the switch and I suspected the HR20 because the PS3 always worked. The symptoms were always the same--worked for a few days, then lost DD5.1, then lost HDMI altogether. Took the switch out and put the old one back and everything has worked smoothly since. Did find a few hits on the forums about HRxx HDMI implementations being a bit flaky. So....it could be some bad HDMI handshaking between your HR24 and your AV receiver

Edited by HDbruce, 30 June 2011 - 07:28 AM.





spam firewall