Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

3D


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stevies3

Stevies3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 214 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jul 22, 2004

Posted 30 June 2011 - 02:26 PM

Hi,

I'm looking to purcahse a new TV, leaning towards a Samsung 3D LED set..... I have a HR24-500 whicjh I believe is capable of displaying 3D content. My question is, Do I need an HDMI cable between the TV & the HR-24 or can I stay with my current component cables?

-------------------------

DirecTV since 1996

1 x HR44
1 x H24
2 x HR24

3 x RVU
SWM16

AU9-SL3


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,321 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 30 June 2011 - 02:51 PM

You need an HDMI cable to display 3D. Component will not work.

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#3 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,993 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 30 June 2011 - 03:11 PM

If you need to buy a HDMI cable check www.monoprice.com for good reasonably prices ones.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#4 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 30 June 2011 - 04:37 PM

And if you are buying a separate receiver for audio and video switching be careful which one you buy as some do not fully support DirecTV 3D via their internal HDMI switcher. Check out the big 3D thread.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...