Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

VIP612 rebooting


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 04 July 2011 - 09:12 PM

Or you could try a UPS. :)
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 05 July 2011 - 04:39 PM

What specs for the UPS? I had considered one before we moved to the country because in Austin power would just flicker very often. Only went once for a week without power, that's neither here nor there.
A/C is on the other end of the house. I believe the tech drove a copper rod into the ground. Dish is on a low pole because I have a metal roof.
I haven't heard from the dish lady I sent my info to in a PM so maybe they'll come up with something.
Thanks everyone.

#23 OFFLINE   Ortho Stice

Ortho Stice

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2011

Posted 05 July 2011 - 06:00 PM

I am on my fourth vip612 in the last two months...every receiver reboots at least once while I watch the Seattle Mariners on ROOT Sports, ch. 426HD. I have not seen this happen on any other channel since this problem has began (other than the 4 am update check). I'm not claiming that it is due to the channel and not a receiver or a grounding problem, but it is weird.

After the second receiver came and had the same issue, a tech came out...I was told that he checked the outlet and it tested fine. He left us with our third receiver...which had the same problem. A tech I spoke to on the phone said we should buy a "good" ($20+) surge protector because the relationship between the outlet and the receiver had been corrupted and this would fix the problem...Um, no. The following week another tech ordered us yet another 612, after which I asked to be let out of my contract if this one was faulty too. He transferred me to the next tier tech guy, who explained that the tech who came to my house should not have tested the outlet because "they're not electricians". He told me the problem had to be with the outlet and to try a different one. He also said the surge protector advice was no good either. I asked if since the problem was not the receiver I could cancel the one that was just ordered for me 5 minutes ago and he said that was not possible.

Anyway the other outlets don't work either, but the new tech they sent to my house is bringing a 622 to see if it will work. Thanks Dish Network!

#24 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 05 July 2011 - 06:51 PM

There are 4 outlets these have been plugged into. There is one on either side of the TV area and two behind the TV.
I'd like to hear what they tell you.
I just heard from the dish lady, they're talking to techs there on mine.

#25 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 05 July 2011 - 08:27 PM

What specs for the UPS?


APC Back-UPS 550.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#26 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 12 July 2011 - 08:10 PM

Thanks.
No more word from dish lady

#27 OFFLINE   Ortho Stice

Ortho Stice

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2011

Posted 20 July 2011 - 08:24 PM

There are 4 outlets these have been plugged into. There is one on either side of the TV area and two behind the TV.
I'd like to hear what they tell you.
I just heard from the dish lady, they're talking to techs there on mine.


Sorry for the delay...after I talked to the tech on the 5th, I had to call him back on the 14th to ask when they were coming out. He said his boss was supposed to have come out the week before to check it out. The boss called me back at 5 that night, and put me through to customer service while he stayed on the line. He told the customer service lady, to paraphase, "I've got an extremely disgruntled longtime customer here...we've been out to his house numerous times and found no problems. I know the 622 has some issues...is there anyway we can get this guy a 722?" No problem! ...Of course I had to re-up for another 24 months of service. But what's another contract with Dish Network?

A new guy came out on Sunday and hooked the 722. He said "the outlet tested fine." Pretty good for someone who's "not an electrician" (see previous post). I've watched 3 Mariner games since then with nary a flicker. I'm prepared to call this case closed. If anybody has any theories as to why a certain channel could cause random reboots I would love to hear them. West coast bias? Poltergeist? Good luck to anybody with these issues!

#28 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 21 July 2011 - 09:01 PM

Dish replaced it with a 722. The 612 always seemed to do it at the worst times. Oscars best picture goes to... penalty kicks for women's world cup. Announcing bin laden was dead. Etc.

#29 OFFLINE   SparkynMS

SparkynMS

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: May 30, 2011

Posted 07 August 2011 - 06:36 PM

I had the same issue for 8 months. Went thru 4 612's. Finally got them to replace it with a 722 with no contract extension and no $10/mo price increase for the 1st year.

#30 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 11 August 2011 - 12:17 PM

I had the same issue for 8 months. Went thru 4 612's. Finally got them to replace it with a 722 with no contract extension and no $10/mo price increase for the 1st year.


I thought I had a similar agreement. Just got my bill and it is almost 4x normal.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...