Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Program transferred to EHD vanished.


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   plasmacat

plasmacat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 212 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2007

Posted 03 July 2011 - 07:03 PM

Over a year later it happened again. I transferred a movie from my 622 to my External hard drive (WD Elements 1 TB) and when I went to watch it last night it was not there. The Movie was the HDNet sneak preview movie "The Perfect Host".
This happened over a year ago when a concert I transferred disppeared.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,738 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 July 2011 - 07:56 PM

Did you turn off standby/spinoff WD feature ?

Did you try to check SMART tables by Victoria or MHDD ?
Did you try to scan surface/sectors with remap=on ?

#3 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,803 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 04 July 2011 - 05:33 AM

When you did the transfer, did it actually transfer (you looked and saw it) and now it's gone, or it may never have never actually transferred?

#4 OFFLINE   plasmacat

plasmacat

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 212 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2007

Posted 04 July 2011 - 03:02 PM

Did you turn off standby/spinoff WD feature ?

Did you try to check SMART tables by Victoria or MHDD ?
Did you try to scan surface/sectors with remap=on ?


I don't understand what you are talking about. My WD Elements EHD doesn't have any extraneous software to my knowledge and had never been hooked up to my computer.

In response to tampa8 - yes I checked that it transferred right after I did the transfer.

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,738 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 July 2011 - 06:04 PM

Living in Bay Area and missed that WD/Seagate/etc drives has own settings regardless a box. ;)
Also, running those programs will give you info about health/status of the drive.

#6 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,803 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 04 July 2011 - 06:54 PM

I don't have a good answer on how it would be there at one time, and now gone. It's not full or was full by chance and that got erased? (I'm reaching, but thinking of something that might help..._

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,738 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 July 2011 - 08:30 PM

She need to check health of the drive first ...

Edited by P Smith, 05 July 2011 - 12:32 PM.
wrong suggestion


#8 OFFLINE   plasmacat

plasmacat

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 212 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2007

Posted 05 July 2011 - 10:00 AM

First of I am a she, not a he. The drive is not even close to being full.
I have no idea how to check the drive. Like I said, I never even put this drive on my computer.
Everything else I put on there is still there and I put quite a few movies on there during the HBO free preview weekend.
I don't know if you guys remember but maybe a year ago I and others had this happen - there was a thread about it, I called Dish, Dish called me and it seemed to be resolved after awhile.
It's funny that the show I lost then - a Death Cab for Cutie concert was recently repeated on Palladia so I got it again. Maybe this is my EHD's revenge for getting that program back.

#9 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,916 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 05 July 2011 - 10:19 AM

It's possible that the TOC (table of contents) got corrupted. I have found that if you keep your EHD powered up 24/7 the EHD requires a reboot (unplugging the USB, waiting for the message that the external device has been disconnected, then reconnecting the EHD, waiting again for the message that the EHD has been connected. This restores the original TOC. I actually had 2 TOC's since one transfer I had run ran past the 3 AM DVR reboot. Everything that transferred after the reboot ended up in a different TOC that does not disappear after the DVR reboot.

Prior to that happening I had an empty list from the EHD every morning.

To avoid such complications (and to save the life of my EHD) I now keep the EHD unplugged until I need to do a transfer or watch an archived program.
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,738 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 July 2011 - 12:34 PM

It's possible that the TOC (table of contents) got corrupted. I have found that if you keep your EHD powered up 24/7 the EHD requires a reboot (unplugging the USB, waiting for the message that the external device has been disconnected, then reconnecting the EHD, waiting again for the message that the EHD has been connected. This restores the original TOC. I actually had 2 TOC's since one transfer I had run ran past the 3 AM DVR reboot. Everything that transferred after the reboot ended up in a different TOC that does not disappear after the DVR reboot.

Prior to that happening I had an empty list from the EHD every morning.

To avoid such complications (and to save the life of my EHD) I now keep the EHD unplugged until I need to do a transfer or watch an archived program.


Is the external drive going to sleep [spin down] when is not active each time ?

#11 OFFLINE   plasmacat

plasmacat

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 212 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2007

Posted 05 July 2011 - 08:37 PM

Is the external drive going to sleep [spin down] when is not active each time ?


I believe it turns itself off when not in use - I don't think the Elements drive has a sleep mode. When I click on my media it takes maybe 30secs before the drive contents show up.




spam firewall