Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

vip 722 freezing on dvr playback


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   vabelll52

vabelll52

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2006

Posted 04 July 2011 - 10:29 AM

Four year old vip722 is now freezing on dvr playback. Resetting, rebooting many times has not solved the problem. do not believe it is a overheating problem either, average temp is 129, in same original location with ventilation. Am I looking at equipment failure? Will Dish replace with no charge? Any charge for the 922? Any info is appreciated.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   saberfly

saberfly

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2010

Posted 04 July 2011 - 10:59 AM

They will give you the same receiver for free and the shipping on the return is free also. The 922 is $200. Sounds like a harware failure though also, im sure its the hard drive.

#3 OFFLINE   vabelll52

vabelll52

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2006

Posted 04 July 2011 - 11:05 AM

thanks saberfly, I was hoping not a hardware failure but sure seems it's ready to bite the dust.

#4 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,502 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 04 July 2011 - 01:13 PM

With Service Plan you get free replacement with same receiver, without Service Plan it is $15 to replace the receiver, assuming the 4 year old box is out of warranty.:D
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#5 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 571 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 04 July 2011 - 01:53 PM

To the OP: If you want some more info on getting the receiver replaced, please send me a PM with a phone number or account number and I'll get you all the details.

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...