Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

612 dvr schedule shows it will record 4 shows @ 9pm tonight


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 12 July 2011 - 03:24 PM

I'd noticed some shows weren't recording. Particularly last Tuesday. So this morning I went to make sure they would record tonight and it had 4 shows would record at 9 tonight. I double checked my priorities then manually skipped the ones that would rebroadcast later.
Anyone else have this happen? Any idea what's causing it?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 14 July 2011 - 04:24 PM

I'd noticed some shows weren't recording. Particularly last Tuesday. So this Tues morning I went to make sure they would record tonight and it had 4 shows would record at 9 pm. I double checked my priorities then manually skipped the ones that would rebroadcast later. Anyone else have this happen? Any idea what's causing it? This coming Tuesday looks ok now.

#3 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,854 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 14 July 2011 - 04:58 PM

I'd noticed some shows weren't recording. Particularly last Tuesday. So this Tues morning I went to make sure they would record tonight and it had 4 shows would record at 9 pm. I double checked my priorities then manually skipped the ones that would rebroadcast later. Anyone else have this happen? Any idea what's causing it? This coming Tuesday looks ok now.


What receiver and what channels?

IF you have a 722K and OTA tuner... then it could legitimately record 2 SAT and 2 OTA channels at the same time... so this could be a perfectly legitimate thing to see depending on what kinds of timers you have.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#4 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 571 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 14 July 2011 - 05:54 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=194844

I'm assuming it's the 612 he was talking about (last thread had no replies).

I haven't had anyone else report this problem. If it does happen again, pictures would be very beneficial

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#5 OFFLINE   fudpucker

fudpucker

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 710 posts
  • LocationNW Iowa
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 14 July 2011 - 08:23 PM

I've had that happen on occasion. I have no idea why it occurs. I also don't know what would happen if I let it try (I always fix it when I see it.)

#6 OFFLINE   fudpucker

fudpucker

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 710 posts
  • LocationNW Iowa
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 14 July 2011 - 08:25 PM

I replied in the other thread - I've had it happen on my 612 several times. Never seen it happen on my 722k

#7 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 571 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 14 July 2011 - 08:28 PM

My 612 at home has never had the problem (that I know of). I'll set up some timers tonight to see if I can force it to happen

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#8 OFFLINE   fudpucker

fudpucker

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 710 posts
  • LocationNW Iowa
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 14 July 2011 - 08:37 PM

Matt, I've never been able to force it to happen, or reproduce it. A customer service nightmare, right? ;) Just every once in a while I'll be checking what's set to record, and I'll have 3 or 4 scheduled recordings all showing that they will be recording at the same time. It is always shows that are on my schedule, and usually it would just pick the highest two priorities.

I'll take a pick if that would help, next time it occurs.

#9 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 571 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 14 July 2011 - 08:38 PM

A picture would be helpful, especially of the daily schedule where it shows that all are going to record at once

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#10 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 14 July 2011 - 08:56 PM

In my case it did the worst thing. Recorded shows that would repeat in three hours and skipped the one time shows.
I will double check my schedule from now on.
Boy, this menu has stuff buried in there deep.

#11 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 571 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 14 July 2011 - 09:10 PM

If you press DVR 3 times, it takes you to the daily schedule, where it shows any timer that has been set to record, and also gives reasons why the events were skipped.

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#12 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 14 July 2011 - 09:21 PM

Thanks. Shortcut for prioritizing?

#13 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 571 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 14 July 2011 - 09:32 PM

DVR 3 times (daily schedule)-Timers- set priority

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#14 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,854 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 14 July 2011 - 11:19 PM

I've never seen this on my 622, 722, or 922. I've seen other weird things sometimes... but never the schedule saying it is going to record more possible things than it can.

Doesn't mean I don't believe it could happen though... I just haven't seen that particular glitch.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#15 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,854 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 14 July 2011 - 11:27 PM

Threads merged, and in the appropriate forum, so everyone knows what receiver is being discussed.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#16 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 15 July 2011 - 01:59 AM

Threads merged, and in the appropriate forum, so everyone knows what receiver is being discussed.


Thanks

#17 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 15 July 2011 - 02:04 AM

This is on the 612. If I knew what caused it I could work around it. But I suspect it was a glitch since it was happening with 4 particular shows. I suspect a change in priorities has clarified the issue.
I'm replacing the 612 next week, rather dish is with a 722.

#18 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 15 July 2011 - 06:45 PM

Doing it for three shows at 9pm tonight. I took a photo this time if I find a way to u/l it I will

#19 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,857 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 15 July 2011 - 09:55 PM

It can be reproduced.

Set two timers for the same time. (Sat)

Now set a third timer (Sat) when it asks how to handle the conflict, do not pick either choice, don't pick enter, instead pick "Cancel" on the remote to back out. Most times that will result in three shows at the same time on my 612.

#20 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 16 July 2011 - 09:36 AM

On my 722 receiver, I have seen this happen as tampa8 has stated. I will go back in and remove a timer I can record later.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...