Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Which satellite carries Raleigh/Durham, NC MPEG2 locals?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   htroberts

htroberts

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2009

Posted 14 July 2011 - 08:28 AM

I have an HDVR2 receiver that's getting signal dropouts with weather that used not to be an issue--in other words, it seems like the IRD is much more sensitive to cloud cover than it used to be.

I'm trying to decide if this is most likely to an antenna problem (like that my dish has slipped some) or something in the receiver.

None of my other receivers seem to have problems, but they are all MPEG4 (HD), though, and I think the two streams are on different satellites.

Can anyone confirm which satellites host the SD & HD locals for Raleigh/Durham?

Thanks,
Heath

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,712 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 14 July 2011 - 09:53 AM

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=194886
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   triple6sickness

triple6sickness

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2011

Posted 14 July 2011 - 08:36 PM

zip code????????????

#4 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 15 July 2011 - 12:44 PM

From the excel spreadsheet that litzdog911 referred to. it looks like the SD locals are on 101, with a few on 119. Check your signal strengths on TPs 20 and 28 on the 101 Sat and TP31 on 119.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#5 OFFLINE   htroberts

htroberts

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2009

Posted 28 July 2011 - 11:05 AM

Thanks, litzdog and jdspencer.

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 28 July 2011 - 12:23 PM

Thanks, litzdog and jdspencer.


perhaps gct should be mentioned first ?

#7 OFFLINE   dishrich

dishrich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,541 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 28 July 2011 - 01:23 PM

From the excel spreadsheet that litzdog911 referred to. it looks like the SD locals are on 101, with a few on 119.


There are NO SD locals on 119 at all in the Raleigh/Durham DMA...except for 1 MPEG4 SD on Ka, all SD is on 101. Except for maybe a statewide local (PBS) channel or two, D* does NOT scatter SD locals across 101 & 119 in a single DMA...

http://home.comcast....dtvlil-dma.html

#8 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • Registered
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 28 July 2011 - 04:55 PM

Why don't you "unhide" SD channels in your guide(s) and see if your MPEG4 (HD) receivers also experience problems when tuned to the SD versions of your local channels? This will verify if you have a receiver problem.

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K





Protected By... spam firewall...And...