Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What hardware do I need for SWM.


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   barneyz71

barneyz71

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2006

Posted 23 July 2011 - 06:40 PM

I want to get rid of my BB Converters. What hardware do I need to purchase? I am going to buy the DIRECTV AU9-S-SWM Five LNB Ka/Ku Slim Line Dish Antenna SL-5 LNB Combo (AU9-S-SWM). Will I only need to purchase a
DIRECTV SWS-4 Satellite 4-Way Wide Band (2 -2150 MHz) Splitter (SWS-4) to run two HR24's? Will I need to run one or two cables into the HR24 to use both tuners? I'm new to the SWM stuff.
Thanks

Current set up is:
DIRECTV Five LNB Ka/Ku Slim Line Dish Antenna for MPEG-4 C HD Programming SL5 (AU9-S) and a Zinwell WB616 DIRECTV Wide Band 6x16 Multi-Switch (WB616) running two 2 HR24's.
(2) DirecTV HR24-100 HD DVR
(1) Nintendo WII
(2) PlayStation3
(1) SlimLine Dish
Samsung UN60D7000VFXZA
Denon - AVR4311

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,615 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 July 2011 - 06:46 PM

Seems like all you would need is the SWiM LNB & PI, and the splitter:

http://www.solidsign...CTV Dishes&sku=

http://www.solidsign...ku=874409000844

Use only one coax to each receiver's #1 input.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   barneyz71

barneyz71

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2006

Posted 23 July 2011 - 06:59 PM

Thanks for the reply.

So this is all I need? I know I can do without the dish but I want to replace it anyway.

http://www.solidsign...CTV Dishes&sku=

http://www.solidsign... Splitters&sku=

http://www.solidsign...ku=874409000844

Edited by barneyz71, 23 July 2011 - 07:08 PM.

(2) DirecTV HR24-100 HD DVR
(1) Nintendo WII
(2) PlayStation3
(1) SlimLine Dish
Samsung UN60D7000VFXZA
Denon - AVR4311

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,615 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 July 2011 - 07:25 PM

That should do it. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   barneyz71

barneyz71

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2006

Posted 23 July 2011 - 09:38 PM

That should do it. ;)


Thank you!
(2) DirecTV HR24-100 HD DVR
(1) Nintendo WII
(2) PlayStation3
(1) SlimLine Dish
Samsung UN60D7000VFXZA
Denon - AVR4311




spam firewall