Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV2PC v7507 - Issues & Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
426 replies to this topic

#326 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,559 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 14 February 2013 - 03:40 PM

I hope they don't drop this app. I use it primarily for my TV viewing.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#327 OFFLINE   Special Ed

Special Ed

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 15 February 2013 - 08:59 AM

No I meant on the DVR not the PC, sorry for the confusion


We only have one 60" plazma TV. No other TVs, so my giant Computer screen monitors can serve as a second HDTV when I get kicked off the main TV by the family or want to work and watch a game.

I guess when directv2pc dies for good I will need to get a sling box or something like that to do the same.

#328 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,087 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 16 February 2013 - 12:52 AM

We only have one 60" plazma TV. No other TVs, so my giant Computer screen monitors can serve as a second HDTV when I get kicked off the main TV by the family or want to work and watch a game.

I guess when directv2pc dies for good I will need to get a sling box or something like that to do the same.


I have a feeling dirctv2pc will never get another update. I am pretty sure over time that nomad and streaming will give you all the functionality of dirctv2pc and more.

#329 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,367 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 16 February 2013 - 06:50 AM

I have a feeling dirctv2pc will never get another update. I am pretty sure over time that nomad and streaming will give you all the functionality of dirctv2pc and more.

Agree.

Surprised to see this thread is even "alive" anymore. The software hasn't really been updated in quite some time, and as stated, is likely at the end of it's life cycle with alternatives available.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#330 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,559 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 16 February 2013 - 10:52 AM

Agree.

Surprised to see this thread is even "alive" anymore. The software hasn't really been updated in quite some time, and as stated, is likely at the end of it's life cycle with alternatives available.


As long as it keeps working I'll be happy!

#331 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,367 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 16 February 2013 - 11:05 AM

As long as it keeps working I'll be happy!

Nothing wrong with that.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#332 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 16 February 2013 - 07:47 PM

We only have one 60" plazma TV. No other TVs, so my giant Computer screen monitors can serve as a second HDTV when I get kicked off the main TV by the family or want to work and watch a game.

I guess when directv2pc dies for good I will need to get a sling box or something like that to do the same.


I've thought about doing the same but what drives me away from doing that is the reliability and problems I keep hearing for slingboxes, plus my high speed Internet is not fast enough with just 3mbps from comcrap because I can justify paying more.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#333 OFFLINE   Special Ed

Special Ed

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 17 February 2013 - 10:43 AM

I've thought about doing the same but what drives me away from doing that is the reliability and problems I keep hearing for slingboxes, plus my high speed Internet is not fast enough with just 3mbps from comcrap because I can justify paying more.


I never bought sling box because I can't believe it would give me much of a picture on the road. My thinking is within my house it would work better and it is not that expensive.

One thought: I believe Slingbox is wireless only and I have a wired connection from my entertainment center to my PC. I was having problems streaming high HD quality stuff over Wifi from the DVR to PC and I needed a faster connection for Netflix as WiFi would rarely stream higher quality netflix HD.

So I paid a guy to run a coax from my upstairs router to my my downstairs TV viewing area. Now streaming either way works great.


Agree.

Surprised to see this thread is even "alive" anymore. The software hasn't really been updated in quite some time, and as stated, is likely at the end of it's life cycle with alternatives available.


Sometimes I think the only people using Directv2PC are us hardy souls in this thread.

So I can start thinking about a non-directv2PC strategy, what are some of the alternatives to play and control programming from my DVR to my PC - Over a wired connection if possible for glitch free streaming.

#334 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,087 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 February 2013 - 01:05 PM

I've thought about doing the same but what drives me away from doing that is the reliability and problems I keep hearing for slingboxes, plus my high speed Internet is not fast enough with just 3mbps from comcrap because I can justify paying more.


That's a main reason for nomad. You can just take shows with you and don't need to stream them over slow speed connections.

#335 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,182 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 17 February 2013 - 02:34 PM

nomad is handy now for streaming near live and use the iPad in the garage, deck or basement. Particularly for locals / sports that aren't streamed in DAFI.

Or to keep an eye on something while we're watching the big TV.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#336 OFFLINE   Special Ed

Special Ed

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:05 AM

nomad is handy now for streaming near live and use the iPad in the garage, deck or basement. Particularly for locals / sports that aren't streamed in DAFI.

Or to keep an eye on something while we're watching the big TV.


I was looking at the Nomad "how it works video" and it says you must download recordings to your device or PC before watching them.

So it would not work for watching sports which I stream live to my pc as it is recording on DVR -- Unless Nomad has changed and video has not been updated.

#337 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,182 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 19 February 2013 - 09:43 AM

The last update added a 'Watch Now' for anything recorded (or currently recording!) on your HD DVRs.

The D website even has a 'Stream shows instantly' headline on the nomad page.


I was looking at the Nomad "how it works video" and it says you must download recordings to your device or PC before watching them.

So it would not work for watching sports which I stream live to my pc as it is recording on DVR -- Unless Nomad has changed and video has not been updated.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#338 OFFLINE   Special Ed

Special Ed

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 20 February 2013 - 08:21 AM

The last update added a 'Watch Now' for anything recorded (or currently recording!) on your HD DVRs.

The D website even has a 'Stream shows instantly' headline on the nomad page.


Great, other than paying the initial price, there seems to be no downside. Also, It will be easy to load-up the tablets and laptops with programing for vacationing with the kids.

Good to know there is an option out there.

Just to be clear:
  • Streaming recording now stuff will work with my PC.
  • Can I use my wireless only.
  • If wireless streaming only, is the picture quality just as good as Directv2pc? (DTV2PC streams the entire program to the PC - It sounds like Nomad compresses the program first.)


#339 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,182 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 20 February 2013 - 09:09 AM

Yes to all your questions. nomad does transcode to a lower resolution but it's hardly noticable because of the smaller screen.

And it works on your home network, wired or wireless (PC or Mac) and of course iPhone/iPad wirelessly.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#340 OFFLINE   Special Ed

Special Ed

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 28 February 2013 - 08:55 AM

Yes to all your questions. nomad does transcode to a lower resolution but it's hardly noticable because of the smaller screen.

And it works on your home network, wired or wireless (PC or Mac) and of course iPhone/iPad wirelessly.


Looking at the Nomad discussion here, it seems that sports packages are considered pay per view and won't stream or be portable.

Not a big deal for me unless the fox sports pack is considered a PPV sports package.

I'll stick with Directv2PC until they shut me down. This computer is a few years old and I am thinking of doing an upgrade soon, but I worry that will kill DTV2PC for me.

#341 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,559 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 28 February 2013 - 11:30 AM

Is it true that you can no longer activate DTV2PC?

#342 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 28 February 2013 - 11:39 AM

Is it true that you can no longer activate DTV2PC?


Have you tried recently? Its used to be pretty easy. If you dont get the e-mail with the keys, then you may be correct. I activated a new Windows 7 64-bit device late last year.

#343 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,559 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 28 February 2013 - 12:37 PM

I'm worried after reading this thread http://forums.direct...rtalPageId=1002

I'd like to reinstall windows 7 but not if it means I won't be able to use this app anymore..

#344 OFFLINE   loudo

loudo

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,506 posts
  • LocationCentral Maine
Joined: Mar 24, 2005

Posted 28 February 2013 - 12:47 PM

I recently reinstall it in Windows 8 after I upgraded from Windows Vista. I downloaded it and used the previous keys they sent me, when I put it in Vista.

H44-200 - Samsung 1080p 46" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Samsunbg 32" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Mitsubishi 1080p 57" DLP - HDMI - Pioneer Home Theater Sound

LG 20 LCD" & Viewsonic 17" HDTV LCD - Component via Cat 6 baluns from HR44-200
Slimline w/ SWM3 LNB. OTA master antenna system to all sets.


#345 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,559 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 28 February 2013 - 12:48 PM

I recently reinstall it in Windows 8 after I upgraded from Windows Vista. I downloaded it and used the previous keys they sent me, when I put it in Vista.


So maybe their activation servers were just down that day those threads were made.

#346 OFFLINE   loudo

loudo

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,506 posts
  • LocationCentral Maine
Joined: Mar 24, 2005

Posted 28 February 2013 - 03:12 PM

So maybe their activation servers were just down that day those threads were made.

Could be. I am going to try to install it on my new laptop and see what happens.

Edited by loudo, 28 February 2013 - 04:50 PM.

H44-200 - Samsung 1080p 46" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Samsunbg 32" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Mitsubishi 1080p 57" DLP - HDMI - Pioneer Home Theater Sound

LG 20 LCD" & Viewsonic 17" HDTV LCD - Component via Cat 6 baluns from HR44-200
Slimline w/ SWM3 LNB. OTA master antenna system to all sets.


#347 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,255 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 28 February 2013 - 03:44 PM

So maybe their activation servers were just down that day those threads were made.

The complaints were logged over a two month period so it doesn't seem entirely reasonable to dismiss it as a single event.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#348 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,559 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 28 February 2013 - 03:46 PM

The complaints were logged over a two month period so it doesn't seem entirely reasonable to dismiss it as a single event.


Ugh so people still can't activate? Not good as I use this program all the time!

#349 OFFLINE   loudo

loudo

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,506 posts
  • LocationCentral Maine
Joined: Mar 24, 2005

Posted 28 February 2013 - 04:50 PM

Could be. I am going to try to install it on my new laptop and see what happens.

Not so lucky with the laptop. Getting the error message, "Activation key usage limit reached". Tried two different ones and got the same message on both.

The program is still on their web site to download.

H44-200 - Samsung 1080p 46" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Samsunbg 32" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Mitsubishi 1080p 57" DLP - HDMI - Pioneer Home Theater Sound

LG 20 LCD" & Viewsonic 17" HDTV LCD - Component via Cat 6 baluns from HR44-200
Slimline w/ SWM3 LNB. OTA master antenna system to all sets.


#350 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,182 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 28 February 2013 - 06:03 PM

Is it still sending keys? I had several different keys that had only been used once that wouldn't authenticate, months (years) ago.

If you get new keys, it should work.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!





Protected By... spam firewall...And...