Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV2PC v7507 - Issues & Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
426 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 960 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 02 August 2011 - 07:52 PM

I am sooooooo sick and tired of needing to get a new key, or re-enter it ever freggin' time they release a new version.
This is so annoying.
I've lost me other key numbers, and have no more "new" e-mail addresses for them to send one to.

so stupid


This is the exact reason i am not upgrading. Its a real PITA to play the key game. Last time I had to make another gmail account just to get a key.

#27 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,366 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 02 August 2011 - 08:09 PM

I am sooooooo sick and tired of needing to get a new key, or re-enter it ever freggin' time they release a new version.
This is so annoying.
I've lost me other key numbers, and have no more "new" e-mail addresses for them to send one to.

so stupid


This is the exact reason i am not upgrading. Its a real PITA to play the key game. Last time I had to make another gmail account just to get a key.


Am I alone in having a couple email addresses for situations like this? I have 2 "throw away" addresses and 2 real ones.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#28 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 August 2011 - 08:49 PM

Am I alone in having a couple email addresses for situations like this? I have 2 "throw away" addresses and 2 real ones.

And for a 10 min email address: http://10minutemail....Mail/index.html
A.K.A VOS

#29 OFFLINE   Draconis

Draconis

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,426 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Mar 16, 2007

Posted 02 August 2011 - 08:53 PM

Wow, this thread suprised me. I know I will be downloading when I get home.

#30 OFFLINE   Donb01

Donb01

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
  • LocationManitowoc, WI
Joined: Feb 08, 2007

Posted 02 August 2011 - 09:22 PM

1) I'm running Win 7 32 bit. I have the latest and greatest version of the logmein free version running on here and having no issues.

2) I had not issues with activation or install. I *did not* waste my time running the adviser, figuring it already worked with the old version and nothing changed.

3) After my earlier reported crash I came back to the program I was watching when it crashed and hit resume. It started over and I had to fast forward to where I left off.

4) Wish list: I should be able to delete a program when I'm done. It was annoying to have to go to the living room to delete the program.

5) When I ran the program I was watching that had caused the crash the second time it played all the way through and did not crash.

6) I'm also complaining about the parental controls. My receiver is wide open therefore this prg should read that and also default to wide open. If not, then when I go through the PITA process of setting it to view all then it should SAVE those selections and not reset them every time I go in. Plus it also reset them after I finished watching a program. This is the most annoying thing to me right now - that or if I unlock it then leave it unlocked until I change it! Edit: Maybe just in case of family folks maybe it can ASK if you want to re-lock the parental controls upon exit.
HR20-700S (Jan 07 build), 5LNB Dish - 2 feeds, wired ethernet, Vizio L32 - 32" LCD TV - HDMI, Analog audio to the TV and a wireless transmitter right now, Harmony 670 remote

#31 OFFLINE   Donb01

Donb01

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
  • LocationManitowoc, WI
Joined: Feb 08, 2007

Posted 02 August 2011 - 10:06 PM

OK, had another crash - this time 3/4 way thru Haven.

Other things that happened is I used 30 sec skip and when it resumed the screen was all blocky and pixelated. I exited and came back in and it was still that way, but I did a couple more 30 sec skips and then it cleared up. Crashed about 10 minutes later.

Here is the APPCRASH window if it is useful to the programmers:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: DIRECTV2PC™.exe
Application Version: 2.0.0.7507
Application Timestamp: 4a23d8d0
Fault Module Name: msvcrt.dll
Fault Module Version: 7.0.7600.16385
Fault Module Timestamp: 4a5bda6f
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00018b23
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
HR20-700S (Jan 07 build), 5LNB Dish - 2 feeds, wired ethernet, Vizio L32 - 32" LCD TV - HDMI, Analog audio to the TV and a wireless transmitter right now, Harmony 670 remote

#32 OFFLINE   ajiuO

ajiuO

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 116 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2006

Posted 02 August 2011 - 10:06 PM

I only have one thing on my wish list...

1. Mac compatibility

#33 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,559 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 02 August 2011 - 11:21 PM

This version seems to knock my internet down on the PC using D2PC more than the last version.

#34 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 960 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 03 August 2011 - 04:11 AM

Am I alone in having a couple email addresses for situations like this? I have 2 "throw away" addresses and 2 real ones.


i do have a couple of email addresses, I used them all up in the past getting serial numbers because the new versions don't think the old number is valid.

#35 OFFLINE   Mike_TV

Mike_TV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 157 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2006

Posted 03 August 2011 - 06:43 AM

Every time there is an upgrade to this I always see people struggling with the whole license key issue. I save all my software license keys in a file so it's not an issue for me but I have a suggestion.

Why don't the developers follow the VMware model and leave the license key in the registry during the uninstall process? In fact, VMware Desktop always asks you if you want to leave the key in the registry and always uninstalls the old version before installing the new version. Works perfectly every time.

Onto my experiences with the upgrade...

1) Installed 7507 on top of the old version
2) It asks to uninstall the old version, uninstalled
3) Used previous saved key during install
4) Directv2PC starts up full screen
5) Asks to activate the key
6) Activated successfully and downloads/installs upgraded CODEC

Initial test appears to be running succesfully in both full screen and windowed mode.

I'm on Windows 7 x64. AMD video card.

#36 OFFLINE   Rob

Rob

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 03 August 2011 - 09:17 AM

I am sooooooo sick and tired of needing to get a new key, or re-enter it ever freggin' time they release a new version.
This is so annoying.
I've lost me other key numbers, and have no more "new" e-mail addresses for them to send one to.

so stupid


If you have a gmail account you can make different address out of your current email. That's because GMAIL just ignores the "."

For example if your email is stevehas@gmail.com You can make it steve.has@gmail.com or s.tevehas@gmail.com or st.evehas@gmail.com and so on. You don't need to do anything with your gmail account. Just register the different format it with whatever service you like. It will get to your gmail account.
It's only tv!

#37 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 960 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 03 August 2011 - 09:41 AM

Every time there is an upgrade to this I always see people struggling with the whole license key issue. I save all my software license keys in a file so it's not an issue for me but I have a suggestion.

Why don't the developers follow the VMware model and leave the license key in the registry during the uninstall process? In fact, VMware Desktop always asks you if you want to leave the key in the registry and always uninstalls the old version before installing the new version. Works perfectly every time.

Onto my experiences with the upgrade...

1) Installed 7507 on top of the old version
2) It asks to uninstall the old version, uninstalled
3) Used previous saved key during install
4) Directv2PC starts up full screen
5) Asks to activate the key
6) Activated successfully and downloads/installs upgraded CODEC

Initial test appears to be running succesfully in both full screen and windowed mode.

I'm on Windows 7 x64. AMD video card.



I keep all my keys as well the email they are sent to. The problem is when you go to use that key it won't let you, it whines about authorization errors.

#38 OFFLINE   Draconis

Draconis

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,426 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Mar 16, 2007

Posted 03 August 2011 - 11:14 AM

No problems installing or activating. Playback has been smooth on the shows I have tried.

One suggestion though, unify the playlist like what you see on the HDDVR's.

#39 OFFLINE   Steveknj

Steveknj

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2006

Posted 03 August 2011 - 12:23 PM

There needs to be a tablet version of this!!

#40 OFFLINE   bjamin82

bjamin82

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 370 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 03 August 2011 - 01:00 PM

Oh I don't know if the driver detection is working either. Look at attached screen shots. I'm going to try to install it anyway.


I looks like your installing or running the adviser remotely using logmein... which would load a different display driver when remote versus sitting in front your machine.

Just a thought...

#41 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,158 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 03 August 2011 - 04:01 PM

I looks like your installing or running the adviser remotely using logmein... which would load a different display driver when remote versus sitting in front your machine.

Just a thought...


Nope. I was sitting in front of the machine.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#42 OFFLINE   waynebtx

waynebtx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,477 posts
  • LocationKingsville,Texas
Joined: Dec 24, 2006

Posted 03 August 2011 - 08:26 PM

I get activation limit reached this limit thing needs to be removed tired of haveing to get new ones

Wayne

Slimline dish SWIM16
Sharp LC-60E78UN
HR34-700/AM21 w/ Harmony 880.
1 C31-700

HR44-700

HR24-100

2 H25-100

Denon AVR-X2000

All Wired Networked
Xbox 360

Xboxone

IMAC 21.5

50 meg internet speed
retired USN , retired Boeing, retired L3COM, just plain tired


#43 OFFLINE   DaddyRabbit

DaddyRabbit

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2010

Posted 03 August 2011 - 09:24 PM

I also have my saved license keys but it doesn't work because apparently I need an endless supply of email addresses to activate FREE software.

Put it this way, this is not a money making app for DTV, to be honest I can only use it if I have a DIRECTV DVR and a subscription so, to be honest, there should be NO activation required, its not like its streaming DTV programming over the Internet and I can "steal" something.

As was stated before, the installer can detect an older version so why need to re-enter the exact same key for activation that was already there? To top it off, only two registrations for each email address!? WTF? Registering from multiple email addresses is usually a sign of abuse.

Think I'm done with DTV... Hope they are reading these posts.

#44 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,158 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 03 August 2011 - 09:42 PM

I also have my saved license keys but it doesn't work because apparently I need an endless supply of email addresses to activate FREE software.

Put it this way, this is not a money making app for DTV, to be honest I can only use it if I have a DIRECTV DVR and a subscription so, to be honest, there should be NO activation required, its not like its streaming DTV programming over the Internet and I can "steal" something.

As was stated before, the installer can detect an older version so why need to re-enter the exact same key for activation that was already there? To top it off, only two registrations for each email address!? WTF? Registering from multiple email addresses is usually a sign of abuse.

Think I'm done with DTV... Hope they are reading these posts.


I agree with you but how much you wanna bet that the whole activation key wasn't just put in there to appease content owners and try to avoid potential lawsuits.

I know it's trivial, it doesn't really need anything except an email address to send a key to. They don't even verify if that's the email on your account. Just seems like an extra step, but insurance against a trivial lawsuit from the studios I guess.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#45 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,474 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 August 2011 - 09:57 PM

I also have my saved license keys but it doesn't work because apparently I need an endless supply of email addresses to activate FREE software.

Put it this way, this is not a money making app for DTV, to be honest I can only use it if I have a DIRECTV DVR and a subscription so, to be honest, there should be NO activation required, its not like its streaming DTV programming over the Internet and I can "steal" something.

As was stated before, the installer can detect an older version so why need to re-enter the exact same key for activation that was already there? To top it off, only two registrations for each email address!? WTF? Registering from multiple email addresses is usually a sign of abuse.

Think I'm done with DTV... Hope they are reading these posts.


I can clear up one part. The activation is a requirement of the DTCP-IP licensing agreement. DTCP-IP is a licensed technology, which DIRECTV pays for.

Unfortunately, unlimited licenses can be very, very expensive (as I understand it) so by paying for just the ones they need, things are more reasonable.

The other unfortunate part is we who upgrade via DBSTalk, rather than the builtin mechanism, tend to run into this licensing problem.

Cheers,
Tom

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#46 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 August 2011 - 10:36 PM

*yawn*
Once again this version went in without any drama.
Let this uninstall the older version, pasted in my old key.
Activated, updated codex without issues.
Was a bit slow to bring up the first playlist, but not after the first time.

*yawn*
:lol:
A.K.A VOS

#47 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 860 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 04 August 2011 - 07:30 AM

This program is a headache for most and kinda sucks at this point.

#48 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 960 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 04 August 2011 - 07:33 AM

I can clear up one part. The activation is a requirement of the DTCP-IP licensing agreement. DTCP-IP is a licensed technology, which DIRECTV pays for.

Unfortunately, unlimited licenses can be very, very expensive (as I understand it) so by paying for just the ones they need, things are more reasonable.

The other unfortunate part is we who upgrade via DBSTalk, rather than the builtin mechanism, tend to run into this licensing problem.

Cheers,
Tom


I am not sure what you are saying here. Why would being a member of DBStalk have anything to do with running software on the PC? Unless you are saying that the link on DBS talk points to a different link/file than what other direct tv users use.

#49 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 August 2011 - 07:39 AM

I am not sure what you are saying here. Why would being a member of DBStalk have anything to do with running software on the PC? Unless you are saying that the link on DBS talk points to a different link/file than what other direct tv users use.

The link in this thread is a pre-release Beta.
A.K.A VOS

#50 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 August 2011 - 07:42 AM

This program is a headache for most and kinda sucks at this point.

The posts in this thread mirror posts that have been in every release thread previously.
This apps seems to work fine for some, yet be a PITA for others.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...