Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Possibility of New DirecTV Sattellite Locations?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   habsfan66

habsfan66

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 03 August 2011 - 07:59 AM

Pretty sure I know the answer to this but positive someone here will know. I'm currently with Dish and am looking to upgrade my equipment which will require a new 2 year hitch. If I had the choice I'd rather be with DirecTV but can't get their signal as my neighbor has huge trees blocking the sight line so I can only get Dish's EA signal. Before I re-up with Dish, is there any chance that DirecTV will be providing signals from locations similar to Dish's EA (or from anywhere else for that matter) within the next two years (or ever)?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,394 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 03 August 2011 - 08:11 AM

...is there any chance that DirecTV will be providing signals from locations similar to Dish's EA (or from anywhere else for that matter) within the next two years (or ever)?

No chance in the foreseeable future.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#3 OFFLINE   habsfan66

habsfan66

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 03 August 2011 - 08:15 AM

No chance in the foreseeable future.


Thanks.

#4 OFFLINE   goldwing

goldwing

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
  • LocationSW OHIO
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 03 August 2011 - 09:10 AM

Pretty sure I know the answer to this but positive someone here will know. I'm currently with Dish and am looking to upgrade my equipment which will require a new 2 year hitch. If I had the choice I'd rather be with DirecTV but can't get their signal as my neighbor has huge trees blocking the sight line so I can only get Dish's EA signal. Before I re-up with Dish, is there any chance that DirecTV will be providing signals from locations similar to Dish's EA (or from anywhere else for that matter) within the next two years (or ever)?


Well first off which sats do you use now with dish network? 61.5/72.7/77 east arc or 110/119/129 west arc? Then you have to ask yourself if you need 110/119 at all. The LOS window is ALOT smaller if all you need is 99/101/103 compared to a few years ago when you needed 101/110/119. Directv gave me a slimline 5 in late 06 which gave me only 1 option on where to mount it due to trees but since then i replaced my sl5 lnb with a sl3 lnb which let me mount it where i wanted it instead of where it had to be.

Denon 4308
HR20-700 leased
H20-100 leased

HR24-500 owned

HTPC running XBMC 12.2



With DirecTV since Dec 1994


#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,394 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 03 August 2011 - 09:30 AM

Then you have to ask yourself if you need 110/119 at all.

You have to ask yourself if "I can only get Dish's EA signal" means that anything west of 77W (including 101W) is not an option.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   goldwing

goldwing

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
  • LocationSW OHIO
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 03 August 2011 - 12:33 PM

You have to ask yourself if "I can only get Dish's EA signal" means that anything west of 77W (including 101W) is not an option.


Sorry my bad, i missed the EA part of his statement :)

Time for the midnight chainsaw :)

Denon 4308
HR20-700 leased
H20-100 leased

HR24-500 owned

HTPC running XBMC 12.2



With DirecTV since Dec 1994


#7 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,558 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 03 August 2011 - 12:55 PM

habsfan66: Are you sure there isn't somewhere on your property that you can get the 99, 101, and 103 sats?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.




spam firewall