Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Adding new receivers


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jkimrey

jkimrey

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 04 August 2011 - 06:05 AM

I just had DirecTV installed a couple weeks ago, and would like to have two additional receivers installed. DirecTV is going to charge me around $200 for each additional receiver, so I found two used ones that can be activated (not on existing account and not previously leased).

My question is this:

Since they are used receivers, I will be responsible for wiring everything up.

I'm rather clueless on how it all works, but my brother in law does similar type installs for his business and says he can get everything wired/set up for me.

Right now, I have three receivers (HD DVR, HD, and SD), and I believe I have a SWM install. I'd like to add the two new receivers, both being SD DVRs.

Just wanted to make sure that DirecTV would be okay with the BIL doing any additional wiring necessary? I'm also not sure if the SWM can handle that many inputs (3 DVRs and 2 "non DVR" receivers)? If a different setup is required (multiswitch?) would DTV care if he changed this??

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,850 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 August 2011 - 06:40 AM

A SWiM can handle 8 tuners, so 3 DVRs + 2 receivers equals eight.
Make sure these receivers are SWiM compatible, as not all are.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   jkimrey

jkimrey

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 04 August 2011 - 06:47 AM

Thanks - what's the easiest way to determine whether the receivers are SWiM compatible? Is there a list available?

#4 OFFLINE   jkimrey

jkimrey

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 04 August 2011 - 06:53 AM

Actually two of the receivers I wanted to add are older DirecTivo boxes. I know that they have to have RIDs, which they both do, but I bet they won't be SWiM compatible will they? :(

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,850 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 August 2011 - 06:58 AM

Actually two of the receivers I wanted to add are older DirecTivo boxes. I know that they have to have RIDs, which they both do, but I bet they won't be SWiM compatible will they? :(

I think you may be hosed, as the R16 for DVR & D12 for receivers are the first that work with SWiM. If these are R15 or D11, or earlier they aren't.
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   mcbeevee

mcbeevee

    97% Complete

  • Registered
  • 1,283 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 04 August 2011 - 08:21 AM

Thanks - what's the easiest way to determine whether the receivers are SWiM compatible? Is there a list available?

Here is a list of SWM and MRV compatible receivers. Any newer receiver (like the H25) should be compatible.

Receiver Compatibility

:)

#7 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,009 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 August 2011 - 08:23 AM

None of the older DirecTivo units are SWM capable.

You do still have some options though. You can replace the LNB in your dish with a conventional (non-SWM), then add an external SWM8 to provide the SWM feeds for your newer equipment. The SWM8 also has 3 legacy outputs so you could either (a) feed the two DirecTivos directly (one with dual tuner function, one with single tuner function), or (B) use a second legacy multiswitch to provide 4 outputs to feed the DirecTivo units.

#8 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,988 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 04 August 2011 - 12:09 PM

If all you want is two additional SD-DVRs DirecTV should only be charging $99 each, or $198 total. Why are they trying to charge you $400?
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy




Protected By... spam firewall...And...