Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Sling Adapter for my VIP 722 doesn't work in my neighborhood?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   savingpvtbryan

savingpvtbryan

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2007

Posted 15 August 2011 - 04:13 PM

My whole subdivision uses Dish Network (wired directly into the homes from a base station with a bunch of dishes) and when I tried to order a Sling Adapter for my VIP 722, the customer service rep said that the Sling Adapter doesn't work in my neighborhood. He wasn't sure exactly why but his boss said something with the QAM signal I get through my house's wiring. I didn't really trust what he was saying so I stopped a Dish Network technician when he was in the area and asked the same question. He confirmed that the Sling Adapter doesn't work in my neighborhood because TV2 is disabled where I live. He said I could use a regular Slingbox though.

Do you guys know why TV2 would be disabled? Is there anyway around this problem?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   rasheed

rasheed

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 296 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2005

Posted 15 August 2011 - 04:42 PM

My whole subdivision uses Dish Network (wired directly into the homes from a base station with a bunch of dishes) and when I tried to order a Sling Adapter for my VIP 722, the customer service rep said that the Sling Adapter doesn't work in my neighborhood. He wasn't sure exactly why but his boss said something with the QAM signal I get through my house's wiring. I didn't really trust what he was saying so I stopped a Dish Network technician when he was in the area and asked the same question. He confirmed that the Sling Adapter doesn't work in my neighborhood because TV2 is disabled where I live. He said I could use a regular Slingbox though.

Do you guys know why TV2 would be disabled? Is there anyway around this problem?


TV2 could only be enabled if they run special custom coax wiring to the second tv location. I am not sure that this is an option for you. Otherwise, it might be difficult for them to limit who can see your TV2 signal.

Rasheed

#3 OFFLINE   RaymondG@DISH Network

RaymondG@DISH Network

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2011

Posted 16 August 2011 - 05:35 PM

My whole subdivision uses Dish Network (wired directly into the homes from a base station with a bunch of dishes) and when I tried to order a Sling Adapter for my VIP 722, the customer service rep said that the Sling Adapter doesn't work in my neighborhood. He wasn't sure exactly why but his boss said something with the QAM signal I get through my house's wiring. I didn't really trust what he was saying so I stopped a Dish Network technician when he was in the area and asked the same question. He confirmed that the Sling Adapter doesn't work in my neighborhood because TV2 is disabled where I live. He said I could use a regular Slingbox though.

Do you guys know why TV2 would be disabled? Is there anyway around this problem?

I can understand that this is confusing, the reason you are unable to use the Sling Adapter in a subdivision or MDU (Multi Dwelling Unit), is because the account would be classified as a commercial account. The account wouldn't be able to access the receiver or receivers through DishOnline.com or the DRA (Dish Remote Access). Dish Online and the DRA need to be able to access the receiver and its connection with the Sling Adapter to work.

#4 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,857 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 16 August 2011 - 08:31 PM

Get a slingbox.

#5 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,455 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 16 August 2011 - 10:01 PM

Dish Online and the DRA need to be able to access the receiver and its connection with the Sling Adapter to work.

This problem could probably be easily fixed by Dish if they would allow the Sling Adapter to connect directly to the desktop version of the SlingPlayer software as well as the mobile SlingPlayer app.

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV   DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 8am-1am ET)   DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)
 
DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25 ($30 with HBO) | 3=$35 ($40 with HBO) | 4=$43 ($48 with HBO) | All 5=$55 per month 
 
My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500





Protected By... spam firewall...And...