Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Firefox Ver 6.0 = bad news


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Matt9876

Matt9876

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,006 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 19 August 2011 - 03:15 PM

The new version of Firefox web browser 6.0 is loaded with Microsoft DRM software and other plugins that constantly talk with the Internet.

In my book this is major bad news and I have already removed it and reverted to version 4.0, also turned off auto update till I get a handle on just whats going on.


Messed up my machine big time.:eek2:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dishrich

dishrich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,541 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 19 August 2011 - 03:17 PM

And this has to do w/DirecTV how???

#3 OFFLINE   Valve1138

Valve1138

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 113 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2008

Posted 19 August 2011 - 03:19 PM

MS Update quietly installs a Firefox plugin without asking. Sounds like your PC was borked to begin with.
5lnb Slimline to a SWM-16
HR-24, HR-21-700, H25, H23
WHDVR via DECA

#4 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,018 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 19 August 2011 - 03:20 PM

It's been fine on my machine. Sometimes it's not the software...
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#5 OFFLINE   Valve1138

Valve1138

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 113 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2008

Posted 19 August 2011 - 03:20 PM

And this has to do w/DirecTV how???


Must be DirecTV's fault since the OP is a Dish user? :grin:
5lnb Slimline to a SWM-16
HR-24, HR-21-700, H25, H23
WHDVR via DECA

#6 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,874 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 19 August 2011 - 03:21 PM

I'm moving this to the Tech Talk forum.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#7 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 19 August 2011 - 03:23 PM

I upgraded to 6, and do not see any DRM plug-is. Microsoft DRM is part of Windows media player. Running stable on my system.

Where are you seeing this installed? In Firefox's plugins?

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#8 OFFLINE   Matt9876

Matt9876

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,006 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 19 August 2011 - 03:26 PM

Sorry thought I posting in OT = off topic forum.

Just got back on the Internet, No cookies , No book marks yet.:)

#9 OFFLINE   Matt9876

Matt9876

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,006 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 19 August 2011 - 03:35 PM

I upgraded to 6, and do not see any DRM plug-is. Microsoft DRM is part of Windows media player. Running stable on my system.

Where are you seeing this installed? In Firefox's plugins?



under tools click options

under the general tab click Manage add ons

under Manage add ons click plugins.

#10 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,018 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 19 August 2011 - 03:37 PM

under tools click options

under the general tab click Manage add ons

under Manage add ons click plugins.


I don't see it.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#11 OFFLINE   Matt9876

Matt9876

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,006 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 19 August 2011 - 03:52 PM

I get a long list java,flash,Microsoft DRM 9.0.0.4503 listed twice,adobe,shock wave,media player etc..

#12 OFFLINE   Matt9876

Matt9876

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,006 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 19 August 2011 - 04:05 PM

MS Update quietly installs a Firefox plugin without asking. Sounds like your PC was borked to begin with.


All my problems started after the version 6.0 started and my firewall machine reported 100s of UDP connections to Firefox.

#13 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 19 August 2011 - 04:18 PM

I just disabled the MS DRM.....
Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#14 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 19 August 2011 - 04:21 PM

Not listed under my plugins, but I dont use WMP either.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#15 OFFLINE   xzi

xzi

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 527 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 19 August 2011 - 04:22 PM

It's nothing... it's a plug in for playing MS-DRM protected WMP within Firefox in embedded players, such as Vudu, etc. These days most stuff uses Flash or Silverlight so it's not quite as common as it used to be, but it's not "evil" and it won't DRM your own content.

#16 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,122 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 19 August 2011 - 05:01 PM

7.0 beta is fast

#17 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 19 August 2011 - 05:52 PM

Getting lots of crashes on 6.0 also when I launch a website from a desktop shortcut I often get a message saying something to the effect that "Firefox is already running." It's not, checked task manager, processes etc. Then relaunch shortcut 2nd time and it works. All started seconds after 6.0 was installed. Been flawless for years.

#18 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,479 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 20 August 2011 - 12:10 AM

The two threads on this should be combined, but if you download the Compatibility Reporter from Mozilla it can give you more control over add-ons.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#19 OFFLINE   antennas

antennas

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2011

Posted 20 August 2011 - 05:40 AM

Same happened to me also, using old version only did not get along with the latest one.

#20 OFFLINE   PolishPoet

PolishPoet

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 98 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 31 August 2011 - 02:09 PM

I get a long list java,flash,Microsoft DRM 9.0.0.4503 listed twice,adobe,shock wave,media player etc..


NO M$ DRM listed under my plugins.
HR24-200 / HDMI thru Mtsubishi DCS-1000 to Samsung 61A750 RPTV / Harmony 700 Remote / Optical to Denon Receiver

HR24-200 / HDMI to LG LCD MRV







Protected By... spam firewall...And...