Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Channels I Get Issues Thread


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,013 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 20 September 2011 - 12:30 PM

Mine never have stayed after, if they where working right before. The problem is all the channels that are there either way. And there are a lot right now because all the premiums they added recently are showing. I use custom lists, but that doesn't help with recording issues.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,214 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 20 September 2011 - 12:31 PM

Frankly if they'd give us 2 more custom lists, they could take away CIG and I'd be a happy camper.

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#23 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 20 September 2011 - 12:40 PM

Frankly if they'd give us 2 more custom lists, they could take away CIG and I'd be a happy camper.


CIG is more than just an alternate custom list.

CIG is also used in the search results. Now, if DirecTV were to allow us (like TiVo) to edit our own channels, that'd be great (bye-bye PPV results), but as it is, CIG needs to be fixed...

It'd be great if people could go through this thread and verify which channels they don't actually get, because I've seen several instances of people listing channels they do in fact get.

~Alan<~~~~~~~~~~Who is starting to sound like an SNL character...

#24 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 08 October 2011 - 11:16 AM

Channels I SHOULD Not Get, but show up as selectable when I have CIG selected:

503
505
506
507
511
517
519
520
521
522
523

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98


#25 OFFLINE   pakcyclist

pakcyclist

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2009

Posted 15 October 2011 - 07:34 AM

CHOICE EXTRA (plus free 3-month Starz/Encore)

It appears at least some of the channels from most or all of the other packages (i.e., HBO, Showtime, Sports Pack) show up that I don't get.

#26 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 19 February 2012 - 11:18 AM

Given the lack of progress on this issue, I'm not sure it's worth posting this, but there's been some changes lately (Baby First becoming available to most subscribers, Universal Sports Network's free preview ending, and Cloo being moved to a higher package), so I felt I'd bring it up so anyone reading this thread would alter their lists accordingly.

~Alan

#27 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 12 April 2012 - 05:54 PM

Given the lack of progress on this issue, I'm not sure it's worth posting this, but there's been some changes lately (Baby First becoming available to most subscribers, Universal Sports Network's free preview ending, and Cloo being moved to a higher package), so I felt I'd bring it up so anyone reading this thread would alter their lists accordingly.



Once again I state, given the lack of progress on this issue, I'm not sure it's worth posting this, but I noticed today that ALL HBO and Cinemax HD channels are showing up as CIG, instead of just the recently added ones.

I added them to my list. :mad:

~Alan

#28 OFFLINE   kevinwmsn

kevinwmsn

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,343 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 14 April 2012 - 11:41 AM

I wish they would either get to fixing the issue or dropping the CIG in the list. The HBOs and Cinemax issue has been there since they added the remaining HBOs and Cinemax in HD.
my setup here

#29 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 19 April 2012 - 03:30 PM

Once again I state, given the lack of progress on this issue, I'm not sure it's worth posting this, but I noticed today that ALL HBO and Cinemax HD channels are showing up as CIG, instead of just the recently added ones.

I added them to my list. :mad:


Well... that was fast... shame they didn't fix the rest of the HBO/Cinemax channels, but at least the older ones are back to normal. :rolleyes:

I'm editing my list back to the way it was...

~Alan

#30 OFFLINE   Racer88

Racer88

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 795 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 19 April 2012 - 05:51 PM

Just another example of DirecTV's ever growing list of half assed "features" :nono2: Not to mention one of the longest standing ones.

Half assed checklist -
CIG - check
VOD - check
Widgets/Apps/wtfever - check
Media share - check
Youtube - check
ESATA - check
USB - check
DLB - check

Most recently
Smart Search - check
Basic functionality - check, check, check

#31 OFFLINE   Joe Spears

Joe Spears

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 109 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2010

Posted 29 July 2012 - 02:29 PM

Programming Package: Choice Xtra (non grandfathered) + Starz/Encore, Showtime/TMC, NFL ST & HD Extra Pack
Dish: SWM 5 LNB

When CIG is selected the following I do NOT receive are showing in the guide:
235
405
421
426
431
435
445
471
471-1
472
472-1
473
473-1
474
474-1
475
475-1
476
476-1
499
576-1
577
580
582
608-1
619
620
621
621-1
622
623
623-1
624
625
626
628
629
629-1
630
631
633
633-1
634
635
636
636-1
637
637-1
638
638-1
639
640
641
641-1
642
643
643-1
653
654
655
655-1
656
656-1
657
657-1
658
658-1
659
660
660-1
661
661-1
662
663
664
664-1
665
666
666-1
667
668
669
669-1
671
672
672-1
673
673-1
675
675-1
676
677
677-1
678
678-1
679
679-1
680
680-1
681
682
682-1
683
684
684-1
685
685-1
686
687
688
688-1
692
693
694
694-1
695
695-1
696
697
697-1
698
699
699-1
750
751
751-1
752
752-1
753
753-1
754
754-1
755
755-1
756
756-1
757
757-1
758
758-1
759
759-1
760
760-1
761
761-1
762
762-1
763
763-1
764
764-1
765
765-1
766
766-1
767
767-1
768
768-1
788
789
790
791
792
793
2103
2104
2105
2112
2115
2116
9543
9545
9547
9548
9550

Edited by Joe Spears, 28 November 2012 - 06:41 PM.
Updated


#32 OFFLINE   Fish628

Fish628

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: May 19, 2012

Posted 27 August 2012 - 09:15 AM

is there a list somewhere that actually shows the channels one is supposed to actually get on any given package? because the CIG feature in the box is pretty much useless...

#33 OFFLINE   kevinwmsn

kevinwmsn

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,343 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 28 August 2012 - 12:04 PM

If you have a current package, those channels are listed on Direct's website.
my setup here

#34 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 28 August 2012 - 12:07 PM

is there a list somewhere that actually shows the channels one is supposed to actually get on any given package? because the CIG feature in the box is pretty much useless...


If you have a current package, those channels are listed on Direct's website.


Actually... the website only gives a PARTIAL view of what channels one is supposed to actually receive. I don't believe the website lists 100% of the shopping channels, UEFA channels, etc...

~Alan

#35 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,013 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 28 August 2012 - 01:13 PM

The word is, cig may finally be working right some where around the end of the year this year... I can only hope....

#36 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,214 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 28 August 2012 - 01:26 PM

The word is, cig may finally be working right some where around the end of the year this year... I can only hope....


You'll pardon me if I don't hold my breath waiting for that, won't you? :)

Of course, since I have Premier it is mostly right.

I suppose that's something like 'nearly headless Nick' had to go through, huh? :lol:

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#37 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,013 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 28 August 2012 - 03:23 PM

You'll pardon me if I don't hold my breath waiting for that, won't you? :)

Of course, since I have Premier it is mostly right.

I suppose that's something like 'nearly headless Nick' had to go through, huh? :lol:


Yeah I know. But evidently this is a much bigger systems issue they have been working on For a while now. It actually has nothing to do with our boxes.

Personally I don't care the reason, I'd be embarrassed to be in charge and have this particular issue still out there after what six plus years? But that's just me.

#38 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,214 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 11 September 2012 - 12:23 PM

Well it appears that it isn't embarrassing enough to get it fixed, huh? :)

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#39 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,013 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 11 September 2012 - 12:38 PM

Well it appears that it isn't embarrassing enough to get it fixed, huh? :)


The word is the same this week as it has been for a few months.. They are hoping to have it fixed before the end of the year.... It's a major systems change on their end...

Not that that is a good excuse for not working on it years ago, but if they do finally get it fixed this year, I'll be happy that we can all move on...

I don't think they get how ridiculous it is for this to have been going on for so long.

#40 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 20 October 2012 - 02:10 PM

For those that care, HBO, Cinemax, and Encore are now correct...

The 600s and 700s (among others) are still a mess, but progress is progress! :D




spam firewall