Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Two 622's - only one with rain fade


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BillJ

BillJ

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 826 posts
Joined: May 05, 2005

Posted 24 August 2011 - 04:26 AM

Noticed something interesting yesterday as strong thunderstorms moved through the area. I have two 622s. The older serves the big TV and one in the kitchen. The newer one serves the master bedroom and den. Had them both on with kitchen and den TVs on when the storms approached. Both on same channel because I was moving between the two rooms. The older 622 lost signal due to rain fade. The new one didn't. A little further investigation determined that the older 622 was looking at 129 while the newer 622 had switched from 129 to 61.5. Of course, as the storm moved from west to east I eventually lost 61.5 too, but I wonder why the older 622 didn't also switch to 61.5 for a while.

(90 miles west of Chicago loop: 129 here is lousy. My locals are on both 129 and 61.5. I'd make it the default satellite if I could. 110 and 119 don't have near the rain fade problems I see with 129. Nor does 61.5 but this storm had rain rates of over 3"/hr. That would knock out anything.)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 24 August 2011 - 11:45 AM

Without looking at your account I wouldn't be able to determine what occurred to your signal during this storm. What confuses me is why you have both the 61.5 and the 129 satellites since they both provide the HD feed for our different installation types. Do you have 2 different dishes outside? It appears, from what you are describing, you have a WA installation - 110, 119, 129.

Your local channels are fed on the 110 or 61.5 satellite with the local HD channels on 129 or 61.5. You have channels 7 and 2 fed on satellite 119 in SD. So it doesn't make sense why you have 129 and 61.5.

#3 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 24 August 2011 - 07:07 PM

First to answer your question one receiver rebooted or did a check switch, the other did not. I have seen this happen more than once with mine. As we speak, one receiver is getting HBO channel 300 on 110 the other on 61.5 because of the storm last night, during which one was set to update, the other not during the storm. When they both update tonight, both will be on 61.5 again. (I have both arcs)

I don't understand something however. 61.5 IS the default satellite in any instillation, followed by the the next higher number sats. It will show any channels first, then 72, then 77, 110, 119, 129. Your locals should be coming from 61.5, even though they are on 129 also.

Edited by tampa8, 24 August 2011 - 07:37 PM.


#4 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,473 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 25 August 2011 - 06:43 PM

Receivers seem to randomly select 129 or 61.5 when they do their nightly download and reboot.

I have a WA D1000 with a wing dish on 61.5 and my 4 HD receivers all select different satellites, depending on where the storm comes from either 61.5 or 129 will be knocked down for 5-10 minutes with a really heavy storm.

I am praying for some rain fade since we are about 10 inches off our annual rainfall (should be 12.5 by now).
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#5 OFFLINE   jcrobso

jcrobso

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 70 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2005

Posted 26 August 2011 - 11:34 AM

I was watching DVR at the time so I didn't notice, I live 15 Miles from DT Chicago.
What are you signal levels?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...