Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Popular Dish


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   GiantsFan383

GiantsFan383

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 24 August 2011 - 01:52 PM

What is the most standard dish Directv uses for installs nowadays?

Is it the Slimline 5 or the 3?

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,646 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 August 2011 - 01:54 PM

You would get the SWiM-enabled Slimline 3 (SL3S) unless your area or your programming package requires you to have access to the 110 and 119 satellites.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   GiantsFan383

GiantsFan383

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 24 August 2011 - 01:56 PM

I would need to see 119,99,101..if that makes sense.

#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,646 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 August 2011 - 02:32 PM

Are you sure you need to see 119 and not 103?
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,379 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 24 August 2011 - 02:40 PM

You only need 119º if your local SD channels are beamed from that satellite, or if you subscribe to the Spanish channel packages. Where exactly are you located?
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#6 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 24 August 2011 - 04:04 PM

The correct answer depends on three main factors. The location of your SD locals, subscribe to Spanish and/or Chinese programming, and if you will be subscribing to HD or not.

SD locals on 101, no HD, no S/C = basic 18" odu.
SD locals on 101, no HD, S/C programming = 18x20" odu.
SD locals on 119, no HD, and/or S/C programming = 18x20" odu.
SD locals on 101, HD, no S/C = Slimline ODU with 3lnb
SD locals on 101, HD, S/C = Slimline ODU with 5lnb
SD locals on 101, HD, and/or S/C = Slimline ODU with 5lnb
Mpeg4 locals on 99/103, SD or HD programming, no S/C programming = Slimline with SL3
Mpeg4 locals on 99/103, SD or HD programming, S/C programming = Slimline with SL5
Other international programming currently requires a second ODU in addition to one of the above.

The Slimline IS NOT currently the default ODU. While it is heading that way, it is NOT true today, and I don't forsee it becoming so in the next 12-18 months.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#7 OFFLINE   GiantsFan383

GiantsFan383

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 24 August 2011 - 04:25 PM

You only need 119º if your local SD channels are beamed from that satellite, or if you subscribe to the Spanish channel packages. Where exactly are you located?



NJ

#8 OFFLINE   GiantsFan383

GiantsFan383

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 24 August 2011 - 04:28 PM

The correct answer depends on three main factors. The location of your SD locals, subscribe to Spanish and/or Chinese programming, and if you will be subscribing to HD or not.

SD locals on 101, no HD, no S/C = basic 18" odu.
SD locals on 101, no HD, S/C programming = 18x20" odu.
SD locals on 119, no HD, and/or S/C programming = 18x20" odu.
SD locals on 101, HD, no S/C = Slimline ODU with 3lnb
SD locals on 101, HD, S/C = Slimline ODU with 5lnb
SD locals on 101, HD, and/or S/C = Slimline ODU with 5lnb
Mpeg4 locals on 99/103, SD or HD programming, no S/C programming = Slimline with SL3
Mpeg4 locals on 99/103, SD or HD programming, S/C programming = Slimline with SL5
Other international programming currently requires a second ODU in addition to one of the above.

The Slimline IS NOT currently the default ODU. While it is heading that way, it is NOT true today, and I don't forsee it becoming so in the next 12-18 months.


I'm located in New Jersey and I am not subsribing to chinese or spanish programming. Everything else though

#9 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,962 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 24 August 2011 - 05:06 PM

I think they need to more than just you live in NJ. Preferably a zip code, but at least what major city all of your local channels are out of. NYC?
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#10 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,816 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 24 August 2011 - 05:37 PM

Yeah ...

"Central N.J." is too vague as one can see ...,

http://en.wikipedia....r_of_population

Need a zip code or certainly something more specific.

#11 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 24 August 2011 - 06:06 PM

DMA would work.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#12 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,816 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 24 August 2011 - 06:33 PM

DMA would work.


OK;

If the OP is uncomfortable revealing his zip code then at least give us the DMA from here for instance;

http://www.viamediatv.com/markets/

#13 OFFLINE   GiantsFan383

GiantsFan383

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 24 August 2011 - 07:24 PM

OK;

If the OP is uncomfortable revealing his zip code then at least give us the DMA from here for instance;

http://www.viamediatv.com/markets/


07001 is my zip code sorry

#14 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,962 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 24 August 2011 - 07:41 PM

So you are in the NYC DMA. I'm pretty sure the SD channels there are not on 119, so you would be fine with a 3LNB dish.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#15 OFFLINE   GiantsFan383

GiantsFan383

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 24 August 2011 - 07:50 PM

So you are in the NYC DMA. I'm pretty sure the SD channels there are not on 119, so you would be fine with a 3LNB dish.


ok thanks

#16 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,379 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 25 August 2011 - 12:08 AM

07001 is my zip code sorry


Slimline 3 will work just fine.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish





spam firewall