Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Router Behind DECA Cloud


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 27 August 2011 - 06:23 PM

I just placed a router to use as a Wireless Access Point (secondary wireless network) Behind my DECA Cloud. My Layout to the Access Point is DECA Cloud-->DECA Adapter--> Belkin Router-->R22

Has anyone had problems
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,859 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 August 2011 - 06:38 PM

This is a bit out of my knowledge base, but it would seem simpler to use the wireless CCK, which has a Wireless Access Point mode.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 27 August 2011 - 06:55 PM

I just placed a router to use as a Wireless Access Point (secondary wireless network) Behind my DECA Cloud. My Layout to the Access Point is DECA Cloud-->DECA Adapter--> Belkin Router-->R22

Has anyone had problems


Is your R22 not connected via DECA or are you placing the access point behind the R22? Can you place the access point by the primary router instead? Right now your MRV traffic is flowing through the access point to the R22.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#4 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 28 August 2011 - 07:36 AM

Is your R22 not connected via DECA or are you placing the access point behind the R22? Can you place the access point by the primary router instead? Right now your MRV traffic is flowing through the access point to the R22.


The MRV traffic appears to be fine. I put the most maximum load on the DECA Cloud to test it and it held.
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

#5 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,174 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 28 August 2011 - 10:27 AM

The MRV traffic appears to be fine. I put the most maximum load on the DECA Cloud to test it and it held.


OK;

But why is the R22 outside the DECA cloud and connected by WiFi to the router then into the DECA cloud to begin with?

#6 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,985 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 28 August 2011 - 10:39 AM

But why is the R22 outside the DECA cloud and connected by WiFi to the router then into the DECA cloud to begin with?

Because the DECA adapter is now being used to connect the WAP (and its clients) to the LAN instead of the R22 alone?

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#7 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,174 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 28 August 2011 - 11:11 AM

Because the DECA adapter is now being used to connect the WAP (and its clients) to the LAN instead of the R22 alone?


To be honest I'm still confused by some parts of the OP's setup here regarding the R22;

And how (and why) is a DECA dongle being used to connect a WAP?

#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,859 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 August 2011 - 11:55 AM

To be honest I'm still confused by some parts of the OP's setup here regarding the R22;

And how (and why) is a DECA dongle being used to connect a WAP?

You're not alone, but I'd guess this is to increase the wireless coverage, leveraging the DECA network.
The Wireless BB DECA, as I suggested earlier, seems like it would be ideal for this, since it would be ethernet to the R22, a WAP, and connected to the DECA, so the best of everything.
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 28 August 2011 - 12:57 PM

You're not alone, but I'd guess this is to increase the wireless coverage, leveraging the DECA network.


I'm gonna guess you're correct here.

The OP should probably chime in regarding the rationalle for the WAP placement. If it can be placed elsewhere it probably should be. Especially if they're expecting D* to support the DECA setup.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#10 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 28 August 2011 - 12:57 PM

The Ethernet from the DECA dongle goes to the Belkin, and then another ethernet cord connects the R22 to the Belkin
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

#11 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 28 August 2011 - 01:03 PM

The Ethernet from the DECA dongle goes to the Belkin, and then another ethernet cord connects the R22 to the Belkin


In this case the "why" would be as important as the "how." Is there a reason the WAP was placed between the DECA and the R22, and not elsewhere?
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#12 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 09 September 2011 - 11:09 AM

To the OP: your setup should work fine. In my bedroom, a WRT54G is connected to DECA, and an HR23 and and a PS3 are connected to the WRT54G. In addition to those devices getting their Internet access that way, the WRT54G also extends my wireless network. I plan on also connecting another router/access point to DECA in my shed, which will further extend the range of my wireless network.
HR21-700 | HR23-700 (2) | H24-700
DECA MRV setup, including one module connected to a WAP/switch (for PS3 and Xbox 360) and another connected directly to a Slingbox

#13 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,015 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 09 September 2011 - 12:22 PM

Just make sure you turn of the Belkin Router's DHCP and use it in WAP/switch mode only. You don't want it giving the R22 an IP address.

Otherwise, other than it not being a supported configuration, it will work fine.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...