Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Cable TV too?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hotspace

hotspace

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: May 24, 2006

Posted 30 August 2011 - 09:38 AM

Is it possible to have an installer run the Sat signal over the same line as Cable? Reason...I have a Tivo that I use for viewing movies stored on an External Hard Drive that is connected to my computer. All done wirelessly. If I can keep Cabletv...at lifeline cable (bare minnimum) It'll make it easier to justify keeping the Tivo hooked up. Or, is it possible to stream movies to the HD DVR Directv offers?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,021 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 30 August 2011 - 09:44 AM

No, they can't share the coax. The streaming ability on DirecTV is very poor for the most part. If you can, then look into a streaming box like WD Live or even a Blu Ray player that has streaming capabilities.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,859 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 30 August 2011 - 10:30 AM

Is it possible to have an installer run the Sat signal over the same line as Cable? Reason...I have a Tivo that I use for viewing movies stored on an External Hard Drive that is connected to my computer. All done wirelessly. If I can keep Cabletv...at lifeline cable (bare minnimum) It'll make it easier to justify keeping the Tivo hooked up. Or, is it possible to stream movies to the HD DVR Directv offers?


No, they can't share the coax. The streaming ability on DirecTV is very poor for the most part. If you can, then look into a streaming box like WD Live or even a Blu Ray player that has streaming capabilities.

"Yes & No".
While not supported, and not always possible, in some cases they can share the same coax. If you're on a SWiM DirecTV setup, CATV can be diplexed in, but you also lose the ability to use the DirecTV coax networking.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,021 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 30 August 2011 - 10:33 AM

Thank God for VOS. I knew I should've waited until he answered.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#5 OFFLINE   hotspace

hotspace

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: May 24, 2006

Posted 31 August 2011 - 08:00 AM

Thanks guys....Looks like I'll be utilizing the Tivo with a really good interior OTA Antenna. Anyone have suggestions for that?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...