Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Whole Home Issues..


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   scb2k

scb2k

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 31 August 2011 - 01:20 PM

I had my whole home service up and working with no issues for close to a year. This past weekend I had to wash the carpet and disconnected all my receivers and routers. I'm now getting warnings that my receivers keep losing connection, causing me not to be able to play a show.

Is there anything that I can do to get things working back to how it was before?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,012 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 31 August 2011 - 01:26 PM

Do you have the system connected to a router, ie the internet?

If so, set all your receivers to static IP's outside the routers DHCP range.

#3 OFFLINE   scb2k

scb2k

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 31 August 2011 - 01:29 PM

Do you have the system connected to a router, ie the internet?

If so, set all your receivers to static IP's outside the routers DHCP range.


Yes, all receivers are connected to the internet via DECA.

I will give this a try when I get home, thank you for the advice.

#4 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,012 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 31 August 2011 - 01:45 PM

Menu>Setup>System Setup>Network Setup>Advanced Setup

Make sure the Subnet Mask is the same on all receivers and that the Default Gateway and DNS are set to the Router's IP address. I have my router (Airport Extreme) set to allow DHCP addresses from 10.0.1.2 to 10.0.1.100. My receivers are all set to 10.0.1.201-208.

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,849 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 31 August 2011 - 02:35 PM

Wonder if this thread has anything to do with this one: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=196317
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   scb2k

scb2k

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 31 August 2011 - 10:52 PM

Menu>Setup>System Setup>Network Setup>Advanced Setup

Make sure the Subnet Mask is the same on all receivers and that the Default Gateway and DNS are set to the Router's IP address. I have my router (Airport Extreme) set to allow DHCP addresses from 10.0.1.2 to 10.0.1.100. My receivers are all set to 10.0.1.201-208.


I have followed your instructions, and everything seems to be connected and working fine. I will come back here and provide an update.

Thank you!

#7 OFFLINE   scb2k

scb2k

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 31 August 2011 - 10:54 PM

Wonder if this thread has anything to do with this one: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=196317


No, they are not related ;)

Different issues.

#8 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,030 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 01 September 2011 - 07:08 PM

I have followed your instructions, and everything seems to be connected and working fine. I will come back here and provide an update.

Thank you!

Well! What's happening?
DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR24-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#9 OFFLINE   scb2k

scb2k

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 10 September 2011 - 01:10 PM

everything has been fixed. My receivers are all connected with each other and not disconnecting from the network.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...