Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Sony Sat-B55 and DMX: can't get certain channels


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   phelme

phelme

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jul 22, 2007

Posted 03 September 2011 - 01:22 PM

I have an *old* Sat-B55 that has been used mostly for music as part of a home audio installation. Lately though, I've noticed it can't get certain DMX (Sonic Tap) channels. Zen (857), Dance (859) and Light Classical (866) for instance, give me nothing but "Searching for satellite signal..." messages. Most of the other music channels work however. And my HD receivers get the channels just fine.

I've rebooted and reactivated the Sat-B55 multiple times. ;)

Is my receiver simply too out of date tech-wise to get those channels?

thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,593 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 03 September 2011 - 02:05 PM

Some of the music channels are beamed from DirecTV's 119ºW satellite, not the main 101ºW satellite. I'm guessing your old B55 can see that satellite.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,853 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 September 2011 - 03:59 PM

I have an *old* Sat-B55 that has been used mostly for music as part of a home audio installation. Lately though, I've noticed it can't get certain DMX (Sonic Tap) channels. Zen (857), Dance (859) and Light Classical (866) for instance, give me nothing but "Searching for satellite signal..." messages. Most of the other music channels work however. And my HD receivers get the channels just fine.

I've rebooted and reactivated the Sat-B55 multiple times. ;)

Is my receiver simply too out of date tech-wise to get those channels?

thanks!

Check on which sat/tpn the channels locating http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=196104.
What dish you have ? One LNBF (very old), or two (Phase II) or three (Phase III) ? Or post close picture of it.

#4 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 907 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 03 September 2011 - 04:00 PM

i dont think that reciever is multisat anyway so it will only see the 101

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,853 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 September 2011 - 04:06 PM

i dont think that reciever is multisat anyway so it will only see the 101


Why you think that ? I'm sure you can read its manual from Internet ...

#6 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 907 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 03 September 2011 - 05:55 PM

i was thinking it was one of the older sonys that only picked up 101 but maybe not that one does appear to be multisat but still really old just call for a service call and get it fixed its only $49 or free if you have ptotection plan

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,853 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 September 2011 - 06:32 PM

So, we're back to the question - what dish is OP using ? How many LNBFs at least ?

#8 OFFLINE   phelme

phelme

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jul 22, 2007

Posted 03 September 2011 - 06:56 PM

Pretty sure it's the 5 LNB Slimline.

And my Sat-B55 can select an oval 3-sat dish in the menu.

These channels worked a couple weeks ago I'm sure. And I've changed nothing on my end.

Check on which sat/tpn the channels locating http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=196104.
What dish you have ? One LNBF (very old), or two (Phase II) or three (Phase III) ? Or post close picture of it.



#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,853 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 September 2011 - 07:17 PM

Pretty sure it's the 5 LNB Slimline.

And my Sat-B55 can select an oval 3-sat dish in the menu.

These channels worked a couple weeks ago I'm sure. And I've changed nothing on my end.

And where are those desired channels ? Sat/tpn ?

#10 OFFLINE   phelme

phelme

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jul 22, 2007

Posted 03 September 2011 - 07:32 PM

According to what's on the transponder map thread, same bird, different transponder.

0 SONIC 856 6 D9S @101W 101 00BE SonicTap: New Age xmvisns (<- I can receive)
0 SONIC 857 22 D9S @101W 101 00AA SonicTap: Zen xmchill (<- I can't receive)


And where are those desired channels ? Sat/tpn ?


Edited by phelme, 03 September 2011 - 07:42 PM.


#11 OFFLINE   phelme

phelme

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jul 22, 2007

Posted 03 September 2011 - 07:41 PM

and interestingly enough, this one:

0 SONIC 864 22 D9S @101W 101 00BE SonicTap: Symphonic xmclsc

which is listed to be on the same transponder as Zen, I can get. Maybe they moved things around again and the guide data hasn't been updated, since channels on 119 aren't listed on my guide.

#12 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,853 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 September 2011 - 08:16 PM

According to what's on the transponder map thread, same bird, different transponder.

0 SONIC 856 6 D9S @101W 101 00BE SonicTap: New Age xmvisns (<- I can receive)
0 SONIC 857 22 D9S @101W 101 00AA SonicTap: Zen xmchill (<- I can't receive)


OK, lets check signal levels of those tpns on your Sony B55.

#13 OFFLINE   phelme

phelme

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jul 22, 2007

Posted 04 September 2011 - 01:05 PM

91+ on 22 and 6

the Sat-B55 only shows satellites as "A, B & C" and doesn't give any specific designation. I'm assuming A is 101 based on the numbering of the transponders.

OK, lets check signal levels of those tpns on your Sony B55.



#14 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,853 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 September 2011 - 05:21 PM

That's correct.
By old DTV terminology: satA - 101W, satB - 119W, satC - 110W. If you had all three, your dish is Phase III type.

As to initial issue, check with CSR, perhaps they change packaging of those audio channels.

#15 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 05 September 2011 - 02:20 AM

As to initial issue, check with CSR, perhaps they change packaging of those audio channels.

That would not cause a "searching for satellite signal" message.

#16 ONLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,911 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 06 September 2011 - 08:13 AM

There have been changes to the guide data over the past year or two resulting in much more data being sent. As a result, older receivers such as the one in question here are no longer able to properly handle all of the data.

I don't know the details, but I suspect the problem here is along these lines. A newer basic HD receiver (currently the D11 or D12) should solve this problem. The OP should be able to call DirecTV and have his older receiver replaced at little or no cost.

#17 OFFLINE   phelme

phelme

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jul 22, 2007

Posted 06 September 2011 - 10:30 AM

Data overload. Don't we all suffer from that these days. ;)

Well, I guess this was inevitable. Substituting with a D12 is easy enough, but then the issue is that I need to have all the touch panels throughout the house reprogrammed to support the new receiver (an older Elan system, where everything is decentralized). Wah. :nono2:

Thanks!

There have been changes to the guide data over the past year or two resulting in much more data being sent. As a result, older receivers such as the one in question here are no longer able to properly handle all of the data.

I don't know the details, but I suspect the problem here is along these lines. A newer basic HD receiver (currently the D11 or D12) should solve this problem. The OP should be able to call DirecTV and have his older receiver replaced at little or no cost.



#18 OFFLINE   David Ortiz

David Ortiz

    There for Jeter's flip play

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,100 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 06 September 2011 - 11:30 AM

Data overload. Don't we all suffer from that these days. ;)

Well, I guess this was inevitable. Substituting with a D12 is easy enough, but then the issue is that I need to have all the touch panels throughout the house reprogrammed to support the new receiver (an older Elan system, where everything is decentralized). Wah. :nono2:

Thanks!


I wonder if you change your sat setup on your B55 to 18" round dish, which would give you only channels from 101°, if you would be able to tune in the stations you're missing now. I think the music channels from 119° are international in flavor.

#19 OFFLINE   phelme

phelme

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jul 22, 2007

Posted 15 September 2011 - 10:28 AM

I forgot about this until today, but one of the nice things about the Sat-B55 is it shows you what sat and transponder it is trying to tune in for any particular channel. You have to work back through the menu and System/Antenna choices to get the info.

For my test case "Zen" (857) it says it is tuning into Sat A (101w), 21 and for that it gets no signal. Nothing. According to the latest maps, that's the right place. The guide data for the channel does come up, as far as song title goes, but "Searching for satellite signal" is there. What's funny is every other transponder that it does receive on 101w is like 93+ in strength. It's like the receiver doesn't think it's allowed to talk to that transponder.

I do actually have a tech coming out today to re-peak the dish, as my HD channels have been "brriiping" a lot lately. 103ca is ranging from the 40's to the low 60's; mostly due to a neighbor's dang tree. But while he's here maybe they can bump the Sony receiver from the office.

#20 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 15 September 2011 - 10:43 AM

It's like the receiver doesn't think it's allowed to talk to that transponder.

It doesn't work that way.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...