Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Switch Between 2 Dishes


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gmfryer

gmfryer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2010

Posted 08 September 2011 - 08:00 AM

I am a full time RV'er and have a roof mounted dome SD dish and I also have a Slimline dish I use for HD reception when I spend several (+) weeks at the same campground. Both are dual LNB's.

The question: is there some sort of A/B switch where I could have the wires permanently connected and just push buttons to switch from one source to the other, instead of removing the receiver and swapping the input wires from one source to the other?

Thanks,

Greg

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,381 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 08 September 2011 - 08:14 AM

You'll need to check the RF frequency range on such a switch.

Much of the equipment set up for switching TV antennas isn't rated for (or doesn't pass at all) DC power at the amperage required to power the LNB assembly.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#3 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 08 September 2011 - 01:23 PM

Bottom lineis, NO, there are no a/b/ switches available that will allow you to switch between Sat dish's, as you must send both a dc power componate and a rf componate to the lnb and must switches are made to block the dc and must will only pass up to about 600mhz, where you need to pass at lest 2.1gig herz.

#4 OFFLINE   gmfryer

gmfryer

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2010

Posted 09 September 2011 - 10:47 AM

Guess I will just run some long pig-tales out the back so I don't have to remove the receiver each time.

Thanks for the reply's!

Greg

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 September 2011 - 10:53 AM

Guess I will just run some long pig-tales out the back so I don't have to remove the receiver each time.

Thanks for the reply's!

Greg

May be the best option as this: http://www.amazon.co...r/dp/B0042QCLQ4

Doesn't have any more information as to what it does and doesn't do.
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,262 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 September 2011 - 11:36 AM

May be the best option as this: http://www.amazon.co...r/dp/B0042QCLQ4

Doesn't have any more information as to what it does and doesn't do.


Nah VOS ... not even close I'm afraid. :)

I got one of those from Radio Shack as a Christmas gift back in the 90's :lol:

And it can't switch satellite dishes. The Amazon listing is not correct, it's electronically the same as any cheap mechanical A/B switch but with IR remote control. I used it at the time to switch between the ch. 3 output of an old DIRECTV receiver and an OTA antenna for a TV that had no direct A/V inputs.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...