Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Stuck on "Step 1 of 2"


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   EricRobins

EricRobins

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2005

Posted 12 September 2011 - 10:48 AM

My H24 was showing a grey screen and not responding to remote or "touch" menu commands. I did a RBR and the box stopped on "Step 1 of 2" for hours.

I called tech support and was told that the box was probably over heating.

I left it unplugged for 6 hours and tried again, same result.

Should I call back to get a replacement?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,925 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 September 2011 - 10:51 AM

I would. No issues with any other units?

#3 OFFLINE   EricRobins

EricRobins

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2005

Posted 12 September 2011 - 10:55 AM

I really don't think its related, but last week one of my HR20's was having problems showing accurate information in the "time bar". A menu reset fixed it.

No other recent problems.

As further info, the problematic H24 is connected via SWiM and DECA to my HR24 and two HR20's.

#4 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,925 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 September 2011 - 01:16 PM

I'd think that was unrelated. I would call for a replacement. If you don't have the Protection Plan, it may cost you $20.

#5 OFFLINE   FenixTX

FenixTX

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 461 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 12 September 2011 - 03:15 PM

Call and get a replacement. Has your receiver been restarting randomly while watching tv? If so, your hard drive might be failing.
Go Big Red!!!

#6 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,925 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 September 2011 - 04:34 PM

Wouldn't apply in this case, no hard drive to fail. I'm operating on the assumption a letter wasn't omitted in the original post.

#7 OFFLINE   FenixTX

FenixTX

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 461 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 12 September 2011 - 07:27 PM

Wouldn't apply in this case, no hard drive to fail. I'm operating on the assumption a letter wasn't omitted in the original post.


Ah. Sorry. Didn't realize you have just an HD receiver and not a DVR.
Go Big Red!!!




spam firewall