Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How do you disassemble an RC64R Remote?


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,393 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 September 2011 - 08:47 PM

It would be easy task - get learning remote with JP-1 connector and PC ...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   jimbo1mcm

jimbo1mcm

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2011

Posted 16 September 2011 - 05:23 AM

Get a Harmony One and program what you want to turn off and on.

#23 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 17 September 2011 - 05:19 PM

Waaayyyy back in the day I used to repair electronic calculators and I don't think keyboards (or remote controls) have changed much since then.

There was a circuit board with tracks over each "button" which was a rubber piece that pressed on the circuit board to complete the connection. Rarely did the conductive surface on the rubber wear off but it DID often get "insulated" by dust or other contaminants in the air.

The fix was to rub the circuit board and the conductive rubber pad with denatured alcohol using a clean lint-free cloth (like the kind sold to clean eyeglasses).

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#24 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,791 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 17 September 2011 - 05:57 PM

Get a Harmony One and program what you want to turn off and on.

Heck, any programmable remote will do that. It doesn't have to be a Harmony. It's a nice remote but not the only game in town. ;)

Mike

µß
If you don't want to do sub-models at least do the new equipment...I'm just sayin'
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.





spam firewall