Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Local CW in HD


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Billzebub

Billzebub

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 531 posts
  • LocationPittsburgh, PA
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:10 PM

I was just wondering who gets their Local CW station in HD from DIRECTV. Here in Pittsburgh we get ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX and PBS.

Not that I watch CW much but I did record the first episode of Ringer (not sure if I'll watch it again).

Does anyone have any insight as to how they decide where to carry what HD locals?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,512 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:12 PM

http://home.comcast....dtvlil-dma.html


Of the top 50 DMAs, 46 have CW HD, all the top 23 have it. 75 of the top 100 have it.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   RML81

RML81

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Jul 03, 2011

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:12 PM

Most large cities' CW affiliates are in HD. I think it has more to do with the individual station offering an HD feed than any other factor. Maybe someone else who knows more about this will have further insight.

#4 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:16 PM

http://home.comcast....dtvlil-dma.html


Of the top 50 DMAs, 46 have CW HD, all the top 23 have it. 75 of the top 100 have it.


That number may have increased. That list is pretty out of date...

~Alan

#5 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:18 PM

Most large cities' CW affiliates are in HD. I think it has more to do with the individual station offering an HD feed than any other factor. Maybe someone else who knows more about this will have further insight.


As a general rule, The CW does not provide an HD feed to stations that are not in the top 100 markets. :mad:

~Alan

#6 OFFLINE   Bonneville44

Bonneville44

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2011

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:23 PM

As a general rule, The CW does not provide an HD feed to stations that are not in the top 100 markets. :mad:

~Alan


mine is in SD resolution (at best) but wierdly is coming through Directv as Widescreen in presentation (16:9 with correct aspect ratio for shows). I have my resolution set to Pillar box 4:3 SD channels, but this one still comes through 16:9 and so so so SD (our local CW is SD OTA as well).

#7 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:29 PM

mine is in SD resolution (at best) but wierdly is coming through Directv as Widescreen in presentation (16:9 with correct aspect ratio for shows). I have my resolution set to Pillar box 4:3 SD channels, but this one still comes through 16:9 and so so so SD (our local CW is SD OTA as well).


Yeah, all my SD locals are now coming through as widescreen. The sad thing is, they're not supposed to be. Somewhere between the local station and DirecTV, the picture is getting stretched. :mad:

Click here for more about that...

~Alan

#8 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,512 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:29 PM

As a general rule, The CW does not provide an HD feed to stations that are not in the top 100 markets. :mad:

~Alan


The link says otherwise. Not many, but there are a couple.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#9 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:50 PM

The link says otherwise. Not many, but there are a couple.


Hence why I said "as a general rule."

The CW (like WB), provides a 24 hour national feed for stations in 100+ markets. Most stations in these markets use this... but there are some CW affiliates in these markets that provide their own non-network programming.

~Alan

#10 OFFLINE   lokar

lokar

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 14 September 2011 - 03:05 PM

We just had an affiliation change here in Boise and DirecTV just added channel 3 CW to our locals, which is actually the San Diego CW affiliate (Boise has no channel 3). Unfortunately it's only in SD :mad:

#11 OFFLINE   Avder

Avder

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,395 posts
Joined: Feb 06, 2010

Posted 14 September 2011 - 03:28 PM

It would be really nice if DirecTV would add an HD DNS feed of the CW that we could get if we dont have an HD local CW feed. I'd really like to be able to watch some shows from the CW in HD, but I cant.

#12 OFFLINE   gmc9512

gmc9512

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 14 September 2011 - 03:50 PM

I was just wondering who gets their Local CW station in HD from DIRECTV. Here in Pittsburgh we get ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX and PBS.

Not that I watch CW much but I did record the first episode of Ringer (not sure if I'll watch it again).

Does anyone have any insight as to how they decide where to carry what HD locals?


Hi Billzebub,

I live about 50 miles north east of Pitttsburgh and have DIRECTV and would love to see them add the CW in HD. Supernatural is one of my favorite shows and a few of the new ones look to be interesting. I've tried to get it OTA from roof top antenna, but too many hills in the way.
_____________________________________
Slimline 3 Dish
Channel Master 4228 8 Bay Antenna
Whole home DVR Setup
HR24-500 Networked To Toshiba 50'' Projection
HR20-700 networked To Sony KDL- 55HX800
HR24-500 networked To Sony KDL-55HX800
HR20-700 To Sharp 42" Lcd

All are hard wired to linksys router.
Windstream DSL 6 Mbps Down, 1 Mbps Up

Dell XPS M1530

Iphone 4 verizon

#13 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,288 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 14 September 2011 - 03:57 PM

As a general rule, The CW does not provide an HD feed to stations that are not in the top 100 markets. :mad:

~Alan


Is the DNS CW for the east coast not in a top 100 market? I really wish as a DNS feed they had the HD version.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#14 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 September 2011 - 04:04 PM

Is the DNS CW for the east coast not in a top 100 market? I really wish as a DNS feed they had the HD version.


Both of the affiliates (WDCW & XETV) used for the DNS feeds are in HD (both are in top 100 markets) in their respective markets, but both are spot- beamed instead of CONUS.

~Alan

#15 OFFLINE   Billzebub

Billzebub

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 531 posts
  • LocationPittsburgh, PA
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:39 PM

http://home.comcast....dtvlil-dma.html


Of the top 50 DMAs, 46 have CW HD, all the top 23 have it. 75 of the top 100 have it.


Wow, Pittsburgh is the only market in the top 30 not to get the CW in HD and the 8 markets after us get it to.

I wonder what Pittsburgh did to upset D*

#16 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,512 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:41 PM

Wow, Pittsburgh is the only market in the top 30 not to get the CW in HD and the 8 markets after us get it to.

I wonder what Pittsburgh did to upset D*


It's probably Sidney Crosby or Ben's fault. ;)
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#17 OFFLINE   Billzebub

Billzebub

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 531 posts
  • LocationPittsburgh, PA
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:55 PM

It's probably Sidney Crosby or Ben's fault. ;)


We know the baseball team hasn't offended anyone from outside the city in decades.:D

#18 OFFLINE   ejbvt

ejbvt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 336 posts
  • LocationCentral NC
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 14 September 2011 - 08:04 PM

I have my local CW in HD on Directv, and the neighboring DMA's CW in HD, too, via OTA (and, as of tomorrow, via an AM21).

#19 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 September 2011 - 08:08 PM

We know the baseball team hasn't offended anyone from outside the city in decades.:D


LOL!!! :D

~Alan

#20 OFFLINE   georule

georule

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,584 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2010

Posted 15 September 2011 - 02:56 PM

We know the baseball team hasn't offended anyone from outside the city in decades.:D


Ouch. I just looked over at the framed photo of Roberto Clemente on my wall, and there seemed to be a tear rolling down one cheek. . .




spam firewall