Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Setup for Non HD Channels


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   DKNY330

DKNY330

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2011

Posted 17 September 2011 - 06:53 PM

Just got Direct TV installed today - it was a 10 hour install but that's for another thread!

Nown that all is setup, I have a question regarding Non HD channels and how to get them to look the best they can. Cablevision who I just switched from seemed to have much crisper picture than Direct TV. I hope there is something I can do in the setup menu to make it look better than it does now. All my TV's are HD. Thanks -

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,123 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 17 September 2011 - 06:55 PM

SD sucks on DirecTV compared to decent cable systems.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   DKNY330

DKNY330

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2011

Posted 17 September 2011 - 07:01 PM

I wish I knew this before I switched! Can't they do something to improve it or at least get more channels in HD?

#4 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,700 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 17 September 2011 - 07:01 PM

SD is not good on most Directv channels.

You can use native on with 480i and allow your tv to do the upscaling. Usually helps some. Also, adjust your tv for SD through calibration or eyeballing. If you have multiple picture settings, set one up for SD although a good setting for SD should be good for hd as well.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#5 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 17 September 2011 - 07:28 PM

I wish I knew this before I switched! Can't they do something to improve it or at least get more channels in HD?

What channels do you need in HD?
See this thread.
http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=194351
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#6 OFFLINE   DKNY330

DKNY330

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2011

Posted 17 September 2011 - 07:52 PM

So I should set up the Native option to be on in Video settings? Will this have any implications on anything else? Thanks

#7 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,700 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 17 September 2011 - 08:40 PM

So I should set up the Native option to be on in Video settings? Will this have any implications on anything else? Thanks


It will take a bit longer to change channels when the resolution changes because of hdmi handshakes. You can determine if that is livable or not.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#8 OFFLINE   mini1

mini1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 862 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2004

Posted 17 September 2011 - 08:43 PM

What is your receiver set on right now? Native or upscale everything to 1080i?

Best solution..... don't watch SD channels. The only two SD channels I watch are E! and BBCA and that is ONLY because D* still does not carry them in HD.

#9 OFFLINE   DKNY330

DKNY330

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2011

Posted 18 September 2011 - 03:38 AM

How do you change the settings to upscale everything to 1080i?

#10 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,264 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 18 September 2011 - 08:35 AM

How do you change the settings to upscale everything to 1080i?


If that's what you wish to do, have the receivers convert all programs to only one resolution, 1080i.

Under the "HDTV" ----> "Video" category in the Setup Menu, "Native" can be on or off. In the "HDTV" -----> "TV Resolutions" category, uncheck all resolutions except 1080i

(And check 1080P as well if you wish mostly for HD PPVs through VOD and some linear HD and the TV set is capable of receiving a 1080P/24Hz signal format.)

Keep the "FORMAT" option on the remote control set for "Pillar Box" display. Otherwise you will get "stretch-o-vision" whenever you tune to a 4:3 SD channel as almost all SD is which are broadcast by DIRECTV.

#11 OFFLINE   Barcthespark

Barcthespark

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 375 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2007

Posted 18 September 2011 - 09:04 AM

What is your receiver set on right now? Native or upscale everything to 1080i?

Best solution..... don't watch SD channels. The only two SD channels I watch are E! and BBCA and that is ONLY because D* still does not carry them in HD.


That's not really much of a solution.

#12 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,264 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 18 September 2011 - 09:21 AM

That's not really much of a solution.


But that's the point, there are no real solutions to this which are available to the subscriber here. :nono:

DIRECTV only provides about 480 x 480 pixel resolution on the SD channels, which may be acceptable on analog SDTVs and the smaller flat panels. But on the larger flat panels around 42 in. and up increasingly used today, that low a resolution is quite telling to put it mildly.

#13 OFFLINE   richard1428

richard1428

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: May 05, 2010

Posted 18 September 2011 - 09:22 AM

has directv SD always been like that? or when did they start to compress them?

#14 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,264 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 18 September 2011 - 10:26 AM

has directv SD always been like that? or when did they start to compress them?


No it hasn't always been this bad;

But ... in a nutshell with the SD bandwidth still he same 27 MHz wide 32 transponders at the one spot at 101 W and DIRECTV's SD channel lineup approximately doubling since they began broadcasting in '94, throw in the inclusion of over 30 full time Regional Sports Networks (RSNs) that need greater bandwidth on average than others, and the use of much less efficient MPEG-2 compression. The number of channels per transponder has gone from about 5-6 in the early days to some 10-12 today.

Therefore DIRECTV has to resort to tricks down-rezzing the source material to 480 x 480 today to squeeze all the channels in their limited bandwidth at 101.

#15 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,403 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 18 September 2011 - 12:17 PM

That's not really much of a solution.

It beats adding a service that does offer these channels in HD or buying your way out of the commitment.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#16 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,403 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 18 September 2011 - 12:39 PM

The number of channels per transponder has gone from about 5-6 in the early days to some 10-12 today.

You're not giving credit to the improvements in encoding and modulation technology.

Looking at the TPN maps, some of the transponders seem to have as many as 15 channels (D8 TP3). Music channels seem to run about 2:1.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#17 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,838 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 19 September 2011 - 07:59 AM

That's not really much of a solution.


Works for a great many of us.

Equipment includes a buncha stuff that I no longer have interest in detailing





Protected By... spam firewall...And...