Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Dish OTA EPG issues Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   scottchez

scottchez

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 935 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2003

Posted 10 March 2012 - 04:41 PM

Visiting relatives in a small population size DMA.

Only One out of the Seven over the air channels have guide data which makes it hard to imposing to record or know when to watch anything. None of the channels are up on the Sat

They have called dish three times once each year to open a ticket for the missing guide data. They even paid extra for the over the air module tuner

Sure sounds like Dish does not care about over the air guide data, but they sure will take your money and sell you a tuner. It would be so easy to add the guide data. Tribue already has the data. Dish just needs to type in the link to there table for locals. Some cities almost have all there guide data others have almost none.
"We need more power Scotty" Kirk

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,984 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 11 March 2012 - 09:15 PM

Visiting relatives in a small population size DMA.

Only One out of the Seven over the air channels have guide data which makes it hard to imposing to record or know when to watch anything. None of the channels are up on the Sat

They have called dish three times once each year to open a ticket for the missing guide data. They even paid extra for the over the air module tuner

Sure sounds like Dish does not care about over the air guide data, but they sure will take your money and sell you a tuner. It would be so easy to add the guide data. Tribue already has the data. Dish just needs to type in the link to there table for locals. Some cities almost have all there guide data others have almost none.


Since every DMA is carried at least in SD, the guide data should be available. Unless the OTA signals are translators and not the main station's signals.

This needs to be fixed, as you say customers purchase OTA modules. At least they can watch the stations, but guide data is essential.
BTW: What DMA and do you know which stations are not getting guide data?
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#28 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,984 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 11 March 2012 - 09:22 PM

Some over at the other site have reported having success by emailing dishquality@echostar.com .Think I'm going to give it a try see what happens.;)


Please let us know how that works out. You may want to let them know about the threads here so they can see your issues are not an isolated incident (as has been the approach by many tech support personnel I have spoken with in the past).
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#29 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 13 March 2012 - 09:33 AM

Please let us know how that works out. You may want to let them know about the threads here so they can see your issues are not an isolated incident (as has been the approach by many tech support personnel I have spoken with in the past).



Received a reply pretty quick(next business day) here's what it said:



Thank you for expressing your concerns and interest in DISH Network. Customer input is an important tool in our efforts to continuously improve the quality of the DISH Network service.

I will forward this information off to the appropriate department to see what can be done. As soon as I get any information on this issue, I will be sure and update you. If you have not heard anything from me in about 10 business days please email me again so that I may revisit this again.

We appreciate the time DISH Network customers take to email their audio/video quality concerns. Thank you for your patience and for being a valued customer.

EchoStar Broadcasting Corporation
Quality Assurance Department
dishquality@echostar.com

#30 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 02 May 2012 - 09:25 AM

Please let us know how that works out. You may want to let them know about the threads here so they can see your issues are not an isolated incident (as has been the approach by many tech support personnel I have spoken with in the past).



Still no fix I emailed them again two weeks ago and no reply.Thank maybe they are tired of hearing from me?.The ironic thing is that the programming information is being supplied in different parts of the USA,just not my area.

Guess I will start using Titan TV listings online as it seems they don't have a problem with channel programming information.:rolleyes:

#31 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 04 May 2012 - 06:40 AM

Woke up this morning to see the programming information for MeTV in my OTA DISH guide.

Thank You DISH!.:D:goodjob::)

Edited by Jhon69, 30 May 2012 - 07:23 PM.


#32 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 04 May 2012 - 04:22 PM

Woke up this morning to see the programming information for MeTV in my OTA DISH guide.
Thank You DISH!.:D:goodjob::)

It's great to have the EPG info isn't it. I started getting my MeTV info almost two months ago, along with THIS. :hurah:
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#33 OFFLINE   PeggyD

PeggyD

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2006

Posted 04 May 2012 - 07:58 PM

Still no programming information for Antenna TV, 23.3, here in the Seattle area.

#34 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 05 May 2012 - 08:47 AM

Please provide your receiver number to me in a PM and I will submit a trouble report. Please include the call letters for the channel. Thanks.

Still no programming information for Antenna TV, 23.3, here in the Seattle area.



#35 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 05 May 2012 - 09:27 AM

It's great to have the EPG info isn't it. I started getting my MeTV info almost two months ago, along with THIS. :hurah:


Yes it is!.:D

But I guess I'm easy as I don't have programming information for one of my THiS channels,but I get 2 of them(I get channels north and south of my residence,so I end up having repeat channels sometimes) so I can see what's on, on the other one,so no complaints.:)

#36 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 05 May 2012 - 09:30 AM

Still no programming information for Antenna TV, 23.3, here in the Seattle area.



Until they get it fixed the programming information should be available at Titan TV.:)

#37 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,984 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 07 May 2012 - 04:24 PM

Finally somebody is getting this longtime issue resolved!

Ray, can I send you my list of missing (and incorrect) guide data channels for the Cleveland DMA?
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#38 OFFLINE   PeggyD

PeggyD

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2006

Posted 08 May 2012 - 11:35 AM

Until they get it fixed the programming information should be available at Titan TV.:)


I know that I can check TitanTV or TVGuide.com, I've been doing that for over a year! But that's not the point of this thread & your reply comes across as insulting. :icon_dumm

#39 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 08 May 2012 - 04:30 PM

Received a reply pretty quick(next business day) here's what it said:



Thank you for expressing your concerns and interest in DISH Network. Customer input is an important tool in our efforts to continuously improve the quality of the DISH Network service.

I will forward this information off to the appropriate department to see what can be done. As soon as I get any information on this issue, I will be sure and update you. If you have not heard anything from me in about 10 business days please email me again so that I may revisit this again.

We appreciate the time DISH Network customers take to email their audio/video quality concerns. Thank you for your patience and for being a valued customer.

EchoStar Broadcasting Corporation
Quality Assurance Department
dishquality@echostar.com


I know that I can check TitanTV or TVGuide.com, I've been doing that for over a year! But that's not the point of this thread & your reply comes across as insulting. :icon_dumm



OK I apologize it was not meant to be.Suggest you do what I did email dishquality@echostar.com,also email the station manager.It worked for me,Good Luck!:)

#40 OFFLINE   PeggyD

PeggyD

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2006

Posted 08 May 2012 - 07:26 PM

Apology accepted, thank you.

The only time I've e-mail the quality team I got a reply that OTA wasn't their concern. Kind of makes you not want to try. Much the same type of response I got in the forums (before DIRT). We'll see what happens, but I certainly won't hold my breath.

#41 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 09 May 2012 - 05:58 PM

Apology accepted, thank you.

The only time I've e-mail the quality team I got a reply that OTA wasn't their concern. Kind of makes you not want to try. Much the same type of response I got in the forums (before DIRT). We'll see what happens, but I certainly won't hold my breath.



Wooh! if I got an email like that I would forward that email to the executive office of DISH www.ceo@dishnetwork.com just to see what kind of heat they would bring down to the originator of that email,you just don't talk to a customer that way!,remember you always have recourse,you just have to know how to use it.;):D

Remember email the station manager too!.Good Luck!:)

#42 OFFLINE   dreamsatellite

dreamsatellite

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: May 13, 2012

Posted 14 May 2012 - 05:15 AM

i have the same EPG problem, is there a way to change the Chinese into English?
we are using this satellite: dishhdtvchina.com

#43 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 15 May 2012 - 11:47 PM

i have the same EPG problem, is there a way to change the Chinese into English?
we are using this satellite: dishhdtvchina.com



When I select that program guide from the website you said the program guide come up in English on my computer.

I don't see anywhere in my receiver's Menu to change the EPG's language,there is a selection for alternate audio.You may have to use your computer to translate in English.Good Luck!:)

I did some studying of the receiver's system information in the Main Menu you can select Language(it's in the pictures at the bottom),then hopefully you will be able to select English there for the EPG language.again Good Luck!:)

Edited by Jhon69, 16 May 2012 - 12:01 AM.


#44 OFFLINE   fmcomputer

fmcomputer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 149 posts
  • LocationYoungstown. Ohio
Joined: Oct 14, 2006

Posted 16 May 2012 - 06:11 PM

WYFX Fox Youngstown, OH Channel 19.1 listed as Digital service on EPG

#45 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 17 May 2012 - 09:42 AM

Please PM your receiver number to me so I can submit a trouble report about this issue. Thanks.

WYFX Fox Youngstown, OH Channel 19.1 listed as Digital service on EPG



#46 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 30 May 2012 - 07:28 PM

Woke up this morning to see the programming information for MeTV in my OTA DISH guide.

Thank You DISH!.:D:goodjob::)



Well that didn't last long now my MeTV information is showing just a summary of the program,nothing about the episode being shown.I have a feeling this has something to do with the networks lawsuits,even though my other OTA programming is showing episode information.:confused::confused:

MeTV-43.6-Fresno-Visalia,CA.

#47 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,628 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:27 PM

Well that didn't last long now my MeTV information is showing just a summary of the program,nothing about the episode being shown.I have a feeling this has something to do with the networks lawsuits,even though my other OTA programming is showing episode information.:confused::confused:

MeTV-43.6-Fresno-Visalia,CA.


Nothing to do with lawsuits.

This happens quite a bit on satellite channels too. All-too-often I see nights with generic "a show about a guy who ..." descriptions that then get replaced a day or two later when the EPG refreshes.

For whatever reason, Dish sometimes doesn't get/put the right info.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#48 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 31 May 2012 - 12:23 AM

Well that didn't last long now my MeTV information is showing just a summary of the program,nothing about the episode being shown.I have a feeling this has something to do with the networks lawsuits,even though my other OTA programming is showing episode information.:confused::confused:

MeTV-43.6-Fresno-Visalia,CA.


I lost the program details on MeTV 5.3 MSP two or three days ago. It's very annoying. :(

I think the problem must be between MeTV and Tribune Media/TV Guide. :confused:
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#49 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 01 June 2012 - 07:41 AM

Please PM me your receiver number so I can submit a trouble report to our programming department to check on this issue. Thanks.

I lost the program details on MeTV 5.3 MSP two or three days ago. It's very annoying. :(

I think the problem must be between MeTV and Tribune Media/TV Guide. :confused:



#50 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 02 June 2012 - 01:54 PM

Well that didn't last long now my MeTV information is showing just a summary of the program,nothing about the episode being shown.I have a feeling this has something to do with the networks lawsuits,even though my other OTA programming is showing episode information.:confused::confused:

MeTV-43.6-Fresno-Visalia,CA.



OK my episode information for MeTV has been corrected.I am seeing the program's description per episode for MeTV in my DISH MT2 OTA guide again in my 922.Thanks DISH!.:):goodjob:




Protected By... spam firewall...And...