Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DBSTalk First Look: High Definition User Interface


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
238 replies to this topic

#221 OFFLINE   noisuf0

noisuf0

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2011

Posted 31 October 2011 - 02:14 PM

Does nobody how to manually force the update upon your unit...? or am i special select few...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#222 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 31 October 2011 - 02:14 PM

well i got a 3d tv and the hr20s dont work on 3d tvs i called dtv and they replaced for free with no new agreement


But then you risk getting an HR21/2/3 whcih is more like a downgrade to an HR20....unless you need 3D. Otherwise, I would recommend staying with an HR20 (unless you can be guaranteed an HR24).

#223 OFFLINE   Rasterburn

Rasterburn

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2009

Posted 31 October 2011 - 02:14 PM

ok now i understand what you meant about your last post that the updates might not be on same day for every customer but might take a couple weeks

#224 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 31 October 2011 - 02:15 PM

The caveat on the updated GUI webpage reads: "Available on all HD DVR and HD Receivers, model H21 and later. HD Receiver model H20 excluded."

So y'all are saying that H20 is excluded but the HR20 is included?


Yes.

#225 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,892 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 31 October 2011 - 02:15 PM

The caveat on the updated GUI webpage reads: "Available on all HD DVR and HD Receivers, model H21 and later. HD Receiver model H20 excluded."

So y'all are saying that H20 is excluded but the HR20 is included?


Exactly.

#226 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,892 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 31 October 2011 - 02:17 PM

Does nobody how to manually force the update upon your unit...? or am i special select few...


You can try to force an update all day long, but it won't really help to get the release much faster in the rollout. They authorize it on a rolling basis so that not too many units get it all at once. If your area hasn't been added in the rollout, you can't force it either.

#227 OFFLINE   noisuf0

noisuf0

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2011

Posted 31 October 2011 - 02:18 PM

So I take it you guys don't know how to do this then. It's easy. Am I allowed to post how to get it here?

p.s: It's because you don't do it all day during the day... there is a time frame involved.

#228 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 31 October 2011 - 02:20 PM

So I take it you guys don't know how to do this then. It's easy. Am I allowed to post how to get it here?


To force whatever software is in the stream to download to your receiver, just restart, and when the receiver turns back on (lights come back on on the front of the receiver) type 02468 on the remote.

But that's not goiong to do you any good until the rollout gets to you.

#229 OFFLINE   thomasr1950

thomasr1950

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2009

Posted 31 October 2011 - 04:04 PM

I went to menu as stated on Directv, my menu is the same. How do i get the new menu?

#230 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,426 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 31 October 2011 - 04:05 PM

I went to menu as stated on Directv, my menu is the same. How do i get the new menu?


See Post #2

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#231 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 8,872 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 31 October 2011 - 04:09 PM

I went to menu as stated on Directv, my menu is the same. How do i get the new menu?


PM sent.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#232 OFFLINE   djzack67

djzack67

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 899 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 31 October 2011 - 04:10 PM

I look forward to this.

Edited by djzack67, 31 October 2011 - 10:38 PM.

Waiting for
BBCA HD

#233 OFFLINE   kjgarrison

kjgarrison

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 84 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2007

Posted 31 October 2011 - 05:12 PM

I look forward to this.


Sig outdated? AMC HD I have.

#234 OFFLINE   AllenE

AllenE

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 318 posts
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 31 October 2011 - 09:48 PM

The caveat on the updated GUI webpage reads: "Available on all HD DVR and HD Receivers, model H21 and later. HD Receiver model H20 excluded."

So y'all are saying that H20 is excluded but the HR20 is included?


Yes.

#235 OFFLINE   gatorblair

gatorblair

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationArkansas
Joined: May 21, 2010

Posted 31 October 2011 - 10:44 PM

So I take it you guys don't know how to do this then. It's easy. Am I allowed to post how to get it here?

p.s: It's because you don't do it all day during the day... there is a time frame involved.


Well......

#236 OFFLINE   djzack67

djzack67

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 899 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 01 November 2011 - 12:45 AM

So are we hoping for rollout to start today
Waiting for
BBCA HD

#237 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,346 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 01 November 2011 - 03:26 AM

So are we hoping for rollout to start today


There are quite a few changes in the active columns on the DirecTV Firmware Watcher site. Perhaps a prelude for the roll out.

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#238 OFFLINE   tenpins

tenpins

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
  • LocationColorado
Joined: Jan 19, 2010

Posted 01 November 2011 - 03:46 AM

Festivus day! Guide looks good, time for coffee and will look indepth later. Will know more later when my GF turns TV on. All good

Like the White on Black colors for the guide, additional information highlighted in blue, not yellow. Okay, I can work with that. The 1 1/2 hour time frame is good, scrolling to the right is quick to look further ahead in time. To all those who put their time and efforts into making the guide better, Thank you. I know that not everyone will be happy, some will say it should be this or that. Time to catch a bus. Party on!

Edited by tenpins, 01 November 2011 - 04:04 AM.
Added brief observation/ comments


#239 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,640 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 November 2011 - 07:27 AM

I'm going to close this thread since it seems that the rollout has begun.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




spam firewall