Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

VIP722 slow guide response


  • Please log in to reply
112 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   conradv

conradv

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2011

Posted 21 November 2011 - 09:28 AM

I apologize for this inconvenience. I show that a software update is still scheduled to resolve this issue - don't know the exact release date. Thanks.


Back for my weekly rant. Twice in the last 2 days had to reset it.

I've sent emails off to Dish, but i never hear back. I must be using the wrong email adresses... :lol:

#52 OFFLINE   ky_dish_user

ky_dish_user

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2011

Posted 22 November 2011 - 10:32 AM

I have been experiencing the same issue a lot of folks on this board are mentioning...when using the the menu guide response if extremely slow. The remote works well at various times (both TV1 and TV2 same experience), but will start to become sluggish and can go on for days like this. I have had this issue off and on since having the VIP722 installed more than a year ago. I personally think this is a software issue that Dish needs to resolve immediately - we are all paying monthly for service that is unacceptable.

Can anyone give me an update on what is being done to fix this issue.

Thanks, Joe Cochran

#53 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 22 November 2011 - 10:43 AM

This is a known issue, with a software update pending to fix this problem. I don't know when the software will be released yet. Thanks.

I have been experiencing the same issue a lot of folks on this board are mentioning...when using the the menu guide response if extremely slow. The remote works well at various times (both TV1 and TV2 same experience), but will start to become sluggish and can go on for days like this. I have had this issue off and on since having the VIP722 installed more than a year ago. I personally think this is a software issue that Dish needs to resolve immediately - we are all paying monthly for service that is unacceptable.

Can anyone give me an update on what is being done to fix this issue.

Thanks, Joe Cochran



#54 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 22 November 2011 - 12:18 PM

I sent Dish an email saying that I had the issue on my 722k and got an answer. Apparently they consider this a known issue and intend to correct it via software.

OT:

I only hope they can correct it and it's not an enduring problem like the Seagate sleep timer. Oh BTW, I have noticed that about every other attempt to fire up the Seagate ends in the 722k not recognizing the EHD. However, after a few tries (powering down the Seagate), the 722k eventually recognizes it.
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#55 OFFLINE   GiantFan

GiantFan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2006

Posted 26 November 2011 - 04:49 PM

I have a problem that seems to have just started in the last few days with my 722K. The problem appears to be similar to the slow guide issue, but for me includes other buttons/commands as well. Just about any button or command except for power on/off seems to be either very slow, or not working at all. I normally use a Logitech Harmoy remote (Had a 620 that was experiencing other issues so I just upgraded to a Harmony One), and I first thought that this was the issue - but it appears to be any IR - including the dish remote. If I use either the harmony one or the dish IR remote, I can turn the box on and off, but that's about it. Sometimes, If I put the remote right next to the IR port on the receiver, I can get it to respond - but not always. I tried the UHF remote from dish and it seems to work fine - as does the buttons on the front of the receiver. Does this seem to be the same as the slow guide response in this post, or do I have an IR problem with my receiver?

#56 OFFLINE   GiantFan

GiantFan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2006

Posted 26 November 2011 - 06:17 PM

I just thought I would post what I have found out (and done) to resolve my issues with the slow guide (and with IR commands in general). I posted above that this issue started a few days ago - and while that is true, I did not mention (since I did not think that this was related - but it was), that I also purchased a new LCD TV. My old Toshiba 36inch Tube died, and I replaced it with a new Vizio LCD. The issues started then, but I had thought it was my remote - which has some button issues - so I replaced it (Harmony 620) with a new Harmony One. As stated above, it (and the Dish IR Remote that came with the receiver) both had issues. I did a bit more research and found quite a number of folks that have had issues with the Dish receivers and LCD tv's. Apparently, the IR "noise" from these LCD tv's is interfering with the Dish remotes. On a number of the sites, I saw that one "fix" was to put a piece of paper (in my case I used a lime green sticky note) over the receiver IR port. I did this, and voila, the guide started working and all commands seemed to work fine as well. Apparently, this was the problem all along. Not sure if my sticky note solution will be the long term one, but for now - it seems to be working...

#57 OFFLINE   rick999

rick999

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2011

Posted 27 November 2011 - 11:59 AM

I too have been experiencing the slow response time from the remote when trying to change chanels or bring up the guide.

This all started about 6 months ago, but I have had little time to try to address it, but now it is becomming so annoying that I plan on sending a letter notifying Dish that I will break the contract and terminate service if they do not fix.

I've been on the phone for nearly an hour at a time....totally senseless and foolish procedures wasting my time. Worse I am a technical person, and I try to explain that the procedures they are stepping me through are a complete waste of time.

The last time, at my wits end on another of their silly steps, they INSISTED on sending me a remote....how stupid....it obviously has NOTHING to do with the remote.

As for the "solution" in covering the IR and that it is interference....no way....but just to eliminate a possibility I got a blanket and put it over the box and tried using the remote under the blanket directly in front of the box...NO DIFFERENCE.

When I click on the guide, it will take up to 2 or 3 seconds. Scrolling through the hourly on a channel is EXREMELY painful to the point I dont even use this feature.

Inexplicably some days it is better than others. HARD BOOTS DO NO GOOD WHATSOVER!!!

I believe this all started with a software upgrade from DISH months back. I also believe it is somehow related to the VOD and when they implemented that....just seems too coicedental.

We have 2 units....the VIP722 and in the other part of our home we have the non DVR units. Both of those units perform FLAWLESSLY.

It is ONLY the VIP722 causing the grief. It affects BOTH TV's on the unit.

There is NO way this is attributed to "interference" from the other remote. There is only two of us in the home, and this happens ALL THE TIME, when the other TVs are not in use.

We had no problems with DISH until we updated all our units earlier this year, and ever since all sorts of issues.

One other issue is with the HDMI cable on TV1. Ever since installation, after the unit went into standby at night, in the morning we would get a "no signal error". THe only way to get it out of this error was to hard boot the VIP722. After more phone calls, and rediculous procedures over the phone, I finally got them to escalate it to Level 2 support. After talking to several people I finally talked to someone WHO TOLD ME THAT THERE IS A KNOWN PROBLEM with HDMI on the 722VIP and that I had to remove the cable and use the Component option instead.

They further told me that they hoped to have a fix soon, but that was 9 months ago, and now I call in, they lost my ticket number for this call and they claim to no NOTHING about an HDMI problem. Very Frustrating.

In any event, if these issues are not resolved soon, I'm out of DISH and going to try Uverse which just came to our area.

#58 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 27 November 2011 - 01:20 PM

I just thought I would post what I have found out (and done) to resolve my issues with the slow guide (and with IR commands in general). I posted above that this issue started a few days ago - and while that is true, I did not mention (since I did not think that this was related - but it was), that I also purchased a new LCD TV. My old Toshiba 36inch Tube died, and I replaced it with a new Vizio LCD. The issues started then, but I had thought it was my remote - which has some button issues - so I replaced it (Harmony 620) with a new Harmony One. As stated above, it (and the Dish IR Remote that came with the receiver) both had issues. I did a bit more research and found quite a number of folks that have had issues with the Dish receivers and LCD tv's. Apparently, the IR "noise" from these LCD tv's is interfering with the Dish remotes. On a number of the sites, I saw that one "fix" was to put a piece of paper (in my case I used a lime green sticky note) over the receiver IR port. I did this, and voila, the guide started working and all commands seemed to work fine as well. Apparently, this was the problem all along. Not sure if my sticky note solution will be the long term one, but for now - it seems to be working...


If you cover the IR port with anything won't you also block those IR signals from your remote ?... or are you using RF instead?

As implausible as it sounded, I did your procedure on my 722k. As I expected, all IR signals were blocked

Thinking that perhaps you meant to cover the IR port from LOS with my LG TV's IR signals, I place the paper over the top of the IR port, but left the port basically uncovered and in LOS of my DISH remote ... no changes noted.

So, for me it was a wash. :mad:
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#59 OFFLINE   rick999

rick999

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2011

Posted 28 November 2011 - 05:05 AM

I'm glad that it worked for the other person, but I think it was coincidental more than anything.

Like I tried to explain to the Dish Tech person...it cannot be the remote, because if I press and let go....and then wait 5 seconds for something to come up, it is quite obvious that the vip722 got the signal....because it is eventually processed correctly. Then they reply...duh..."maybe it is not getting there fast enough"...to which I remind them that the signal is travelling at the speed of light!

Obviously there is something going on inside the unit, where there is some sort of "bottleneck" in processing the incoming transmission.

I too like someone else earlier believe that it has something to do with the VOD. This problem seemed to have started around the time VOD became active.

Also....again this might be coincidental, but the problems seem to be during the day and at night. In the early hours not so much a problem. Dont know why...but again might be coincidental.....is the VOD less active in the wee hours (4am)?

Not going to put up with this much longer.

#60 OFFLINE   conradv

conradv

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2011

Posted 28 November 2011 - 12:08 PM

I hear ya. Usually my receiver is good for 3 or 4 days, and then it's back to slow again. A hard boot solves it for another 3 or 4 days.

All you'll hear from the Dish guys is this over and over (and it's getting a little old):

It is a known issue with the 722k receiver. We have a pending software to resolve this issue. Thanks.

#61 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 28 November 2011 - 05:08 PM

If they're going to play the "soon" game, I suppose I can use my secret weapon until they fix the 722 ...

... the 622.

There's irony there somewhere.
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#62 OFFLINE   Lexus One

Lexus One

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 28 November 2011 - 09:36 PM

Hi guys! This is my first post here at DBSTALK. FYI, I am having this same issue with my 722K EPG and I needed a place to vent my frustration. I've had this slow EPG problem since about the end of September. It usually happens every day from early afternoon and lasts until midnight if I do nothing. If I hit the reset button on the front of the 722K, it is instantly fixed until usually the next day. If I'm lucky I might get two days in a row that it will work fine. Anyway, you can add my name to the list of dissatisfied 722 Dish customers.

So it looks like Dish knows about this problem. So why are they not fixing it? This having to reboot all the time got old way back in October!

#63 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 29 November 2011 - 01:50 PM

Hi guys! This is my first post here at DBSTALK. FYI, I am having this same issue with my 722K EPG and I needed a place to vent my frustration. I've had this slow EPG problem since about the end of September. It usually happens every day from early afternoon and lasts until midnight if I do nothing. If I hit the reset button on the front of the 722K, it is instantly fixed until usually the next day. If I'm lucky I might get two days in a row that it will work fine. Anyway, you can add my name to the list of dissatisfied 722 Dish customers.

So it looks like Dish knows about this problem. So why are they not fixing it? This having to reboot all the time got old way back in October!


Welcome aboard, Lex. :D

How interesting. A lot of you are cold-booting your 722 and the problem goes away for days. When I do it, the EPG response is lightning fast, but only for a few minutes. After that it's super slow.
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#64 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,971 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 29 November 2011 - 04:02 PM

Have you tried fresh batteries in your remote?
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#65 OFFLINE   fuzzface

fuzzface

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 29 November 2011 - 06:14 PM

Have you tried fresh batteries in your remote?


:)
Don't start THAT question again! LOL!

Mine is slow using front panel buttons too. Still clears up at exactly 7:30 every evening (for the most part) but goes back to slow sometime before noon the next day.

#66 OFFLINE   olds403

olds403

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2007

Posted 30 November 2011 - 05:14 AM

I just noticed the slow guide response on my 722 in the last week or so, up until then it seemed normal. It is agonizingly slow though, I would estimate about a 2 second lapse after a button push.

#67 OFFLINE   Grandude

Grandude

    RichardParker II

  • Registered
  • 899 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2004

Posted 30 November 2011 - 10:42 AM

I'm just reporting in to say that I, too, have slow response on my 722. Mainly noticeable when I'm punching in a channel with the number buttons. New batteries, different remote, makes no difference.
My 622, mounted next to the 722 works normally. (fast)

Brian...reporting from the left coast
 2 Hoppers,1 Joey, 1 VIP211K active receivers
 I still believe in magic
!


#68 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 30 November 2011 - 11:13 AM

The sluggish response time with the remote is a known issue with the 722k receiver. Do you have a 722k or 722 receiver? If a 722, you may be having issues with the remote or IR interference. How old is your remote? Have you added any new electronics since noticing the slow response time? Please let me know. Thanks.

I'm just reporting in to say that I, too, have slow response on my 722. Mainly noticeable when I'm punching in a channel with the number buttons. New batteries, different remote, makes no difference.
My 622, mounted next to the 722 works normally. (fast)



#69 OFFLINE   GiantFan

GiantFan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2006

Posted 30 November 2011 - 12:05 PM

If you cover the IR port with anything won't you also block those IR signals from your remote ?... or are you using RF instead?

As implausible as it sounded, I did your procedure on my 722k. As I expected, all IR signals were blocked

Thinking that perhaps you meant to cover the IR port from LOS with my LG TV's IR signals, I place the paper over the top of the IR port, but left the port basically uncovered and in LOS of my DISH remote ... no changes noted.

So, for me it was a wash. :mad:


I understand - and agree that this might not work for everyone. I thought that I was having the slow guide problem, but apparently I was not - instead having this IR interference issue. No, I am not using RF - I am using IR with a harmony remote. I did test using the included RF remote from Dish - and that did work fine - even when the IR ones would not. I do not quite understand the technology of why using a paper to cover the IR port allows the signal - but the signal does get through the paper.

#70 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 30 November 2011 - 01:02 PM

I understand - and agree that this might not work for everyone. I thought that I was having the slow guide problem, but apparently I was not - instead having this IR interference issue. No, I am not using RF - I am using IR with a harmony remote. I did test using the included RF remote from Dish - and that did work fine - even when the IR ones would not. I do not quite understand the technology of why using a paper to cover the IR port allows the signal - but the signal does get through the paper.


Maybe it's the thickness of the paper. :confused::)
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#71 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 30 November 2011 - 01:04 PM

Have you tried fresh batteries in your remote?


Not until you mentioned it, Mike, with no change.
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#72 OFFLINE   Grandude

Grandude

    RichardParker II

  • Registered
  • 899 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2004

Posted 30 November 2011 - 02:59 PM

The sluggish response time with the remote is a known issue with the 722k receiver. Do you have a 722k or 722 receiver? If a 722, you may be having issues with the remote or IR interference. How old is your remote? Have you added any new electronics since noticing the slow response time? Please let me know. Thanks.

I have a VIP722, not a vip722K. Both remotes I tried were UHF with new batteries so my next step will be to try an IR remote.

My problem isn't too severe but for example, if I punch in channel 205 I will often get 25 or 05. Just annoying, especially if it goes to a PPV channel or some other non subscribed channel.

No new hardware/electronics has been added lately other than the sling adapter a few months ago. Maybe I'll try unplugging it as another test.

Brian...reporting from the left coast
 2 Hoppers,1 Joey, 1 VIP211K active receivers
 I still believe in magic
!


#73 OFFLINE   Lexus One

Lexus One

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 30 November 2011 - 04:58 PM

Just FYI (this is for Ray C), as for the EPG on my 722K, when it runs slow using the remote control, it is also slow using the front panel buttons on the 722K. The only thing (other than waiting until apprx. midnight) that temporarily fixes this is a reboot of the receiver. Which I do by using the red reset button on the front of the 722K. Then the problem usually returns the next day at around 1pm.
VIP722K Receiver
Vizio 42" VX42L
Onkyo TX-SR605

#74 OFFLINE   Presence

Presence

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 361 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2004

Posted 30 November 2011 - 08:18 PM

It is a known issue with the 722k receiver. We have a pending software to resolve this issue. Thanks.


So... when is that software update due? It seems odd that Dish would have a fix ready to go . . . then hang onto it like it was money.

#75 OFFLINE   slickshoes

slickshoes

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 261 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Sep 20, 2009

Posted 01 December 2011 - 12:05 AM

They are obviously having big problems fixing this issue, as others have said it started probably six months ago, they are well aware of it, and have released 3 or 4 updated firmwares and it has not helped, I like many, may consider other options, especially Direct, a 5 tuner whole home HD DVR with a beautiful HD guide sounds awfully nice. Unless Dish has gone back to the drawing board, the Xip combo has nothing on this...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...