Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How often (and why) do you use the Format Button?

hdmi

  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

Poll: How often do you use the format button to change format (on any given receiver?) (256 member(s) have cast votes)

How often do you use the format button to change format (on any given receiver?)

  1. At least once a day. (9 votes [3.52%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.52%

  2. At least once a week. (27 votes [10.55%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.55%

  3. At least once a month. (13 votes [5.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.08%

  4. At least once each year. (39 votes [15.23%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.23%

  5. Never. (168 votes [65.62%])

    Percentage of vote: 65.62%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,245 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 02 October 2011 - 12:19 AM

Trying to get some sense about the format button usage.

How often do you use your format button to actually change the format?

And under what circumstances?

(My answers in the next post.)

Thanks,
Tom

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,245 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 02 October 2011 - 12:23 AM

I realized that I only use the format button on any given receiver, to actually change the format that is, when I move a receiver. So I said never. I don't change between resolutions nor do I change from stretch. (Helps that I don't watch much SD anymore.) :)

What about you and your family?

Thanks,
Tom

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#3 OFFLINE   csrrocks2011

csrrocks2011

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 69 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2011

Posted 02 October 2011 - 12:45 AM

Once a day for me.
However, it's usually AT work, because when customers call about cut off pictures, it's easier to test with them when I can see what they;re seeing. esp the "seasoned" customers who have never used HD before and keep watching the SD version of a channel and then they stretch it all out to high heck! :P
My opinions are my own and not shared nor equally expressed by directv or any of its affiliates.

#4 OFFLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,877 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 12:50 AM

Once all of my watched channels went to HD, (besides BBCA), I kept it in "original format". Back in the SD days I was stretching the crap out of the shows to fill the screen.

Man I miss those threads.:lol:
Stretch me baby!!!!!!

#5 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,484 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 02 October 2011 - 12:55 AM

There are a few SD channels and one off-air subchannel (480i) that require toggling the FORMAT button to get the proper aspect ratio. So I probably use it ~1 per week.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#6 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:43 AM

I won't say I never use it but I can't recall the last time I have used it so for the intent and purpose of the poll I chose never.

#7 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,891 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 02 October 2011 - 03:11 AM

I voted at least once a week, but it's really like maybe three times per week on average for an old 20 in. 4:3 LCD TV in the kitchen-breakfast room area hooked up by component cable to an HR21-200 locked to scale all to 480p.

Since the set is 4:3 the format button is occasionally used to change from letter-box for a full 16:9 HD image to crop when viewing a station broadcasting up-converted 4:3 material due to window-boxing.

#8 OFFLINE   gfrang

gfrang

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,335 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 06:05 AM

I leave it set to original format but i push it once in a wile to see what the channel is delivering like 720p,1080i etc, voted once a week.

#9 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,130 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 06:16 AM

Never.

JACK,
 
 


#10 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,113 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 06:34 AM

Once a day for me.
However, it's usually AT work, because when customers call about cut off pictures, it's easier to test with them when I can see what they;re seeing. esp the "seasoned" customers who have never used HD before and keep watching the SD version of a channel and then they stretch it all out to high heck! :P


Never. I and prefer the term "tenured". :D
Perhaps I Misremembered.

#11 OFFLINE   afulkerson

afulkerson

    MI Citizen Corps Vol of Year

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,656 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 07:25 AM

I voted never. I tried it once a couple of years ago do not see any use for it. I have all HD TV's and only watch HD channels. :)

#12 OFFLINE   BosFan

BosFan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
  • LocationAltoona, WI
Joined: Sep 28, 2009

Posted 02 October 2011 - 07:42 AM

Once a day that my kids are home because they are obsessed with stretching the SD channels, so I put it back. The one exception is now that HLN is SD but letterbox I will crop that on my 42" while I'm on the treadmill.

Living room: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST30, HR23-700, Sony BDP-N460, Yamaha HTR-6140, Harmony 700
Family room: Vizio SV421XVT, HR24-500, Sony PlayStation 3, Yamaha R-7, Harmony 700
Bedroom: Vizio VA26L, HR21-200
SL-3, DECA, Whole-Home DVR, DTV since 4/09

Life isn’t like a box of chocolates…it’s more like a jar of jalapenos. What you do today might burn your *** tomorrow.
---Author Unknown


#13 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,792 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 02 October 2011 - 07:52 AM

I voted once a year. It is very very rare. Typically only when setting up a receiver with a tv.

#14 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,963 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 02 October 2011 - 08:05 AM

Voted once a year.

I usually hit it after some change, move a DVR, new TV, something changes, but I could live without it, especially now that's it's on the INFO bar.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#15 OFFLINE   br408408

br408408

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 113 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 02 October 2011 - 08:07 AM

Only to set up new a receiver. Just about everything I watch is HD, and the few thing that are not, I don't stretch

Edited by br408408, 02 October 2011 - 08:27 AM.


#16 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,166 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 08:16 AM

Never, I have Native off and set to only 1080i / p

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#17 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,415 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 08:37 AM

Only to set up new a receiver.

Same here. I could work-around it, though, by simply changing channels, once I selected my preferred "HD Settings" options in set-up.

I didn't vote, but if I had to, I guess "once a year" would be closest for me.
/steve

#18 OFFLINE   ejbvt

ejbvt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 397 posts
  • LocationCentral NC
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 02 October 2011 - 08:56 AM

One of our local channels (Antenna TV) is delivered 16x9 by the broadcaster so I take it off "pillar box" to "original" format" when I watch something (usually "All in the Family") on there. Otherwise, it looks up-and-down-stretched with extra large black bars. I also use it to crop the 16x9 image to fill the screen on SD channels (NG Wild, HLN usually). Stretch-o-vision is a crime and should be punishable. I actually have both HD and SD TBS and Cartoon Network in my favorites list because it hurts to watch older episodes of Family Guy all stretched out. Peter is fat enough.

#19 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 08:58 AM

Fairly rare now. I used to use it for Mad Men, to make it full screen.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#20 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,617 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 08:59 AM

My vote was once a day, but really it may be every couple of days, or several times a day.

The reason I change it is for the SD channels/programs that are in 16:9. For these having a "window box" I change to zoom [my TV] or crop [receiver] to fill the screen. Then at the end of the program, I need to change back to pillarbar for the 4:3 SD.
If all SD was in 4:3, I wouldn't be using the format button.
A.K.A VOS





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: hdmi

spam firewall