Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How often (and why) do you use the Format Button?

hdmi

  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

Poll: How often do you use the format button to change format (on any given receiver?) (256 member(s) have cast votes)

How often do you use the format button to change format (on any given receiver?)

  1. At least once a day. (9 votes [3.52%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.52%

  2. At least once a week. (27 votes [10.55%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.55%

  3. At least once a month. (13 votes [5.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.08%

  4. At least once each year. (39 votes [15.23%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.23%

  5. Never. (168 votes [65.62%])

    Percentage of vote: 65.62%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#21 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,918 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 09:03 AM

Never, set it properly in menu for the particular TV and just leave it.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,791 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 09:24 AM

Never, set it properly in menu for the particular TV and just leave it.

Guess you like watching "windowboxed" SD sometimes. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#23 OFFLINE   Newshawk

Newshawk

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,427 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2004

Posted 02 October 2011 - 09:29 AM

I usually leave the living room DVR set to "crop" as the only things I watch in SD are BBC America and Anime Network On Demand. For occasional anime series, I switch to "pillar box" to keep the original 4:3 ratio.

DIRECTV employee April 2004-November 2012.
The above comments are my own because I don't know if anyone would care about my opinions anymore.


#24 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,075 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 02 October 2011 - 09:33 AM

Kinda surprised some with H/HR2X receivers connected to SDTVs in the household, like me :) , haven't posted yet of the typical need to toggle between letter-box and crop when viewing HD channels.

#25 OFFLINE   kiknwing

kiknwing

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 493 posts
  • LocationOgden, UT
Joined: Jun 24, 2009

Posted 02 October 2011 - 09:37 AM

I think in the 4 years of having a hd-DVR, I have used it once. So I voted never.

#26 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,442 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 02 October 2011 - 09:37 AM

I don't even have it programmed into my Harmony.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#27 OFFLINE   njblackberry

njblackberry

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 653 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 09:46 AM

Never. 4 HD DVRs and three HD receivers. Never once used the format key.

#28 OFFLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,627 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 09:57 AM

I voted at least once per year but that includes accidental pushes. I really see no use for the button.

#29 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,986 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 02 October 2011 - 09:57 AM

Hopefully they're asking because they're designing the new tactile feel DirecTV remote.

I want a DirecTV remote that has buttons like the TiVo Glo remote. The DirecTV remote is "cheap" feeling (button-wise) compared to the Glo remote.

I'd replace every one with a DirecTV tactile remote.

Also remove the ACTIVE button while they're at it. The only time I've ever hit that button is by accident and then it flushes the buffer and I'm ticked off. :)
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#30 ONLINE   azarby

azarby

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,023 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 10:23 AM

I realized that I only use the format button on any given receiver, to actually change the format that is, when I move a receiver. So I said never. I don't change between resolutions nor do I change from stretch. (Helps that I don't watch much SD anymore.) :)



Thanks,
Tom


Exactly the same scenario here.:)

Bob

#31 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,688 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 11:12 AM

At least it's in a place on the remote where I don't hit it accidentally. I voted never, if I want to change aspects, I use the TV. I never use the "Active" button either, but I do hit it accidentally from time to time. I never use the "TV Input" button either. Or the "Enter" button.

I hope this poll isn't about redesigning the D* remotes. I'm used to them and I don't have to look at them to see what I'm doing. The backlit remotes could also be done away with. All mine have that function turned off. Goes thru batteries too quickly.

Aside from the "Active" button, I have no complaints about the remotes.

Rich

#32 OFFLINE   scottchez

scottchez

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 928 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2003

Posted 02 October 2011 - 11:19 AM

TV is a new 16x9 HD 1080p

I use it to get rid of letter boxes when watching Star Trek

I changed the HD DVR to 4:3
the format button is occasionally used to change from letter-box for a full 16:9 HD image to crop when viewing a station broadcasting up-converted 4:3 material due to window-boxing.
"We need more power Scotty" Kirk

#33 OFFLINE   Phil T

Phil T

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,184 posts
Joined: Mar 24, 2002

Posted 02 October 2011 - 11:31 AM

On initial TV setup only.

#34 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,147 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 11:32 AM

I didn't even map that button for my folks when I programmed a universal remote for them. SO add one more for never.. :D

#35 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,892 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 11:34 AM

I will occasionally use format to zoom in on 480 letter boxed SD.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#36 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 11:40 AM

Set it and leave it.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#37 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,918 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 11:42 AM

Guess you like watching "windowboxed" SD sometimes. ;)


SD, is that like 8 track? :lol:

#38 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,252 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 02 October 2011 - 12:01 PM

SD, is that like 8 track? :lol:


Yes, (good analogy) altho the comparison might wax cyclinder next year. :)

Cheers,
Tom

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#39 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,982 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 12:18 PM

I use the format key for the following:

1. Some SD channels have letterboxed content which I can expand to full screen with the crop setting.

2. Some SD subchannels broadcast 4:3 content inside a 16:9 video format so I need to stretch it out.

3. The aspect ratio of some Media Share video content is incorrectly determined by my HR24-500 (my other receivers don't have this limitation).

#40 OFFLINE   Game Fan

Game Fan

    Baseball Is Life

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 739 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 12:25 PM

Never. I may have done it, accidentally, but don't remember it.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: hdmi

Protected By... spam firewall...And...