Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How often (and why) do you use the Format Button?

hdmi

  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

Poll: How often do you use the format button to change format (on any given receiver?) (256 member(s) have cast votes)

How often do you use the format button to change format (on any given receiver?)

  1. At least once a day. (9 votes [3.52%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.52%

  2. At least once a week. (27 votes [10.55%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.55%

  3. At least once a month. (13 votes [5.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.08%

  4. At least once each year. (39 votes [15.23%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.23%

  5. Never. (168 votes [65.62%])

    Percentage of vote: 65.62%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#41 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,285 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 02 October 2011 - 01:12 PM

I use the button many times a week, but just to check on the rez. of the content. Always original format.

Unlike many, I far prefer to watch in letterboxed, barred, or even double-barred than anything stretched or scaled. If there are few pixels, as in SD, I'd rather they take up less real estate on my screen. To me, that gives a better picture.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   LOCODUDE

LOCODUDE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,658 posts
  • LocationNew York
Joined: Aug 07, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:08 PM

I use it about once per day!!!!

“The cave you fear to enter, holds the treasure you seek.” 
― 
Joseph Campbell


#43 OFFLINE   balboadave

balboadave

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2010

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:26 PM

Never on a HD station, as I only have 1080i and 1080p outputs enabled. But there are SD channels I watch evey day, so I use Pillar Box on a 4:3 show like Have Gun Will Travel, and Crop if it's a squeezed HD show, like most everything on BBCA.

#44 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,263 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:30 PM

I use it about once per day!!!!


Why?

Thanks, I'm finding this all interesting.
Tom

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#45 OFFLINE   SledgeHammer

SledgeHammer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,018 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:52 PM

Never. Why would anybody want to watch a distorted picture? Besides, 99% of what I watch now is HD, so theres no point. If I want to watch an old show, I'll watch it with pillars.

#46 OFFLINE   balboadave

balboadave

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2010

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:56 PM

Never. Why would anybody want to watch a distorted picture? Besides, 99% of what I watch now is HD, so theres no point. If I want to watch an old show, I'll watch it with pillars.

Crop is not stretched. There is no distortion.

#47 OFFLINE   gpg

gpg

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,744 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 03:05 PM

Once a year I'll find an SD show that I want to crop. Now that I think about it, I'm more likely to use zoom on my TV, so maybe I should have answered never.
HR24-200,HR23-700,HR21-200, HR21-100, HR34-700,
Sony KDS-R50XBR1,HDMI, LG 37LH40,HDMI Vizio 390-A1,HDMI,Sony KDL-40NX711, HDMI, Vizio VO320E, HDMI, SWM16 with DECA,
Sony STR-DG1000 AV Receiver optical cable connection for HR24-200, GenieGo

#48 OFFLINE   alnielsen

alnielsen

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 476 posts
  • LocationDuPage Co. IL
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 03:11 PM

I pretty much watch 4:3 content in pillar box. Any WS content automatically switches to 9:16 or original format.
I think the only time I hit is is when I'm trying to tweek the settings on the tv and the receiver.

Direct TV subscriber since 1999
Choice Ultimate Customer
Equipment:: HR21-700 HR20-700 H20-100 (owned) SlimLine 5 Antenna
Winegard HD 8800 8-Bay for OTA

 

KC9ZOU


#49 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,190 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 02 October 2011 - 04:44 PM

I would say it average out to several times a week to unstretch a show like BBCA L&O:UK. So until DirecTV gets all its basics in HD, this format adjusting is going to be with us for awhile.
DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR24-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#50 OFFLINE   sonofcool

sonofcool

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 04:57 PM

My "local" (actually about an hour from here) is SD so when I watch recorded content on it I mess with the format but for some reason I can never see the whole screen. I may have something messed up in the TV settings but never tried to figure it out as I don't watch this channel that much.

Breaking Bad on AMC seems to be an SD show on (what is now) an HD station, so imessed with the format button some to see if I could make it fill the screen but ended up settling for original.

So I am putting myself in the never column.

#51 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,982 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 05:10 PM

Breaking Bad on AMC seems to be an SD show on (what is now) an HD station, so imessed with the format button some to see if I could make it fill the screen but ended up settling for original.

If you're set to a 16:9 TV ratio & are tuned to an HD channel, format doesn't change anything, since it only works for SD channels.
If you're set to a 4:3 TV ratio, then format only works on HD channels.
A.K.A VOS

#52 OFFLINE   SledgeHammer

SledgeHammer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,018 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 06:43 PM

Crop is not stretched. There is no distortion.


Sure, but you lose half the picture... ok, thats an exageration :D, but you do lose a lot on the top and bottom and often wind up with chopped off heads.

#53 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,982 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 06:54 PM

Sure, but you lose half the picture... ok, thats an exageration :D, but you do lose a lot on the top and bottom and often wind up with chopped off heads.

Yes & no,
If you're watching a 4:3 picture on a 16:9 screen, then "yes", but if you're watching an SD show that is in 16:9, crop/zoom makes it fit the screen, without losing any image AND doesn't distort it either.
A.K.A VOS

#54 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,982 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 October 2011 - 08:02 PM

Maybe this might help explaining where changing format is useful.
With this image, the program provider is sending letterbox, while the DirecTV receiver is set for pillar box.
P0003218.jpg
Changing to crop works quite well as it fulls the screen "correctly", with the only "downside" being that you need to change format back to pillar box for the next show to make sure you're not losing part of a non letterbox program.
A.K.A VOS

#55 OFFLINE   xzi

xzi

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 527 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 02 October 2011 - 08:43 PM

I have older 4:3 "EDTV" in the bedroom that does 480p and I use it there on occasion. I also use it all the time in TV mode with that TV because it sets the TV to anamorphic 16:9 mode for full-resolution 16:9 and it just happens to be the ASPECT button in that mode. Handy!

#56 OFFLINE   tkrandall

tkrandall

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,795 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2003

Posted 03 October 2011 - 06:13 AM

Edited to clarify the settings:

I voted "never" because I after I set it up, I leave it alone.

I am an aspect ratio snob, and on my 16:9 HD sets leave it on the "pillar box" that shows 4:3 programming with pillar box - as it should be. :)

I hate stretched content.

Even on my older (circa 2004) TV with 4:3 display that has an HR24 attached to it (yes, I know...) I have it set to the "letter box" option so that I get wide screen 16:9 displayed (letter boxed) for most programming, i.e. HD channels. I have SD duplicates hidden on all my receivers.

Edited by tkrandall, 03 October 2011 - 03:30 PM.


#57 OFFLINE   sonofcool

sonofcool

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2007

Posted 03 October 2011 - 06:55 AM

Yes & no,
If you're watching a 4:3 picture on a 16:9 screen, then "yes", but if you're watching an SD show that is in 16:9, crop/zoom makes it fit the screen, without losing any image AND doesn't distort it either.


Fair enough. My only experience is 16:9. Thanks for the clarification/education!

#58 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,700 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 03 October 2011 - 07:19 AM

Two reasons. To zoom SD letterbox and to change stretched HD to SD so my TV will look normal.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#59 OFFLINE   say-what

say-what

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,687 posts
  • LocationNew Orleans
Joined: Dec 13, 2006

Posted 03 October 2011 - 07:57 AM

Only when it's accidently pressed, so never intentionally

#60 OFFLINE   spaul

spaul

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 03 October 2011 - 08:30 AM

I never use it at all 2HDVR boxes and 1 H box leave them set to receive as broadcast .The few SD channels that I might watch I rather watch in 4:3 and not be distorted plus have 2 DVR boxes set to native on since the 2 sets connected do a good job scaling .I,ll go to a old Fun House with the mirrors that stretch your shape when standing in front of them don,t need that affect while watching TV .





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: hdmi

Protected By... spam firewall...And...