Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How often (and why) do you use the Format Button?

hdmi

  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

Poll: How often do you use the format button to change format (on any given receiver?) (256 member(s) have cast votes)

How often do you use the format button to change format (on any given receiver?)

  1. At least once a day. (9 votes [3.52%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.52%

  2. At least once a week. (27 votes [10.55%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.55%

  3. At least once a month. (13 votes [5.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.08%

  4. At least once each year. (39 votes [15.23%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.23%

  5. Never. (168 votes [65.62%])

    Percentage of vote: 65.62%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#81 OFFLINE   e4123

e4123

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2011

Posted 03 October 2011 - 03:10 PM

I format the 480 channels to 720p w/ letter box and watch them on my 32 in panasonic.
DTV subscriber since 1998 (Originally via Peagsus/NRTC/USSB) .. Fun times
HR24-100 -> Panasonic TC-P50S2
Onkyo - TX-DS777
HR24-500 + Cisco WET610N-> Panasonic TC-32LX24
R.I.P. Knut

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#82 OFFLINE   markfp

markfp

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2010

Posted 03 October 2011 - 03:40 PM

I use it everyday when watching TCM. I don't want to see films beautifully shot in 4:3 deformed by stretching it to 16:9.

#83 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,248 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 03 October 2011 - 03:57 PM

I use it everyday when watching TCM. I don't want to see films beautifully shot in 4:3 deformed by stretching it to 16:9.


Would it not be easier to set to "Original format" and not have to switch it yourself? (I totally agree on not stretching any format).
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#84 OFFLINE   David Ortiz

David Ortiz

    There for Jeter's flip play

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,100 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 03 October 2011 - 04:21 PM

Once a year I'll find an SD show that I want to crop. Now that I think about it, I'm more likely to use zoom on my TV, so maybe I should have answered never.


It's not really an issue for me now that AMC is in HD, but I always preferred using the DVR to zoom. I would only use the TV to zoom if I had to because the GUI gets cut off that way.

#85 OFFLINE   armchair

armchair

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,188 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2009

Posted 03 October 2011 - 09:19 PM

I set my HDTV settings in the Menu and never use the FORMAT button.

#86 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 03 October 2011 - 09:34 PM

Lately I've been using the format button because I have been using media share and the formats I have there are all wonky.
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#87 OFFLINE   mborner

mborner

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2011

Posted 04 October 2011 - 05:09 AM

The format button hasn't been pushed in 10 years. Oh, wait..........I did send the command once from a 3rd party control system just to see if it worked. :)

#88 OFFLINE   Ken984

Ken984

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,016 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2005

Posted 04 October 2011 - 06:46 AM

I only use it for SD that is letterboxed (window boxed is more accurate i guess).

Samsung 65-es6550-HR44-700-Denon AVR-2311CI, XBOX360, Win Media Center 7, Samsung BD-D6500


#89 OFFLINE   ejbvt

ejbvt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 444 posts
  • LocationCentral NC
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 04 October 2011 - 12:11 PM

Would it not be easier to set to "Original format" and not have to switch it yourself? (I totally agree on not stretching any format).


That doesn't work for me. Original is the same as stretch, which I don't understand. I have to use pillar (with the exceptions I described earlier.) Stretching should be banned.

#90 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,777 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 October 2011 - 12:37 PM

That doesn't work for me. Original is the same as stretch, which I don't understand. I have to use pillar (with the exceptions I described earlier.) Stretching should be banned.

This may be due to how your TV handles "Original" format. You may have a setting for 4:3 in your TV that is causing this.
I have my TV set to zoom 4:3, so when I select original, the TV zooms the letterbox to full screen.
"It sounds like" your TV is set to "full" [or whatever your TV calls this].
A.K.A VOS

#91 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 04 October 2011 - 05:09 PM

I voted never. The only time I use it is during initial setup, then I never touch it again. My boxes are all set to upscale everything to 1080i, and pillarbox SD content. Sometimes if a show is windowboxed (black bars on all 4 sides) I will use my TV's aspect button to zoom in so the 16:9 image fills the whole screen.

I never use stretch, as I absolutely despise when things are out of proportion like that. It drives me nuts when I go to other peoples houses and they have stuff set up like that. My wife actually has yelled at me a couple times for changing other peoples TV setings to stop stretching (it's their TV they can have it set up however they want).
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#92 OFFLINE   gslater

gslater

    Gone to the Dogs

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2007

Posted 04 October 2011 - 08:20 PM

Every time I watch Doctor Who on BBC America in SD letterboxed, I switch to crop so that I get picture that fills my TV.
George
SWM -> 2 H21-100's w/DECA, 2 HR21-200's w/DECA each w/AM-21
My Setup





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: hdmi

Protected By... spam firewall...And...