Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DBSTalk Exclusive First Look: HR34-700 Home Media Center HD DVR


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
710 replies to this topic

#61 ONLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,663 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:15 PM

Just two out and split where needed.

I thought it was four out? Wouldn't I need a new LNB and a SWiM16 unit?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#62 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,040 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:16 PM

Where's Rich? I bet he wants 12 of them. :grin:


!rolling !rolling !rolling Each of them with a 2TB eSATA . . .

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#63 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:16 PM

Just go for the SWiM16! :)


Just go for the 16 and leave a little room for expansion :P


Now, if they'll just come out with a 9 or 10 tuner SWiM, I'll be all set. ;)


Love my SWiM16 and I am not close to filling it but just want the room incase!!

Looks like you in the field trial had a blast! :grin:

Edited by webby_s, 06 October 2011 - 08:50 PM.

SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#64 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,040 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:16 PM

I thought it was four out? Wouldn't I need a new LNB and a SWiM16 unit?


Four from the dish LNB into the SWiM16. One or two OUT from the SWiM, split as necessary. Easy, peasy. :)

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#65 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:17 PM

I thought it was four out? Wouldn't I need a new LNB and a SWiM16 unit?


Yep, legacy LNB with 4 lines to SWM16
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#66 OFFLINE   Sgt. Slaughter

Sgt. Slaughter

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,846 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:22 PM

The only problem with that is that MRV won't work across the 16 and 8. :(


true true. guess need to go big or go home and get a SWiM32. :)

#67 OFFLINE   Groundhog45

Groundhog45

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,979 posts
  • LocationCedar Park, Texas
Joined: Nov 09, 2005

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:22 PM

I thought it was four out? Wouldn't I need a new LNB and a SWiM16 unit?


One out for each internal SWiM 8. You need a non-SWiM LNB with four lines to the SWiM 16.

The only problem with that is that MRV won't work across the 16 and 8. :(


Couldn't you attach each SWiM to the router and let the network take care of bridging the 8 and 16?

Richard -- DirecTV since '97
Team SETI.USA

 


#68 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,107 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:23 PM

Damn, Now I have to decide between this and the Thr22. :lol:
Perhaps I Misremembered.

#69 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:24 PM

true true. guess need to go big or go home and get a SWiM32. :)


Don't quote me but I thought the SWM32 doesn't cross over each SWM8? So you would be SOL then too. But someone more knowledgable will come along and correct me if I am wrong.
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#70 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,499 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:24 PM

true true. guess need to go big or go home and get a SWiM32. :)


Actually, no. A SWiM32 is just 2 SWiM16's in the same case. From what I've read on here they aren't bridged and would be separate too.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#71 OFFLINE   Sgt. Slaughter

Sgt. Slaughter

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,846 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:25 PM

Don't quote me but I thought the SWM32 doesn't cross over each SWM8? So you would be SOL then too. But someone more knowledgable will come along and correct me if I am wrong.


I think your right on that. thought about it soon as i posted that. lol

#72 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:25 PM

Don't quote me but I thought the SWM32 doesn't cross over each SWM8? So you would be SOL then too. But someone more knowledgable will come along and correct me if I am wrong.


That's correct.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#73 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,499 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:25 PM

Couldn't you attach each SWiM to the router and let the network take care of bridging the 8 and 16?


I've wondered that but have never been able to test myself and haven't seen where anyone else has tried it either.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#74 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,646 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:25 PM

First of all let's try to keep on topic.

Second, five simultaneous recordings are possible but only two can be OTA since DIRECTV does not have a 5 tuner OTA module.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#75 ONLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,663 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:26 PM

First of all let's try to keep on topic.

Second, five simultaneous recordings are possible but only two can be OTA since DIRECTV does not have a 5 tuner OTA module.

Sorry, we're all just a little excited. :D

#76 OFFLINE   Groundhog45

Groundhog45

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,979 posts
  • LocationCedar Park, Texas
Joined: Nov 09, 2005

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:28 PM

Sorry, we're all just a little excited. :D


Yes, and trying to figure out various SWiM configurations that would work in a large environment.

And I for sure want one or two of these HR34s. :D

Richard -- DirecTV since '97
Team SETI.USA

 


#77 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,989 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:30 PM

If a SWM16 isn't enough you can always hang a SWM8 or other SWM off of the SWM16 without using any of the 16 outputs. I was doing that for a while.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#78 OFFLINE   Sgt. Slaughter

Sgt. Slaughter

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,846 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:31 PM

Those the same test markets used for the Whole Home MRV when it started being rolled out?

#79 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,345 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:32 PM

Any word about main chip ? What are those three chips in a line between cardreader and tuner can ? What's under that tuner's cap ? Could we see good picture of main PCB where all signs are readable ?

#80 OFFLINE   say-what

say-what

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,642 posts
  • LocationNew Orleans
Joined: Dec 13, 2006

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:45 PM

great first look as always




spam firewall