Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV nomad PC version 1.01.40 and iOS version 1.0: Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
711 replies to this topic

#526 OFFLINE   pnessutt

pnessutt

    AllStar

  • Banned User
  • 50 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2007

Posted 21 January 2012 - 10:39 AM

Thanks for your feedback and answers. A couple of more questions -
  • Apps and their data on the IOS device do backup to your PC pr iCloud (for restore purposes). Does anyone know how much storage a 1 hour show (does HD and/or resolution make a difference) takes on an IOS device?
  • Has anyone expanded their storage on nomad using the USB expansion? If so, what size HDs have you used and/or are their restrictions (ex. the DVR will default to the connected drive vs. expanding if you use one on that device)? How large is the internal hard drive on the nomad?
  • Any comments on what is occurring during the 1 hour conversion? I'm suspecting it is condensing the normal show format down to a smaller configuration (normal iTunes movies are 1.3-1.8GB in size). If DirecTV is committed to improving Nomad then perhaps they'll improve speed and other functionality in the future? Thoughts?

This is great feedback and I'm happy to hear it works so well for NR4P... Having this would allow me to watch my recorded content on the road more. I think I'll order mine right away to take advantage of it on my upcoming trips.

Thanks again!

-Bob

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#527 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,377 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 21 January 2012 - 02:22 PM

A 1 hour program on the PC client takes about 5-600 MB. Since a transcoded program is also loaded to the IOS client with no changes, it should be the same size. I haven't downloaded many SD programs but I expect they would be less.

I've added a 16 GB USB stick to mine. I know of some that have put a 1 or 2 TB harddrive and it works fine. LOTS of watching to do! Programs are a first in / first out on nomad and are deleted if you delete them from the DVR.

The transcoding process is just reducing the resolution for download to the mobile device. I expect we'll see some future enhancements, but PQ on the iPad matches any streaming or downloaded content that I've seen.

If you travel and want to watch your DVR content, go for it!

We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#528 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,809 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 21 January 2012 - 04:43 PM

  • Apps and their data on the IOS device do backup to your PC pr iCloud (for restore purposes).

Yes that is correct but for Nomad its irrelevant. Its just taking up space on a backup operation.
Nomad content on the iOS device (or PC) expires in 30 days. You can't save it and reuse it forever.

At the end of the 30 days, you need to go back on Wi-Fi and download it again. If its on the DVR, no problem. But if gone from the DVR, Nomad doesn't have access to it.

#529 OFFLINE   pnessutt

pnessutt

    AllStar

  • Banned User
  • 50 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2007

Posted 21 January 2012 - 04:56 PM

Thanks, Dennis and NR4P!

One final question - does adding additional space via USB invalidate the internal HD or is it smart enough to expand/contract if the unit is connected or disconnected?

Looks like I will need to place my order. Only the DirecTV site was showing it being available.

Thanks!

-Bob

#530 OFFLINE   KenW

KenW

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 208 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:08 PM

One final question - does adding additional space via USB invalidate the internal HD or is it smart enough to expand/contract if the unit is connected or disconnected?
-Bob


I added a thumb drive, and it was added to the available storage. It shows 24GB total available. You don't need a lot of storage, since the transcoded programs are all that is kept.

I love the Auto-Download feature. It will transcode and automatically download shows that are flagged. You just fire-up nomad when you get home, and they start downloading.

Setup

Ken


#531 OFFLINE   pnessutt

pnessutt

    AllStar

  • Banned User
  • 50 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2007

Posted 21 January 2012 - 09:46 PM

I added a thumb drive, and it was added to the available storage. It shows 24GB total available. You don't need a lot of storage, since the transcoded programs are all that is kept.

I love the Auto-Download feature. It will transcode and automatically download shows that are flagged. You just fire-up nomad when you get home, and they start downloading.

Thanks, Ken. I will put a larger drive on the box when it arrives and see how things go. With 2 DVRs it will be interesting to see if I can get both to populate nomad for me as well.

-Bob

#532 OFFLINE   pnessutt

pnessutt

    AllStar

  • Banned User
  • 50 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2007

Posted 22 January 2012 - 10:11 PM

Anyone know when an iPad version might be available? The iPhone/iPod version isn't optimized for the iPad, unfortunately.

-Bob

#533 OFFLINE   KenW

KenW

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 208 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 23 January 2012 - 10:11 AM

With 2 DVRs it will be interesting to see if I can get both to populate nomad for me as well.


I have two DVR's and programs from both appear on the list. We have His and Hers DVR's. :)

Setup

Ken


#534 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,116 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 23 January 2012 - 10:36 AM

I have two DVR's and programs from both appear on the list. We have His and Hers DVR's. :)


I have mine and mine/my son's, but also never a problem with nomad seeing them both.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#535 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,377 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 23 January 2012 - 12:36 PM

Five here and it shows all five. No OTA or recorded VODs / PPVs.

We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#536 OFFLINE   pnessutt

pnessutt

    AllStar

  • Banned User
  • 50 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2007

Posted 24 January 2012 - 09:32 PM

My nomad just arrived. I wonder how this will compare to "DirecTV Anywhere" as they were discussing in a separate thread. For now I'm downloading and excited abouttaking it with me on the road!

#537 OFFLINE   tonypitt

tonypitt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2007

Posted 25 January 2012 - 02:08 PM

Not sure if this is the right thread to ask my question in, but I've got my fingers crossed that it is.

Got my Nomad on Monday and set it up. I plan to mainly use it in conjunction with my iPads, so I have only installed the software apps on those devices. I'm not understanding how the process of transferring content to my iPads is supposed to work.

I was able to go in and designate shows to be managed on an ongoing basis. This started the processing of those shows on the Nomad. There were 19 of them currently on my DVRs, so I knew this would take some time.

As far as the Nomad's processing, that seemed to go as I expected. It was about a day until the entire queue of programs were processed.

I loaded up the Nomad app on my iPad and could see where it was transferring a show. I closed my iPad cover, plugged it in to charge, and left it overnight. I was surprised to see the next morning that no shows were yet on my iPad. I looked at the queue and saw one was in process with 10 minutes remaining, so I left the Nomad app active and on my screen for 10 minutes until that finished. I then started watching the program.

Fast forward a day when I was at work until 10 p.m. I get home, plug my iPad into a charger, and go to bed. I wake up the next morning (today) expecting that additional shows would be on the iPad. Nope, still just the one I had watched being loaded the day previous. Other ones were still in the queue and started being transferred when I looked at the queue status.

Is this way this is supposed to work? I'm not 'killing' the Nomad app, so I assumed it would continue running in the background and keep transferring content on an ongoing basis. It doesn't seem to be doing that, though. It seems to only be transferring content when I'm actively looking at the queue screen.

Answers? Recommendations?

Thanks.

#538 OFFLINE   KenW

KenW

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 208 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 25 January 2012 - 02:29 PM

Is this way this is supposed to work? I'm not 'killing' the Nomad app, so I assumed it would continue running in the background and keep transferring content on an ongoing basis. It doesn't seem to be doing that, though. It seems to only be transferring content when I'm actively looking at the queue screen.


It does not download programs in the background. You need to leave your iPad on and running the nomad app to get the downloads. I just leave my iPad plugged in while the downloads complete. Luckily, the downloads are pretty speedy. The transcoding takes the most time, and you don't need to be connected for that process.

Setup

Ken


#539 OFFLINE   tonypitt

tonypitt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2007

Posted 25 January 2012 - 02:32 PM

It does not download programs in the background. You need to leave your iPad on and running the nomad app to get the downloads. I just leave my iPad plugged in while the downloads complete. Luckily, the downloads are pretty speedy. The transcoding takes the most time, and you don't need to be connected for that process.


Thanks for clarifying that. That is really not handy. Certainly hope that is something being looked at for a future refinement.

#540 OFFLINE   KenW

KenW

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 208 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 25 January 2012 - 02:41 PM

Thanks for clarifying that. That is really not handy. Certainly hope that is something being looked at for a future refinement.


I feel the same. There is a lengthy wish-list for nomad. We do know they have plans for enhancements, but specifics are kept quiet.

Setup

Ken


#541 OFFLINE   pnessutt

pnessutt

    AllStar

  • Banned User
  • 50 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2007

Posted 25 January 2012 - 11:13 PM

I feel the same. There is a lengthy wish-list for nomad. We do know they have plans for enhancements, but specifics are kept quiet.

I believe they can address this in future releases as IOS 5 made much of this possible for other applications (apps in the background).

What I'd like to see is a nomad iPad HD version that has the menus and other items running in the iPad's resolution framework vs. the subsumed delivery we see now. Speed wise it seems to work well and I'll get my first taste of usability very soon. I would have recorded more on my DVRs if I had purchased this unit sooner - my problem is one of not being around to watch what I record otherwise.

-Bob

#542 OFFLINE   wco81

wco81

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2008

Posted 26 January 2012 - 12:27 AM

I believe they can address this in future releases as IOS 5 made much of this possible for other applications (apps in the background).

What I'd like to see is a nomad iPad HD version that has the menus and other items running in the iPad's resolution framework vs. the subsumed delivery we see now. Speed wise it seems to work well and I'll get my first taste of usability very soon. I would have recorded more on my DVRs if I had purchased this unit sooner - my problem is one of not being around to watch what I record otherwise.

-Bob


Look how long they talked about Nomad before they came out with it.

Look how long there were all kinds of wish lists for the HR2x and a lot of those items still aren't implemented.

Speed is not exactly their forte.

#543 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,316 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 26 January 2012 - 01:36 AM

I believe they can address this in future releases as IOS 5 made much of this possible for other applications (apps in the background).

What I'd like to see is a nomad iPad HD version that has the menus and other items running in the iPad's resolution framework vs. the subsumed delivery we see now. Speed wise it seems to work well and I'll get my first taste of usability very soon. I would have recorded more on my DVRs if I had purchased this unit sooner - my problem is one of not being around to watch what I record otherwise.

-Bob


Ios5 isn't really as multitasking as people believe I have found. I don't know of any app that will sync or download in the background without the app being active when it starts, and most the time till its also done downloading. Do you? I'm curious if anyone has found a way to do that yet.

#544 OFFLINE   KenW

KenW

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 208 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 26 January 2012 - 07:59 AM

Ios5 isn't really as multitasking as people believe I have found. I don't know of any app that will sync or download in the background without the app being active when it starts, and most the time till its also done downloading. Do you? I'm curious if anyone has found a way to do that yet.


Newsstand does this. If you start a download, it will complete in the background, even if you switch away.

From my reading, nomad is not the kind of task Apple wants running in the background, since it uses a lot of resources. They define very specific types of applications that can run in background like VOIP, Audio, Location Services and Newsstand. I expect Apple would need to approve this use of a background task.

Even if it can be done, there is still the question of will nomad implement it. It's a much more complex application design. For me, running the app for an hour when I get home is not a severe hardship.

Setup

Ken


#545 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,377 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 26 January 2012 - 08:06 AM

One workaround is install the client on a PC and select the programs you want. You can even cancel the download process if you close the PC client and re-open later.

The programs will continue to transcode on the nomad.

Then on the iPad, select the ones you want to download- they're easy to find with the 'Ready to download' filter - it's around 5 minutes for a 30 minute program. But keep the ipad on during this time.

We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#546 OFFLINE   tonypitt

tonypitt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2007

Posted 26 January 2012 - 08:09 AM

For me the issue is one of 'workflow' and what I've come to expect. Most of my iPad content (and I use it for email, social media, books, and a wide variety of applications), I have become accustomed to having new content pushed to me. I don't want to 'babysit' my iPad. I want to pay it attention when I want to use it. To have to remind myself to download content to it, and then monitor that downloading process, breaks my preferred style of using the device.

I can see where using Nomad to transfer content to a PC might be different as you are using it in a different way and have the ability to multitask. With a mobile device where you can do only one thing at a time, having to manage the transfer to the exclusion of being able to do anything else with the device creates an entirely different method of interaction.

#547 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,377 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 26 January 2012 - 10:56 AM

I don't see a problem in getting up in the morning after selecting programs to transcode the previous night, turning on the ipad, select several programs for download, go take a shower, get dressed, and leave an hour later with programs on the nomad client for the ipad.

No babysitting necessary, and you can't use it in the shower!

I actually have to download a PDF of my local paper everyday - oh, the horror!!! But it's quicker than walking out to get the paper! (which I no longer get except weekends.)

The books that I've purchased from Apple or Amazon have to be selected to be 'pushed' to me. No different than nomad.

We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#548 OFFLINE   tonypitt

tonypitt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2007

Posted 26 January 2012 - 01:31 PM

I don't see a problem in getting up in the morning after selecting programs to transcode the previous night, turning on the ipad, select several programs for download, go take a shower, get dressed, and leave an hour later with programs on the nomad client for the ipad.

No babysitting necessary, and you can't use it in the shower!

I actually have to download a PDF of my local paper everyday - oh, the horror!!! But it's quicker than walking out to get the paper! (which I no longer get except weekends.)

The books that I've purchased from Apple or Amazon have to be selected to be 'pushed' to me. No different than nomad.


I'll have to check what I'm doing, but if I do what you've described I don't get content. My device, based on the security profile of my employer, will time out and 'sleep' after a few minutes of inactivity. As a result with mine if I don't in some way interact with the device every few minutes it sleeps and the transfer is aborted.

#549 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,377 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 26 January 2012 - 01:52 PM

I generally have mine plugged in while it's downloading and it doesn't timeout. (I also have to do that when Tune-in-Radio is recording a show.)

But the iPad will be fully charged as you run out the door!

We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#550 OFFLINE   KenW

KenW

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 208 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 26 January 2012 - 03:19 PM

I'll have to check what I'm doing, but if I do what you've described I don't get content. My device, based on the security profile of my employer, will time out and 'sleep' after a few minutes of inactivity. As a result with mine if I don't in some way interact with the device every few minutes it sleeps and the transfer is aborted.


It should not timeout, mine does not, even with an idle lock set. Did you test it with the nomad app and this was your observation?

Setup

Ken





Protected By... spam firewall...And...