Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV nomad PC version 1.01.40 and iOS version 1.0: Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
711 replies to this topic

#626 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,793 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 22 March 2012 - 08:39 AM

Any chance for nomad for Mac soon?

Anything is possible but don't hold your breath. DRM is a difficult task on computers.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#627 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,900 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 22 March 2012 - 09:05 AM

Anything is possible but don't hold your breath. DRM is a difficult task on computers.


It is? Not on Macs, however. I suppose you're a PC and Dish kinda guy??
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#628 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,793 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 22 March 2012 - 11:47 PM

It is? Not on Macs, however.

That must surely be why Blu-ray is so insanely popular and widely supported on the Mac.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#629 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,900 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 22 March 2012 - 11:53 PM

That must surely be why Blu-ray is so insanely popular and widely supported on the Mac.


Sarcasm becomes you, but your inference fails.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#630 OFFLINE   BudShark

BudShark

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,188 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2003

Posted 23 March 2012 - 09:45 AM

That must surely be why Blu-ray is so insanely popular and widely supported on the Mac.


REALLY?????

Macs lack of support of Blu-Ray has NOTHING to do with DRM and EVERYTHING to do with the fact that Apple strategically is reducing support of physical media in favor of iTunes, streaming, and digital copies. They didn't want to ADD something they INTENDED to not support in hardware long term, especially with licensing and other associated components. Considering third party add-ons for Blu-Ray playback as well as the fact that Apple's OWN TOOLS support the writing of Blu-Ray, your comment related to DRM being somehow difficult is an outright LIE and JOKE.

I suggest you stick to topics you know and understand. Although, that might severely limit your number of posts.

#631 OFFLINE   KenW

KenW

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 208 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 23 March 2012 - 04:51 PM

Can you determine what your new firmware version is?


I have 1.2.P14-46159S.

Setup

Ken


#632 OFFLINE   buckZor

buckZor

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 24 March 2012 - 12:09 AM

PC App is up to version: 1.0.1.54
Nomad firmware: 1.2.p14-46159S

As of March 23rd, 2012

#633 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,620 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 06 April 2012 - 04:33 PM

I still can't get a 3-hour manually recorded hockey game from an NHL CI channel to transfer to my Nomad devices (iPad or a PC).

I've been working with DirecTV case management and they called tonight and gave me this update: "according to our engineers, the NHL CI channels are coded as PPV channels therefore you can't watch them with a Nomad." The CSR told me that she is trying to figure out whether this is going to be corrected as the DirecTV web site doesn't mention that NHL CI can't be transferred (and we should be able to watch NHL CI channels via nomad).

Case management has had me try different DVRs in our house (HR21, 22 and 24) and also try recording SD NHL CI games. None would transfer over to the PC or iPad.

I do not have the Sports package; I have been able to transfer & watch games from NBC, NHLN, my RSN and NBC Sports network via nomad.

Anyone else having this problem? Should my little red BS flag be flying right now with this answer (NHL CI is coded as PPV)?

If this is in fact accurate, I wonder if the same will be true for MLB EI?

#634 OFFLINE   dengland

dengland

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2006

Posted 07 April 2012 - 06:56 AM

[quote name='trh']I have been able to transfer & watch games from NBC, NHLN, my RSN and NBC Sports network via nomad.
QUOTE]

I thought locals would not transfer. Is tthe NBC you reference a local?

HR34-700, HR20-700, HR22-100, HR22-100


#635 OFFLINE   dengland

dengland

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2006

Posted 07 April 2012 - 07:11 AM

I have been able to transfer & watch games from NBC, NHLN, my RSN and NBC Sports network via nomad.


I thought locals would not transfer. Is the NBC you reference a local?

Edited by dengland, 07 April 2012 - 07:13 AM.
Fix the quote. Sorry about the double post.

HR34-700, HR20-700, HR22-100, HR22-100


#636 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,620 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 07 April 2012 - 08:00 AM

NBC games transfer. It is only the Center Ice channels I can't get to transfer.

#637 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,648 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 07 April 2012 - 08:10 AM

I thought locals would not transfer. Is the NBC you reference a local?


Locals transfer from SAT channels. OTA channels will not.

#638 OFFLINE   dengland

dengland

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2006

Posted 07 April 2012 - 05:04 PM

Locals transfer from SAT channels. OTA channels will not.

Ahh...Good to know. Thanks.

HR34-700, HR20-700, HR22-100, HR22-100


#639 OFFLINE   irlspotter

irlspotter

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 124 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2006

Posted 10 April 2012 - 12:52 PM

I have a recording showing up as "On This PC", but it is not actually there, as when I go to play it, it says it needs to download it, but it is not showing up on the DVR Playlist, nor is it anywhere on any DVR. How do I delete this porgram from my PC (although it isn't really there to be deleted). i just want to get rid of it showing in "ON THIS PC"

#640 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,648 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 10 April 2012 - 06:49 PM

I have a recording showing up as "On This PC", but it is not actually there, as when I go to play it, it says it needs to download it, but it is not showing up on the DVR Playlist, nor is it anywhere on any DVR. How do I delete this porgram from my PC (although it isn't really there to be deleted). i just want to get rid of it showing in "ON THIS PC"


There's probably an item in the Nomad folder that is there with the recording's name on it. If you search your PC for the Nomad folder and open it, look for the title. Delete it manually but nothing else. That should get rid of it and be gone next time you launch the app.

#641 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,900 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 10 April 2012 - 07:09 PM

There's probably an item in the Nomad folder that is there with the recording's name on it. If you search your PC for the Nomad folder and open it, look for the title. Delete it manually but nothing else. That should get rid of it and be gone next time you launch the app.


Interesting! Having title names and not strings of numbers/letters will be very useful in Explorer or Finder.

Edited by Laxguy, 10 April 2012 - 10:11 PM.

"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#642 OFFLINE   Mike_TV

Mike_TV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 157 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2006

Posted 19 April 2012 - 03:33 PM

I have a "new" iPad. Set up Nomad a little more than a month ago with a bunch of recordings that downloaded and played fine. Now they all expired and I have no more recordings on the iPad

I get the message that says "There are no recordings on your iPad"

If I go into iPad, Settings and then Usage I'm showing Nomad is still taking up 13.2 GB of space on my iPad. This is with zero shows downloaded.

With no recordings on the iPad is there any way to free up that 13.2 GB of space that Nomad is taking up?

Version 1.0.1
Firmware 1.2p14-46159S

#643 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,239 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 19 April 2012 - 04:08 PM

With no recordings on the iPad is there any way to free up that 13.2 GB of space that Nomad is taking up?

Version 1.0.1
Firmware 1.2p14-46159S


The only way I know of is to delete the nomad client then reinstall.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#644 OFFLINE   Mike_TV

Mike_TV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 157 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2006

Posted 20 April 2012 - 01:41 PM

The only way I know of is to delete the nomad client then reinstall.


I was afraid of that. I'll wait until the next version and see if they fix this problem.

#645 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,900 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 April 2012 - 09:38 PM

I was afraid of that. I'll wait until the next version and see if they fix this problem.


I wonder if "dead" programs get deleted when the 'Pad is nearing capacity and more space is required?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#646 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,488 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 April 2012 - 02:18 AM

I wonder if "dead" programs get deleted when the 'Pad is nearing capacity and more space is required?


That is what I think would logically be the case.

Why not just give us the Ability to Delete Recordings stored on Nomad or our Mobile Device so we can Manage it ourselves???
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#647 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,488 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 April 2012 - 02:21 AM

REALLY?????

Considering third party add-ons for Blu-Ray playback as well as the fact that Apple's OWN TOOLS support the writing of Blu-Ray, your comment related to DRM being somehow difficult is an outright LIE and JOKE.

I suggest you stick to topics you know and understand. Although, that might severely limit your number of posts.


WOW!!!

What a Post!!! :lol:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#648 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,900 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 21 April 2012 - 09:19 AM

WOW!!!

What a Post!!! :lol:


Well, somewhat harsh if you catch my drift.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#649 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,488 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 April 2012 - 11:19 AM

Well, somewhat harsh if you catch my drift.


Just a Great Post and a Great Way To Word It!!! :lol:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#650 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 412 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 22 April 2012 - 12:47 PM

I wonder if "dead" programs get deleted when the 'Pad is nearing capacity and more space is required?


Yea it seems to be a very popular way to write apps(Apple almost encourages it) including Spotify where they fill up all your storage and it gets cleared when it's needed but makes people think their using more storage then they are.

It's genius on Apples part




Protected By... spam firewall...And...