Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Stop the H24 from going into standby.


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lee78221

lee78221

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 251 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 15 October 2011 - 01:26 AM

So I'm using a H24 as a tuner for my Windows Media center. The problem I'm have is the H24 keeps going into standby mode by itself.

How do I prevent the H24 from going into sleep mode. I have a H23, but it's not having the same issues.

Edited by lee78221, 15 October 2011 - 01:38 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,540 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 15 October 2011 - 11:11 AM

There's no "sleep mode" on DirecTV DVRs/Receivers. Only the front panel or remote's power button should put the H24 into standby.

How is the H24 connected to your Media Center PC? How is the Media Center controlling the H24? Perhaps it's sending a "power off" command to the H24?
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   lee78221

lee78221

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 251 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 15 October 2011 - 12:09 PM

There's no "sleep mode" on DirecTV DVRs/Receivers. Only the front panel or remote's power button should put the H24 into standby.

How is the H24 connected to your Media Center PC? How is the Media Center controlling the H24? Perhaps it's sending a "power off" command to the H24?

The H24 is connected via HDMI to the Hauppauge Colossus. WMC alongside DVBLink sends via HTTP tuning the DirecTV receiver a signal to change the channel.

: Get the CMD file parameters
set SHORT_CHANNEL_NUMBER=%1

:: Fill a 'full channel number' with leading zeros, up to a maximum of 3 digits
:: Some tuning software might need this "full number", other don't
set FULL_CHANNEL_NUMBER=000000%SHORT_CHANNEL_NUMBER%
set FULL_CHANNEL_NUMBER=%FULL_CHANNEL_NUMBER:~-3%


:: TODO Forward the call to your tuning software
echo Changing channel to #%SHORT_CHANNEL_NUMBER% (%FULL_CHANNEL_NUMBER%) >> %~n0.log

:tunechan
rem This is the command for all channels, including subs
call C:\directv.exe /p 8080 /i 192.168.1.112 /c %SHORT_CHANNEL_NUMBER%

As you can see there is nothing in there to power on or off.

But then that might be beyond the scope of this forum, but then I just trying to find out why this is only happening on the H24 and not the H23 when everything is the same.

Edited by lee78221, 15 October 2011 - 09:21 PM.


#4 OFFLINE   bobcamp1

bobcamp1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 895 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2007

Posted 15 October 2011 - 05:54 PM

Perhaps a bug in the HDMI code (in H24 or the other device) somewhere? My Patterson USB-serial cable never puts the H24 into standby.

#5 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,540 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 15 October 2011 - 07:44 PM

Most folks use the Patterson USB-to-serial converter like bobcamp1, so yours is the first I've ever seen this sort of problem reported.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#6 OFFLINE   lee78221

lee78221

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 251 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 17 October 2011 - 01:27 AM

Just on a whim I changed out the HDMI cable and now everything seems to be working fine.Who knew.

#7 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,540 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 17 October 2011 - 08:56 AM

Good to hear!
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#8 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,530 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 27 October 2011 - 12:52 AM

Just on a whim I changed out the HDMI cable and now everything seems to be working fine.Who knew.

Maybe there is a routine to put the unit into standby if handshake is sketchy, and it intermittently was with the other cable. Otherwise, it makes little sense that this would cure it.
It's usually safe to talk honestly and openly with people because they typically are not really listening anyway.




spam firewall