Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV Remote Shootout


  • Please log in to reply
148 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 18 October 2011 - 12:56 AM

I use a standard stand alone Dirctv remote for all my receivers and I have just gotten into using an app on my android smartphone for kicks and giggles. I would have to admit for being somewhat tech savy I like the "old fasion" remote in my hand. And here is why.

It can just be more cumbersome to press the touchscreen while I know exactly where the remote buttons are in the dark with the D* remote. If I have the remote across the room or I can't find it in a pinch, sure I LOVE the option of my phone as a remote cuz I always know where that is.

Otherwise I don't think I will ever pay for a remote app on the smartphone just because I find it more of a hassle to use it all the time but it sure is nice to have it as a back up!

Thanks Stuart Sweet and the others for some great write ups!!!

Edited by webby_s, 19 October 2011 - 08:25 AM.

SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   AirShark

AirShark

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 12:57 AM

Harmony ONE FTW!!!!

#23 OFFLINE   bootlace

bootlace

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 18 October 2011 - 05:02 AM

Harmony 700

#24 OFFLINE   texz71

texz71

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Jul 02, 2009

Posted 18 October 2011 - 05:54 AM

For Android Remote. I prefer:
Cognitial Mobile's DirecTV Remote

https://market.andro...=also_installed
Occupation: Satellite Systems Engineer/Test Engineer
Setup:
- QTY 4 HR23-700's w/ SWM-8
- QTY 2 Linksys WRT-54GS w/ DD-WRT v24 pre-SP2.

#25 OFFLINE   treecastle

treecastle

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
  • LocationEast Tennessee
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 18 October 2011 - 05:58 AM

I like the DirecTV Remote and have a number of them throughout the house in RF mode. Makes life much simpler for me and my wife :)

#26 OFFLINE   texz71

texz71

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Jul 02, 2009

Posted 18 October 2011 - 05:59 AM

Has anyone had any issues with the Android (or other PC type) remote apps not recognizing all DVR's on your network?

I have QTY 4 HR23's and they all see each other just fine. They all have unique NAMES set in Whole Home DVR. All have static IP addresses and manual Ports (with router set to properly forward ports) and all appear in Tversity and Win7 just fine...however 2 of the DVR's just do not get found (even with a manual search by IP address) by any of the Android apps. I've tried reseting up network parameters, rebooting, re-running Network Services, etc...and I just can not get them to be found.
Occupation: Satellite Systems Engineer/Test Engineer
Setup:
- QTY 4 HR23-700's w/ SWM-8
- QTY 2 Linksys WRT-54GS w/ DD-WRT v24 pre-SP2.

#27 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,017 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 18 October 2011 - 06:00 AM

Option #1, RF mode. All of my receivers are behind doors so they cannot be seen. Yes I know there are other ways but this one takes no extra effort.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#28 OFFLINE   FHSPSU67

FHSPSU67

    CE'er & Retired Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,385 posts
  • LocationWindber, PA
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 18 October 2011 - 06:25 AM

I have the Android DIRECTV Remote Pro, but am happier using the RF DIRECTV and individual remotes for my AVR, Blu-ray, and TV. My wife is even good at using the individual remotes:)
I have an expensive Sony RM-AV3100, and while it looks impressive, it is not fully programmable for all functions on all devices.
Sony RM-AV3100.jpg

Edited by FHSPSU67, 18 October 2011 - 10:07 AM.

Fred
DIRECTV since November 1995
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler" A.Einstein

#29 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    *Recently Declassified

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,091 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 18 October 2011 - 06:45 AM

I have never found a universal remote I like better than the standard DirecTV remote. Then again, I've never bought one of the RF-ready Harmony remotes, as I'm afraid of not liking something I've invested more than a Benji on.
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#30 OFFLINE   Ken984

Ken984

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,016 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2005

Posted 18 October 2011 - 07:30 AM

Harmony One in the LR. Harmony 880 in the bedroom. Much prefer the One to the 880. Harmony 676 in the 2nd bedroom.
I also have an ipad2 and have used the app and it is very slick.

Samsung 65-es6550-HR44-700-Denon AVR-2311CI, XBOX360, Win Media Center 7, Samsung BD-D6500


#31 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,969 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 07:34 AM

Media Room 1 (HR20-700) - URC MX-980 using codeset 1
Media Room 2 (HR24-100) - URC MX-980 using codeset 2
Master Bedroom (HR20-700) - URC MX-880
Living Room (HR21-700+AM21) - URC MX-880
Playroom (HR20-700) - URC MX-880
Office (H21-200) - URC MX-900
Kitchen (H25-500) - DirecTV RC64R

Can also access all receivers/DVRs with the iPad app.

MX-980Posted Image MX-880Posted Image MX-900 Posted Image

Edited by Herdfan, 18 October 2011 - 07:39 AM.


#32 OFFLINE   Kentstater

Kentstater

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 425 posts
  • LocationSE Michigan
Joined: Jun 18, 2004

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:04 AM

Harmony 650
You can keep the change

#33 OFFLINE   ncxcstud

ncxcstud

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 591 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2007

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:20 AM

Downstairs I use a Harmony Remote. Upstairs just the DirecTV 'normal' remote.
40" Samsung LCD - LN40B640 (living room)
42" Samsung DLP - HLS4266W
DirecTV HR20-700 Receiver
DirecTV H24-100 Receiver
DirecTV HR24-100 Receiver
Pastor of All Saints Lutheran Church in Mason, MI
XBOX Live, Battle.net, and PSN gamertags - ncxcstud

#34 OFFLINE   bfleish

bfleish

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:20 AM

I have a Harmony 700 but mostly use the original DTV remote. It just "feels" right. My fingers know where everything is.

In the bedroom I use the original DTV remote but I have to keep the OEM remote for the sleep button. :shrug:

A DirecTV Subscriber since 1998


#35 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,824 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:45 AM

For the living room I have to have a remote to control 7 different components so a universal is the only way to go. Since I need more than just a five step macro that leaves out a Harmony; which is why I’m using the URC remote. It's currently the MX-810 but I'm getting an MX-880 this week.

The bedroom has a receiver, TV, and a BD player so I use a Harmony 550.

The spare room has just a receiver and a TV so the RC64 works great.
I think an RC6x remote with some macro capability would be a good idea. It would certainly be the least expensive route but would need to turn on several components.

For me I like the flexibility of a programmable universal. On the MX-810 I have custom icons for buttons on the LCD screen and creating macros of any length takes less time than it does to download to the remote. I can control everything in the house from that one remote.

I’ve used the Android app and the iPhone. They’re pretty interesting but not really that useful. Not enough flexibility. I just can’t see my self using a tablet that costs hundreds to control a single component. I would still need a remote for the AVR, the HDMI/Toslink switch, and the TV so what’s the point. If I had just a receiver and a TV it would be fine though.

My 3.34¢ FWIW. :grin:

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#36 OFFLINE   Steveknj

Steveknj

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:47 AM

I have the Harmony 700 on my Family Room TV (the one I watch the most) and the 510 on my Living Room TV (the one my daughter mostly uses). On the bedroom receivers we use the standard DirecTV free remotes. I do have one of the free DirecTV remote apps for both my android phone and Acer Iconia tablet, but find that it's just easier and faster to use the stand alone remotes. Plus, if you use your phone for a remote, it's a battery drain, and on the Tablet, I am usually just using it for other things besides the remote.

#37 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,043 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:56 AM

I have a Harmony 880 in the living room which has been awesome for the past almost five years. However, the buttons for Volume Up and Channel Up are getting a bit wonky and it's due for a replacement. Looks like I'll have to go with a Harmony One (the 700 doesn't control enough devices). Second fave is the Directv iPad app.

One interesting thought for the future is that more and more A/V receivers appear to be network-connected. Using an IP-based remote should become easier over time for more people.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#38 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,288 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 18 October 2011 - 09:01 AM

Posted Image
Radio Shack 15-1994 JP1 custom-programmed universal remote. Not for everyone, the JP1 remotes allow full customization down to the keypress, with any key being macro-capable. A lot of freeware and crowd-sourced datasets. JP1 remotes were/are made by One4All, both under their own name or private label like this one. Many, like the one above, have been totally recoded by the community to enhance functionality. See http://www.hifi-remote.com for more info.

Controls the list on the link below.
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#39 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,435 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 09:16 AM

My favorite remote "app" is the DirecTV App for iPad, but it doesn't run on my iPod Touch.

The Waltz remote does, and has some neat macros built-in, for CCs, the TDL and even Smart Search. If you key your search phrase in using the iPod's on-screen keyboard, the remote will call up Smart Search on the HR and search for whatever you typed.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0070.PNG
  • IMG_0072.PNG
  • IMG_0069.PNG
  • IMG_0071.PNG

/steve

#40 OFFLINE   pfp

pfp

    Whatever

  • Registered
  • 1,552 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2009

Posted 18 October 2011 - 09:26 AM

It's a Harmony 360 for me. I selected this remote because at the time it was the only one Harmony remote available in the US with the four color buttons.

That Harmony link looks cool but I use this one remote in three different rooms so I think I'd need three of those and I'm not really up for that expense.

Posted Image
I do, I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact, and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you, or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.




spam firewall