Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV Remote Shootout


  • Please log in to reply
148 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,051 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 01:13 PM

Very cool!
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,603 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 01:26 PM

Option 1 the DirecTV remote working fine for me and the family

JACK,
 
 


#53 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,038 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 02:04 PM

I use the DirecTV remote for all 7 of my receivers.

In the theater room, where I'm running 3 HR2xes, I use 3 remotes. I find this simpler than programing one remote to use all three boxes. Stickers on each remote make it easy for us to use the correct remote, and I don't have to deal with the toggle switch.

I've used the iPad app, and it has a coolness factor, but it's just much more cumbersome than the remote. And if I'm not on the D app when I need to skip over commercials, the extra few seconds it takes to switch apps isn't worth it for me. I know where all the important (to me) buttons are on the remote; without tacticle feedback, that's not possible on the iPad.

#54 OFFLINE   Leftcoastdave

Leftcoastdave

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 251 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2004

Posted 18 October 2011 - 04:06 PM

I use the Harmony 720 to control the following 11 devices:

Sony SXRD HDTV KDL55A2000

Zector HDS4.1 HDTV 4 way switch

HR200-700, HR20-100, and HR24-500 DVR's

Logitech Revue (Google TV)

Sony BDP 300 Blu Ray Player

Pioneer VSX 09TX AV Receiver

Samsung 19" HDTV

Sony AV Receiver

Sony CD Player

All Home Theater events are macro-ized with one button clicks.
Ut Prosim

#55 OFFLINE   spanishannouncetable

spanishannouncetable

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 717 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 18 October 2011 - 04:29 PM

My weapon of choice -

Posted Image
Fox News : It grows on you... kinda like cancer.

#56 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,930 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 18 October 2011 - 04:30 PM

I'm pretty basic, I use four D* RF remotes to control two receivers being shared on four TV's. I also use an old Harmony 688 to control the main TV to turn everything on/off and switch inputs between D*, PS3 and AV receiver.

Edited by TheRatPatrol, 18 October 2011 - 04:38 PM.


#57 OFFLINE   redsoxfan26

redsoxfan26

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 386 posts
  • LocationWest Warwick, RI
Joined: Dec 06, 2007

Posted 18 October 2011 - 04:56 PM

Here is mine, a N.E. Patriots RC64RB. I also use a RC65RX and a RC65X.

Attached Thumbnails

  • DSC00031.JPG


#58 OFFLINE   Reggie3

Reggie3

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 553 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 06:02 PM

Harmony ONE FTW!!!!


Ditto - best remote out there. Controls a Marantz Pre and Amp plus Sony Blu-Ray as well as the HR22. The Marantz also is used to do a phono as well as XM sat

Basement: H21-100 to 60" Sony SXRD

Family Room: HR34 Genie HDMI to 70" Slharp Elite (Feb 22nd, 2013)

Main Bedroom:  HR22-100  to 50" Panasonic Plasma

Loyal DirecTV customer since 1996

 

 


#59 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,681 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 18 October 2011 - 06:27 PM

What I would like to use as a remote control:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1318983938


What I'm more likely to find visiting:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1318983938

Attached Thumbnails

  • Carson.jpg
  • imogen-thomas-calendar-shoot-spain-05-thumb.jpg

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#60 OFFLINE   nuspieds

nuspieds

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2008

Posted 18 October 2011 - 06:29 PM

Harmony 900!

#61 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 18 October 2011 - 06:32 PM

What I would like to use as a remote control:


What I'm more likely to find visiting:


:lol::lol::lol:
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#62 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,996 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 18 October 2011 - 06:33 PM

Media Room 1 (HR20-700) - URC MX-980 using codeset 1
Media Room 2 (HR24-100) - URC MX-980 using codeset 2
Master Bedroom (HR20-700) - URC MX-880
Living Room (HR21-700+AM21) - URC MX-880
Playroom (HR20-700) - URC MX-880
Office (H21-200) - URC MX-900
Kitchen (H25-500) - DirecTV RC64R

Can also access all receivers/DVRs with the iPad app.

MX-980Posted Image MX-880Posted Image MX-900 Posted Image

A few very nice remotes. IMHO, the MX-980 and the MX-880 are two of the best remotes on the market. I'm a fan of the 880 myself. I'm replacing my 810 with one this week. :)

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#63 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    Chocolate Anyone?

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,485 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 18 October 2011 - 06:41 PM

Tom, if you ever get that first "dream" remote will you please have me over for the Packers game? I'll bring the pizza and soda. :)

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#64 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 18 October 2011 - 07:06 PM

So, I hope someone will answer this... But what remotes actually work with the DirecTV receivers in RF mode? The Harmony 900 only does RF with its dongle as far as I've read, and I seem to recall there was one by acoustic research that did work but was since discontinued...
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#65 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,996 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 18 October 2011 - 07:12 PM

So, I hope someone will answer this... But what remotes actually work with the DirecTV receivers in RF mode? The Harmony 900 only does RF with its dongle as far as I've read, and I seem to recall there was one by acoustic research that did work but was since discontinued...

AAFIK, there is only one. The Xsight is the only remote that will do DIRECTV RF natively.

http://www.dbstalk.c...ighlight=xsight

IIRC, it's limited to only one receiver in RF.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#66 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 18 October 2011 - 07:13 PM

AAFIK, there is only one. The Xsight is the only remote that will do DIRECTV RF natively.

http://www.dbstalk.c...ighlight=xsight

IIRC, it's limited to only one receiver in RF.

Mike


Yup, and that's the one that's discontinued. Damn.
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#67 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,996 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 18 October 2011 - 07:15 PM

Yup, and that's the one that's discontinued. Damn.

Amazon has them in stock.

http://www.amazon.co...n/dp/B002N1J7DU

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#68 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 18 October 2011 - 07:37 PM

Amazon has them in stock.

http://www.amazon.co...n/dp/B002N1J7DU

Mike


Duly bookmarked for future purchase.
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#69 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,539 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:01 PM

Home Theater:
Posted Image

Living Room:
Posted Image

Master Bedroom:
Posted Image

Excercise Room & Game Room:
Posted Image

I also occasionally use the Android App in every room.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#70 OFFLINE   loudo

loudo

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,646 posts
  • LocationCentral Maine
Joined: Mar 24, 2005

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:02 PM

My DirecTV remote will get me anything that any of the others will.

#71 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,783 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:14 PM

Four year old Monster AVL300 remote.
Zwave and IR but program it with the PC like Harmony and every mode (DVD, SAT etc) is one button. And with Zwave, it changes the lighting automatically too.

#72 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,681 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:21 PM

Tom, if you ever get that first "dream" remote will you please have me over for the Packers game? I'll bring the pizza and soda. :)


Gladly. And multiple times if you can make the trip. :)

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#73 ONLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,221 posts
  • LocationFort Pierce, FL
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:31 PM

I am little more old school

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1976_tv_stick_patent_thumb_550xauto_58666.jpg


#74 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,514 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 18 October 2011 - 09:11 PM

Has anyone had any issues with the Android (or other PC type) remote apps not recognizing all DVR's on your network?

I have QTY 4 HR23's and they all see each other just fine. They all have unique NAMES set in Whole Home DVR. All have static IP addresses and manual Ports (with router set to properly forward ports) and all appear in Tversity and Win7 just fine...however 2 of the DVR's just do not get found (even with a manual search by IP address) by any of the Android apps. I've tried reseting up network parameters, rebooting, re-running Network Services, etc...and I just can not get them to be found.

I have 7 receivers, and had to repeatedly scan in the two Android apps I mentioned earlier. On each scan it would find a few, but not all, and each scan was different. I ended up just writing down the IP addresses and manually adding in the receivers.

As to my preference, I didn't state earlier, but I use a Harmony 900 in the Living Room for the plethora of equipment in the media console; use a Harmony 700 in the Master bedroom; and use the DIRECTV remote in the den. My preference is ALWAYS to use a Harmony, with 900 being near perfect (just lacks macro support).

#75 OFFLINE   pilotboy72

pilotboy72

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 18 October 2011 - 09:57 PM

I have a Harmony 900 as my primary remote for downstairs (HR-21) and the standard remotes for the other two units. I use the iPad when I have it with me and am feeling extra lazy.
HR21-700
Samsung LN-T5271F (via HDMI)
Wired network to Linksys WRT-54G (Tomato firmware)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...