Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

CBET Channel 9 Windsor


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gaperrine

gaperrine

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
  • LocationDexter MI
Joined: Dec 07, 2002

Posted 26 October 2011 - 10:43 AM

Channel 9 in Windsor has gone digital. Does anyone know of a city to use to allow reception using an AM21? It was analog channel 9 and I think the digital signal is also channel 9.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   RMBittner

RMBittner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 123 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2011

Posted 26 October 2011 - 12:18 PM

I did a search on the TPN_Map file here and didn't turn up any listings for Windsor (Canada) or CBET. I'm new to that spreadsheet, though, so it's possible that I missed something. But if not, it's possible that it is not available on the AM21. (As others have noted, a number of locals aren't in the database that the AM21 relies upon, meaning they can't be tuned.)

Since you're in Dexter, you could probably put up a normal OTA antenna and get Windsor with no problem! Of course, it wouldn't roll the programming into your Guide or allow for scheduled recordings, etc.

Hopefully, someone with more knowledge in this area will jump in and correct me if I've overlooked something.

Bob

#3 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,066 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 26 October 2011 - 01:15 PM

What, no more CKLW?!

According to Wikipedia the now CBET is on channel 9 VHF so first off you need an antenna that does both, not just the higher UHF frequencies.
Find another market that includes a station that also has a digital/real channel 9, but doesn't have any other stations that broadcast on frequencies used in your area.
Enter the zip for that other market as a secondary for your AM21, and then your guide will show all of the secondary market stations in addition to your primary.
Now when you select the secondary market station that corresponds to real channel 9 your AM21 will tune CBET channel 9.
Use a custom guide list so as not to include the unwanted secondary stations (other than the one corresponding to channel 9 of course).
Wikipedia is your friend - use it to see what channel a station really broadcasts on, the displayed channel doesn't matter, except that VHF channels usually reflect the real broadcast channel much more that those in the UHF range.
As for finding a secondary market, IIRC the last time I looked for a complete listing of markets and OTA stations with their real broadcast channel the resource was no longer there. You'll have to rummage around the internet for the info.
Good luck.

edit -
This list may help: http://www.dtv.gov/stationlist.htm

Edited by dettxw, 26 October 2011 - 01:28 PM.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#4 OFFLINE   gaperrine

gaperrine

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 102 posts
  • LocationDexter MI
Joined: Dec 07, 2002

Posted 26 October 2011 - 01:36 PM

Thanks. I know I need to find a city with a channel 9 whose digital channel is 9-1. I was hoping someone knew of one or could tell me where I might find that information. I get the channel just fine on my TV, but would like to be able to record it on my DVR. I realize that the program information would be wrong and I would have to manually set the recordings.

What, no more CKLW?!

According to Wikipedia the now CBET is on channel 9 VHF so first off you need an antenna that does both, not just the higher UHF frequencies.
Find another market that includes a station that also has a digital/real channel 9, but doesn't have any other stations that broadcast on frequencies used in your area.
Enter the zip for that other market as a secondary for your AM21, and then your guide will show all of the secondary market stations in addition to your primary.
Now when you select the secondary market station that corresponds to real channel 9 your AM21 will tune CBET channel 9.
Use a custom guide list so as not to include the unwanted secondary stations (other than the one corresponding to channel 9 of course).
Wikipedia is your friend - use it to see what channel a station really broadcasts on, the displayed channel doesn't matter, except that VHF channels usually reflect the real broadcast channel much more that those in the UHF range.
As for finding a secondary market, IIRC the last time I looked for a complete listing of markets and OTA stations with their real broadcast channel the resource was no longer there. You'll have to rummage around the internet for the info.
Good luck.



#5 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 26 October 2011 - 01:42 PM

I did a search on the TPN_Map file here and didn't turn up any listings for Windsor (Canada) or CBET.

That's the problem. What he needs is another market that has a channel on both physical and virtual channel 9, which I don't think exists.

#6 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,066 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 26 October 2011 - 02:00 PM

Try these:

Yuma
Traverse City
Odessa
North Platte

All have real and virtual channel 9s.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#7 OFFLINE   oldcrooner

oldcrooner

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 268 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 26 October 2011 - 02:20 PM

The Wheeling WV/Steubenville OH market also has a real and virtual channel 9, also a channel 7. Both of those stations in that market chose to return to VHF channels.
Men become civilized, not in proportion to their willingness to believe, but in proportion to their readiness to doubt.
--Ambrose Bierce

#8 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 26 October 2011 - 02:29 PM

The Wheeling WV/Steubenville OH market also has a real and virtual channel 9, also a channel 7. Both of those stations in that market chose to return to VHF channels.

Detroit also has a channel 7 though, so that market wouldn't work in this case.

#9 OFFLINE   gaperrine

gaperrine

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 102 posts
  • LocationDexter MI
Joined: Dec 07, 2002

Posted 26 October 2011 - 03:07 PM

Traverse City works. I'm now able to record CBC Windsor. Thank you so much. Where did you find that information?


Try these:

Yuma
Traverse City
Odessa
North Platte

All have real and virtual channel 9s.



#10 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,066 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 26 October 2011 - 03:25 PM

Traverse City works. I'm now able to record CBC Windsor. Thank you so much. Where did you find that information?

Used the link added to post 3 and just looked for a DMA with a digital/real channel 9 and no stations common to Detroit.

Glad that you're in business.

Edited by dettxw, 26 October 2011 - 07:11 PM.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#11 OFFLINE   gcd0865

gcd0865

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2008

Posted 26 October 2011 - 05:45 PM

If I have the technique figured out correctly, using the Traverse City zip code in your AM21 might also allow reception of CICO 32.1 (TV Ontario) from Windsor, since it matches up with WFQX 32.1, the Fox station in the Traverse City market.

http://www.mifox32.com
http://www.michiguid...ls/tv/wfqx.html

Does it matter if RabbitEars says WFQX is actually on 32.3 digital and WWTV is actually on 9.3 digital? Not entirely sure how that part works.

http://www.rabbitear...&callsign=25396
http://www.rabbitear...&callsign=26994

#12 OFFLINE   gaperrine

gaperrine

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 102 posts
  • LocationDexter MI
Joined: Dec 07, 2002

Posted 26 October 2011 - 07:33 PM

No. The Traverse City 32.1 is virtual channel 33.

If I have the technique figured out correctly, using the Traverse City zip code in your AM21 might also allow reception of CICO 32.1 (TV Ontario) from Windsor, since it matches up with WFQX 32.1, the Fox station in the Traverse City market.

http://www.mifox32.com
http://www.michiguid...ls/tv/wfqx.html

Does it matter if RabbitEars says WFQX is actually on 32.3 digital and WWTV is actually on 9.3 digital? Not entirely sure how that part works.

http://www.rabbitear...&callsign=25396
http://www.rabbitear...&callsign=26994



#13 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,066 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 26 October 2011 - 07:38 PM

If I have the technique figured out correctly, using the Traverse City zip code in your AM21 might also allow reception of CICO 32.1 (TV Ontario) from Windsor, since it matches up with WFQX 32.1, the Fox station in the Traverse City market.

http://www.mifox32.com
http://www.michiguid...ls/tv/wfqx.html

Does it matter if RabbitEars says WFQX is actually on 32.3 digital and WWTV is actually on 9.3 digital? Not entirely sure how that part works.

http://www.rabbitear...&callsign=25396
http://www.rabbitear...&callsign=26994

I'd say maybe yes as both transmit on UHF channel 32.
The thing is, according to the FCC WFQX is displayed as channel 33. If true, it seems reasonable to me that selecting whatever shows up in the guide for WFQX will cause digital channel 32 to be tuned, which would be CICO in Detroit.

It that doesn't work try another secondary zip that includes digital channel 32.
The other markets that have both 9 & 32 as both digital/virtual as the same channel are Montgomery, Myrtle Beach, and SLC.
Let us know what does work.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#14 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,108 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 26 October 2011 - 08:14 PM

Try these:

Yuma
Traverse City
Odessa
North Platte

All have real and virtual channel 9s.


Also Seattle.

#15 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,153 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 30 October 2011 - 03:07 PM

Does it matter if RabbitEars says WFQX is actually on 32.3 digital and WWTV is actually on 9.3 digital? Not entirely sure how that part works.

It's the program number that's part of the MPEG table, in most cases the first subchannel X-1 uses program 3. RabbitEars lists both the Digital Channel which is the RF channel and the program number and the Display channel which is the virtual channel you see in the EPG. Canadian stations sometime do it different since the CRTC doesn't allow additional subchannels, so a few stations might be using program 1 or 2.

I haven't personally tried it to see if a different program number affects the mapping, I think DirecTV just uses the virtual channel. CBC Windsor uses 9.3 so it shouldn't be a problem either way. The local CTV Two, CHCH and TVO signals use program number 1.

#16 OFFLINE   PrinceLH

PrinceLH

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 473 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2003

Posted 30 October 2011 - 05:19 PM

CFTO channel 9 Toronto, Canada.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...