Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

No guide after Friday 10/28/11


  • Please log in to reply
144 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   eichenberg

eichenberg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2003

Posted 13 January 2012 - 03:19 PM

Well most of my channels say No info after 6:30 PM MT and I will be willing to bet that some of my timers will get all jacked up to. It seems evertime this happens I have afew timers that record old shows even though they are set to record new, all becuase the guide data is messed up and shows generic info for shows so the DVR software thinks it is a new show...or it has info but shows a original date of current date, but the program is actually from last year. I have a 722k and a 625. The 625 does not have No info at 6:30, just the 722k.



Just happened again. Came home from work turn TV on go to guide and most channels show No Info after 2:30 PM MT.

Just got done chatting with support and they are sending me a replacement unit.

Edited by eichenberg, 13 January 2012 - 03:48 PM.
more info

Vizio SV470XVT1A
Yamaha RX-V663 DD 7.1
Dishnetwork
Vip 722k
DP 625
Soon to be Hopper/Joey System
PS3
Wii

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,616 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 23 January 2012 - 03:16 PM

Happened to me on my 722 again.

On Friday 1/21/2012 I set my schedule for the following week with over a week's worth of guide available. On Saturday morning 1/22/2012, the guide only went through Sunday midday.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#53 OFFLINE   TimCoh

TimCoh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Dec 24, 2011

Posted 23 January 2012 - 07:50 PM

Friday Night lost guide also. Called today and also getting replacement unit sent. If it happens again then what do we do? I still say it is the L722 software.

#54 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,616 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 24 January 2012 - 12:15 AM

Friday Night lost guide also. Called today and also getting replacement unit sent. If it happens again then what do we do? I still say it is the L722 software.

It's either in the software or some mysterious illness has attached a whole bunch of boxes.:sure:

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#55 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 5,804 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 24 January 2012 - 06:35 AM

Just got done chatting with support and they are sending me a replacement unit.


Called today and also getting replacement unit sent.

I still say it is the L722 software.


Why be so impatient and run up support costs? So the guide flakes out sometimes, big deal, it's not a life and death situation.

Happens on my 508 every few days, so how would it be 'the L722 software'? Guide shows the current program and the next program, then "Info not available" or whatever.

Timers still record because the info populates far enough in advance of the scheduled timer. If it doesn't, it ain't no thang.
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#56 OFFLINE   eichenberg

eichenberg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2003

Posted 24 January 2012 - 09:57 AM

Why be so impatient and run up support costs? So the guide flakes out sometimes, big deal, it's not a life and death situation.

Happens on my 508 every few days, so how would it be 'the L722 software'? Guide shows the current program and the next program, then "Info not available" or whatever.

Timers still record because the info populates far enough in advance of the scheduled timer. If it doesn't, it ain't no thang.


Do me a favor and add iCarly for new runs to your DVR...come back in two days and check out your daily list. If what is happening to me happens to you you will have about 30 iCarly's listed to be recorded for a 7 day stretch. Will they all record. I don't know as I delete them all except for the 1 new show. The first time it happend I found out becuase after a week my daughter wanted to watch the new iCarly show, so I pull up My Recordings for her to watch and I did in deed have about 30 shows recorded. So now I am gun shy and delete in advance which is time consuming. This even happened on the "new" receiver I just received, so obviously it is a software issue and I have not had a chance to call Dish again.
Vizio SV470XVT1A
Yamaha RX-V663 DD 7.1
Dishnetwork
Vip 722k
DP 625
Soon to be Hopper/Joey System
PS3
Wii

#57 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,616 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 26 January 2012 - 11:57 AM

Happened on my 722 again.

Why be so impatient and run up support costs?

Calling and reporting it emphasizes that it's happening to a lot of boxes. Tech Support should be saying it's a known issue and they're working on it, not sending out refurbs. Unless, of course, the only known cure is wipe the firmware, scrub the hard drive and reinstall the entire OS.

So the guide flakes out sometimes, big deal, it's not a life and death situation.

In my situation since I'm retired, checking my 722 in the morning is no big deal. But...

Happens on my 508 every few days, so how would it be 'the L722 software'? Guide shows the current program and the next program, then "Info not available" or whatever.

Timers still record because the info populates far enough in advance of the scheduled timer. If it doesn't, it ain't no thang.

In some households a missed recording might result in a bit of a spat with others in the family if you're the one in charge of keeping the TV system working, particularly since you decided to save money by dropping cable and going Dish. And...

After repopulating the guide on the 722, the timers don't always "repopulate" properly. I have several times had to go to the last timer in the list, "click" on it, and watch the "numbers" of the timers reappear before the list of scheduled recordings appears for that timer.

And about the software, it didn't happen before the code was added to provide for the Blockbuster system.

Regarding the 508 and the problem, there's a long post from last June which I'll quote in part here:

It's been said that it's a sign of a failing hard drive. However, I don't believe that to be 100 percent correct. My 508 has been doing that for years and if it was a failing hard drive it would have failed by now. In my experience, here are the three most common scenarios....

...It's a bug in the software and I listed it as one of the 30 annoying bugs with this receiver. It's been like that, well, for years. :mad:

If it is a bug in the 508 software that's been around "for years" it should have been fixed. But Dish wants the 508's phased out for two reasons so I'm pretty sure they aren't devoting a lot of engineering time on it.

:rant:
IMHO my 722 isn't working right because the upper management bought a bankrupt Blockbuster and told engineering to hustle out this marketing tool so they could remove Blockbuster's life support. It had nothing to do with Dish Network, the satellite TV service, as we knew it.

What worries me is Charlie isn't running the company and the new guy doesn't really know what the various input thingys in the back of my 722 do, nor does he care. And he most certainly would see no reason to devote the same engineering resources (read "costs") to fixing crap code he ordered done in a hurry.

Of course, I have no reason to believe this, except that entirely new code normally was slowly rolled out over many, many weeks to see if something is wrong. If something even may be wrong, the rollout was halted and they'd spend many $$$$ of engineering time to fix it. The rollout of this code was a marketing decision based on propping up a risky management decision.

And if they leave the 722 stuck with this problem like they have the 508 while they roll out the "new and cool" Hopper for alpha testers customers, I'm going to have to reevaluate my years, and years, and years, of customer loyalty to Echostar equipment.
:rant:

Yeah, I'm getting irked and it is becoming a big deal. I was acquainted in the past with how Echostar Engineering allocated resources paid for by Dish. The fact that this wasn't fixed right away and they are placating customers by sending out refurbs doesn't "feel right" to me.:mad:

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#58 OFFLINE   TimCoh

TimCoh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Dec 24, 2011

Posted 26 January 2012 - 02:18 PM

I received my refurb 722 hooked it up and listened to the fan for an hour. Called up she didn't have a clue what I was talking about. 2nd tier said it was DOA.( Wednesday). Had to say cancel me. To get a tech out with another 722. Thursday tech came. Guess what same defect, DOA listen to fan. The tech went to get a 722k. Said they are new. 722 no more new ones just refurb. So far it is working. I agree about Blockbuster. Dish is losing tract of what they are, A TV service.

#59 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,616 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 26 January 2012 - 03:27 PM

Well, if someone would send me a new working 722k, probably I'd be a happy camper.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#60 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 578 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 26 January 2012 - 03:42 PM

The guide has been a problem for many many years since featured services based on it came about, long before Blockbuster was ever in the picture. The biggest problem is the content provider, Zap2It/Tribune. They're dumb as a box of rocks. But DISH still uses them and their method of integration. That's why I keep saying that Charlie should have bought TiVo, last Spring, which would have stopped the law suits and given the DISH gear their incredible software with no threat. I can't remember a single conflict that was not logically resolved with practically no effort on the viewers end with a TiVo device. The suggestions were annoying though. But that's how far their software was. It could think for itself! And the UI was/is very mature in look compared to DISH's. Things just worked. I have always though of TiVo for their GUI and DISH for their picture. But now . . . .

We are constantly having many and strange programming issues with both our 625 and 722 all the time. More so lately.

I didn't know how really bad DISH's GUI was until I had a TiVo. And was told the main reason it is, is because of the infringement potential. That was in the early days when TiVo had power. Last Spring they lost it, prime time for a buy out, but got it back last Fall.

As long as I can remember, mid 90's, DISH has always thrown refurbs at problems instead of addressing the issue directly. I can only imagine their shipping bill and see why they are charging to return gear now.

Sorry, Charlie.

#61 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,278 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 27 January 2012 - 02:46 PM

After L7.50 downloaded (maybe 2 weeks ago) my sluggish, and sometimes incomplete guide issues went away.

Today, I'm sorry to report, one of those came back. My 722k's EPG only extended until tomorrow (Sat) night and I had to download a fresh copy of it.

The other problem (sluggish EPG response) has not come back to life, but in its place is a slight (barely noticeable) across-the-board delay - all functions. I can live with this, ...

... but it would be nice if Dish would permanently fix the Guide once and for all.
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#62 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,616 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 01 February 2012 - 12:28 PM

Happened again on my 722. Any DIRT member want to order me a new 722k?:sure:

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#63 OFFLINE   JS_racer

JS_racer

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2007

Posted 02 February 2012 - 04:38 PM

Add me to the list too. Started possibly a month or two ago. This morning the guide was full and working well. Got home and turned the box on, no guide data for anything after the current hour. I have pulled the plug a few times, check switched a few times.
This sure is getting old fast. My box is a 722k with the antenna module, sling, and ehd. On 750 now
Any tips or ideas of what to try?

Thanks,
Joel

Edited by JS_racer, 02 February 2012 - 04:55 PM.


#64 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,616 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 12 February 2012 - 02:24 PM

Happened again. Friday 2/10/2012 had less than two days on my 722. Thursday I had a full week+ of schedule.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#65 OFFLINE   dttruax

dttruax

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2010

Posted 12 February 2012 - 02:28 PM

Just got a new (refurbished) replacement 722 and the thing with the guide happened a few days later. Missed some things during the day I wanted recorded because of it. I find that if I just leave the receiver on in the morning when I leave for work I can get it to record my shows. But it is really annoying when it does happen, especially if I want to find something on later in the evening.

#66 OFFLINE   dttruax

dttruax

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2010

Posted 12 February 2012 - 02:30 PM

I forgot to add that the first time I noticed this happening (late last year in December), it was around the time that Dish put all those Holiday music stations (around station 90 or so). I also noticed that Dish now is also rearranging/adding some channels to the lineup. Not sure if there's some correlation with them rearranging the schedule and it not completely downloading or what, but they seem to happen around the same time.

#67 OFFLINE   beetle02

beetle02

    Mentor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 50 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 12 February 2012 - 08:19 PM

The problem I'm having is when the guide updates it resets any manual changes I made to my timers.

#68 OFFLINE   JS_racer

JS_racer

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2007

Posted 16 February 2012 - 03:36 PM

Add a few more times for me, including today. does a new box fix the issue ??

#69 OFFLINE   olds403

olds403

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 339 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2007

Posted 16 February 2012 - 05:02 PM

Happened to me again last Sunday, had to manually update the guide.

#70 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,616 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 16 February 2012 - 05:38 PM

I forgot to post here. It happened to my 722 again on Monday.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#71 OFFLINE   JS_racer

JS_racer

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2007

Posted 17 February 2012 - 04:39 PM

Ok, can't figure our boxes crapped at the same time. Software?

#72 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,616 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 18 February 2012 - 01:54 PM

Ok, can't figure our boxes crapped at the same time. Software?

Well, my 722 had a day-and-a-half guide again this morning.

Some of us provided info to the DIRT representatives here as it appears to be some kind of glitch in the firmware/software at the point when the Blockbuster stuff was added.

I must admit I'm beginning to worry as after I forced a guide update this morning I was confronted with this screen:

Posted Image


Since the menus were redesigned I have never had a blank "New Releases" area on the screen.

I guess at some point I'm going to have to move all my recorded content off my 722 onto an EHD, do a hard reboot, and hope for the best.

I really don't want to do that in the midst of February Sweeps as I have 21 hours of "current" recordings on the internal drive which means the process will take 2½ hours. By late March I'll catch up with viewing current stuff. But my anxiety level is getting a bit high.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#73 OFFLINE   eichenberg

eichenberg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2003

Posted 18 February 2012 - 01:59 PM

Well, my 722 had a day-and-a-half guide again this morning.

Some of us provided info to the DIRT representatives here as it appears to be some kind of glitch in the firmware/software at the point when the Blockbuster stuff was added.

I must admit I'm beginning to worry as after I forced a guide update this morning I was confronted with this screen:



Since the menus were redesigned I have never had a blank "New Releases" area on the screen.

I guess at some point I'm going to have to move all my recorded content off my 722 onto an EHD, do a hard reboot, and hope for the best.

I really don't want to do that in the midst of February Sweeps as I have 21 hours of "current" recordings on the internal drive which means the process will take 2½ hours. By late March I'll catch up with viewing current stuff. But my anxiety level is getting a bit high.


Ever since i got my replacement 722k i have only had one problem right after i got it installed. I too had a blank New Release area and it scared me too. But it has been fine since.
Vizio SV470XVT1A
Yamaha RX-V663 DD 7.1
Dishnetwork
Vip 722k
DP 625
Soon to be Hopper/Joey System
PS3
Wii

#74 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,616 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 18 February 2012 - 03:30 PM

Ever since i got my replacement 722k i have only had one problem right after i got it installed. I too had a blank New Release area and it scared me too. But it has been fine since.

The problem is that the menu absence reflects that yesterday I had many channel 501 VOD movies that had been downloaded by Dish from the satellite to the hard drive. Today I have no 501 channels. Several possible causes are possible:
  • The DVR is just not accessing them correctly and if I did a hard reboot everything will come back just fine.
  • The internal hard drive directory just got scrambled for those, over a week or so everything will be downloaded again by Dish, and everything will be fine.
  • The internal hard drive is failing and will soon crash.
I don't care if I don't have the 501 channels as we don't watch VOD. But since #3 above would be a horrendous catastrophe :sure: I've decided to move 12 hours of drama from the past week onto an external hard drive and keep new drama there until we get caught up. I'm leaving 5 hours of comedy and 4 hours of other stuff on the internal drive.

At some point I may clean all recordings off the internal drive and do a hard reboot. It's just we've gotten behind in our TV watching.

And if it crashes before the end of March, I'm going to be irked.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#75 OFFLINE   olds403

olds403

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 339 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2007

Posted 18 February 2012 - 03:45 PM

Did another check switch last night to download the guide as it was down to 2 days worth of listings.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...