Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV App for iPad 1.3.x: Issues/Discussion only (No Jailbreak Talk)


  • Please log in to reply
235 replies to this topic

#101 OFFLINE   tunce

tunce

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 332 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2006

Posted 16 November 2011 - 11:17 AM

?
Why would you want sound if you have the mute control on?


I'm with you on that.
Tunce

HR34-700 w/AM21 | HR20-700 | H21-200 | SWiM | Slimline 3
Whole Home - External Antenna

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#102 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,671 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 16 November 2011 - 12:31 PM

?
Why would you want sound if you have the mute control on?


That's really an obfuscation for what's really fixed (something the title says not to talk about).

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


#103 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,229 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 16 November 2011 - 12:39 PM

?
Why would you want sound if you have the mute control on?


Yeah, I don't know... that's just what the release notes said... :shrug:

EDIT: Ahh, seems there was a bug with the switch setting: http://www.dbstalk.c...717#post2888717

Edited by Go Beavs, 16 November 2011 - 12:43 PM.
added link

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#104 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 16 November 2011 - 03:22 PM

?
Why would you want sound if you have the mute control on?


Because the music app plays sound when the mute control is on as well as the Netflix app and most others

#105 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,935 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 16 November 2011 - 03:30 PM

Because the music app plays sound when the mute control is on as well as the Netflix app and most others



I know. And I've tried to mute it with the mute switch (imagine that!), and it doesn't work.

A mute switch should mute the device, regardless of the app.

#106 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 16 November 2011 - 06:38 PM

I know. And I've tried to mute it with the mute switch (imagine that!), and it doesn't work.

A mute switch should mute the device, regardless of the app.

Androids the same way

#107 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,766 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 16 November 2011 - 07:00 PM

I know. And I've tried to mute it with the mute switch (imagine that!), and it doesn't work.

A mute switch should mute the device, regardless of the app.


Which mute switch?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#108 OFFLINE   looter

looter

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 305 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2007

Posted 16 November 2011 - 11:20 PM

App rarely finds receivers. Pretty maddening. I was just watching something on the iPad app switched app to check my mail and now app says "No connected receivers found". iPad has Internet. Receivers have Internet. Yet they can't find find each other. Both receivers see each other with unified playlist.
Home: (1) HR21-700 w/AM21, (1) HR22-100
Office: (1) H23, R22 Make that R16-300 (never trust DIRECTV when they tell you what receiver you’re getting).
DIRECTV since 1995

#109 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,935 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 16 November 2011 - 11:54 PM

Androids the same way


I understand that it's intentional. I don't why it's intentional.

Which mute switch?


The rectangular switch counterclockwise around the corner from the volume control.

#110 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,766 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 17 November 2011 - 12:35 AM

The rectangular switch counterclockwise around the corner from the volume control.


That's not the mute switch. It darkens the screen. There are three ways to mute the box: One is the switch next to the volume control, but it has to be set in Settings to Mute. An other is the volume control itself. Gets to 0 real fast. A third way is the ear buds, the switch on the right phone wire.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#111 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,104 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 17 November 2011 - 12:36 AM

App rarely finds receivers. Pretty maddening. I was just watching something on the iPad app switched app to check my mail and now app says "No connected receivers found". iPad has Internet. Receivers have Internet. Yet they can't find find each other. Both receivers see each other with unified playlist.

I've had this problem before, but it was because of the WiFi and it has impacted both this app and my nomad app. The iPad will sometimes switch to our neighbors WiFi. I've told the iPad on multiple occasions to "forget" their WiFi, but it seems whenever I get an iOS update, I have to "forget" the neighbors WiFi again. Something to check if there are other WiFi networks in your area.

#112 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,104 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 17 November 2011 - 12:39 AM

I noticed something last night that would be nice to get changed on the iPad app. When I went to set up a recording of a hockey game, the iPad app didn't ask me if I wanted to add 30 minutes to the recording because it was a live game (like the DVR does).

#113 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 17 November 2011 - 12:44 AM

App rarely finds receivers. Pretty maddening. I was just watching something on the iPad app switched app to check my mail and now app says "No connected receivers found". iPad has Internet. Receivers have Internet. Yet they can't find find each other. Both receivers see each other with unified playlist.


Mine does this all the time I just click back to the home and then open the app again and it finds them but it's super annoying.

#114 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,766 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 17 November 2011 - 01:27 AM

App rarely finds receivers. Pretty maddening. I was just watching something on the iPad app switched app to check my mail and now app says "No connected receivers found". iPad has Internet. Receivers have Internet. Yet they can't find find each other. Both receivers see each other with unified playlist.


DECA or ethernet? Are the receivers set to a static IP?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#115 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,935 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 17 November 2011 - 06:16 AM

That's not the mute switch. It darkens the screen. There are three ways to mute the box: One is the switch next to the volume control, but it has to be set in Settings to Mute. An other is the volume control itself. Gets to 0 real fast. A third way is the ear buds, the switch on the right phone wire.


I shouldn't be posting at 1 in the morning.
Yes, the mute switch is where you described.
Nevertheless, I don't think the apps should override the mute.

#116 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 17 November 2011 - 08:11 AM

I noticed something last night that would be nice to get changed on the iPad app. When I went to set up a recording of a hockey game, the iPad app didn't ask me if I wanted to add 30 minutes to the recording because it was a live game (like the DVR does).


It should be...

Try setting a recording for tonight's NFL game on NFL Network... it should prompt you to extend the recording.

This prompt is driven by a data flag provided by the content provider, so it is possible that for the recording you were trying... wasn't set correctly.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#117 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,766 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 17 November 2011 - 10:00 AM

It should be...

Try setting a recording for tonight's NFL game on NFL Network... it should prompt you to extend the recording.

This prompt is driven by a data flag provided by the content provider, so it is possible that for the recording you were trying... wasn't set correctly.


Heh. I'd give it a 99.57% probability.....:hurah:

But my iPad asks for all shows- it brings up a dialog that allows for setting Start and End times, whether it's FB, hockey or news, etc.

Edited by Laxguy, 17 November 2011 - 10:05 AM.

"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#118 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 17 November 2011 - 10:10 AM

Heh. I'd give it a 99.57% probability.....:hurah:

But my iPad asks for all shows- it brings up a dialog that allows for setting Start and End times, whether it's FB, hockey or news, etc.


It shouldn't be.

The flag being checked is one denoting that the program is Live...
So for a primetime scripted show, it shouldn't be showing the alert dialog.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#119 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,766 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 17 November 2011 - 10:20 AM

It shouldn't be.

The flag being checked is one denoting that the program is Live...
So for a primetime scripted show, it shouldn't be showing the alert dialog.


AHA! Just checked again, and if I choose tonight's NFL game from the Guide, I get the additional dialog. If I choose it from the Sports listing page, I do not.

[Previously, I was referring to the dialog, not the additional alert for live broadcasts.]
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#120 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,766 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 17 November 2011 - 10:30 AM

I shouldn't be posting at 1 in the morning.
Yes, the mute switch is where you described.
Nevertheless, I don't think the apps should override the mute.


Wouldn't disagree, yet I am not sure how that's supposed to work- I have that button set to not rotate, but just tried it for mute. It brings up the crossed out bell, so maybe it stops phone calls on the iPad. :D, or mutes alerts.... IAE, there are a number of other ways to mute. I generally just pause....
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




spam firewall