Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Computer/Dish remote weirdness


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lucasdj

lucasdj

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2011

Posted 12 November 2011 - 01:18 PM

We recently hooked our computer to our Sony Bravia 40EX500 HD tv.
We have the 722k Dish PVR reciever.
The issue is when I change the TV from HDML to PC and back the dish remote won't work the dish reciever for a few minutes.
Wait a little while and it works fine. Not a huge issue but it can be annoying.
And I haven't the slightest idea why it would affect the dish remote when I'm using only the TV remote to change the tv from HDML4 (sat) to PC and back.
And it doesn't matter if the dish is on or off.
I suspect the IR is getting interfered with somehow.
I haven't tried changing either remote to a different frequency. Maybe that would do it.
Another issue with the computer is the screen res will change by itself.
It didn't do that before we hooked it up to the TV.

Thoughts?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,251 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 12 November 2011 - 01:38 PM

All IR codes are the same frequency (38kHz), so just switching codes won't do any good. Switching to RF would do the trick. Also a piece of masking tape on the IR eye of your 722k might filter out enough IR noise from your TV screen. Turning off/down any backlight/auto-backlight effects can help as well. I have a 722k and a 55EX500 and have no problems. But my PVR is below and slightly behind my TV, so there is less possibility of IR from the TV reaching it.

#3 OFFLINE   lucasdj

lucasdj

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2011

Posted 12 November 2011 - 11:20 PM

Thanks. I'll see if I can go RF on my #1 remote.
The #2 is RF so I don't know if I can or not.
Worth a try.
I forgot to mention we're using a wireless keyboard and mouse.
My wife just thought about that. Could be an issue.

#4 OFFLINE   lucasdj

lucasdj

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2011

Posted 07 December 2011 - 03:40 PM

I did discover a "work around". When I change from PC back to HDMI I can turn the TV off and back on and the Dish remote works fine.
Still have no idea why it does it in the first place.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...